We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alila Villas Uluwatu
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The edge(Pecatu)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Karma Kandara(Ungasan)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,146)
Filter reviews
1,146 results
Traveler rating
949
132
43
17
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
949
132
43
17
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunset cabanabedroom villaprivate poolindian oceanthe cliffvilla hostcire restaurantindonesian restaurantlip balmface mistoutdoor showerbutler servicepersonal butlermain poolour honeymoonlevel of serviceinsect repellent
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
887 - 892 of 1,146 reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2010

Stayed for 5 nights as part of a group of 100 for a destination wedding at a beautiful property on a cliff overlooking the ocean with modern 5 star lux accommodation. Unfortunatley, management is terriablle, thus while there is plenty of staff, the service is at a 3 star level. What a SHAME! Our group experienced an absurb amount of over-charged taps for food and drinks. Clearly, the GM's aim is to push revenues, and when challenged, his uncivilized face is revealed. I conclude that T&L rated in facilitty highly based upon the abundance of promo infor relating to its eco-freindly and sustainable attributes, rather than on merits for a visitor PAYING a high price. There are several other resorts at this price level that are excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vancouverchu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2010

This was one of the most stunning hotels I have ever stayed in.. like with the other Alila properties the staff was amazing... they treat you like family. I actually got sick while I was visiting and the sincere and concerned help that I received here almost did not make it bad being sick :). The rooms are stunning and the private pools divine.. the design of the whole venue was breathtaking... I hope that we will be able to return one day... (make sure to visit the spa as well!!!

GREAT MEMORIES!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JacoG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2010

From the time we were picked up by the alila villas car in seminyak (more on seminyak later) our expectations were exceeded in every way, like a lot of people using trip adv. we have stayed in some incredible hotels over the years, so far this is the best .
On arrival ( took about 35 min from seminyak) we were gob smacked , the pics on the web dont do justice to alila in the flesh, i think this is becuase of the great design in part. We almost felt like we have landed in a scene from 2001 space odessy , a team of handsome young men and women greet you , all decked out in casual yet stylish white uniforms.
Check in is in your villa which is always better than waiting around a lobby. After looking through previous reviews we asked for one in row 3 , 314 and had booked for 9 nights because we really wanted just to chill out .
After being here i really dont think it matters too much which row you are in , all have an ocean view. Dont worry about walking to your villa if you dont feel like it , a boy in one of the silent electric buggies will take you anytime of the day or night.

If you ever thought of opening a hotel or villas development you should stay here first to see how it should be done. The owners of this resort had better look after sean the manager, he is so good at his job , he must get offers left right and center !
He makes a point of greeting all the guests every day , not in a forced way like some resorts just a friendly hello and brief chat to make sure you are happy. This flows through to all the staff who obviously love the place and their work, they are friendly and helpfull without being false or over the top.
We elected for the private butler service and had choosen ( by email after booking) what type of pillows and music we liked for the villa ipod, refreshing change from bringing your own music.
The villa itself is a fantastic design , indoor , and out door showers , bath , dual basins mirrors etc. the shower has wall and ceiling sprays which are fantastic.The pool was great and not too warm which can be an issue here : ie you feel like your swiming in a hot bath.
Theres lots of places to chill out, great lighting and a really good ac system , one that we couldnt actually tell where it was coming from , quiet and efficient , not some old split system blasting you with freezing air.
The whole villa opens up and you get a nice sea breeze , so u may not want the ac on at all except for the hotter parts of the day.
These no waiting hours to get the vila cleaned etc , just pick up te phone and they are there in minutes, great while we did laps in the 50m pool on the cliff.

Some of the other five star places in bali make you feel that you have to dress up to do anything in the resort, on day one we asked sean if there were any dress code , he said absolutly not , and treat the place like you are at home, and so we did which added to the relaxed feel , boardshorts and thongs for wandering around etc etc. I cant believe that some other places in uluwatu make you wear long pants for dinner...what a wank, especially when your paying top dollar ( and some more exp than alila but not as good).

Food , can be an issue in some of these places , where they shake you for all your worth charging crazy prices , virtually forcing you to eat some where else. Obviously if you book here you can afford it but we all hate feeling ripped off. Not the case with alila , we had a booking through design hotels which was pay for 4 nights get one free and breakfast included. Breakfast here is probably one of the dearer items on the menu. If we wernt too hungry we often just shared a main for lunch or dinner , in the villa or at the warung , some mains are about $15 aus. We met the head chef , stefan, who took us to the jimbaren bay markets and then we helped him ( well sort of , as im not the best chef :) cook our own lunch which was fun, he is a really nice guy and avery capable chef.

oh , one more thing , my partner reminded me that we didnt feel like we were staying in a retirement village here as well the crowd was from 20's to 50's, if your arnt glamourous when you arrived you will be by the time you leave.

Just a note on the jimbaren bay beach resturants, i dont know why you would bother, basically a tourst trap with suspect cleaniness, better off to ask stefan to get you a fresh fish and cook it , at least you know what you will be getting. The menus are not huge which i think is agood sign and you can basically call up and get them to make what ever you feel like , which is what we did a couple of times.

When we booked we were a bit concerned that we mighrt feel trapped here a long way from the action at seminyak, we are a gay couple and dont mind a night out occasionally , the gay bars and drag shows at seminyak are hilarious , quite a mixed crowd too , which is better , ie guys and their girl friends on surf holidays dancing with drag queens !.

Over the week or so we stayed we went into seminyak for shopping , dinner etc . Galleria is great for clothes , homewers , and has not bad restarants ( we ate at XO a couple of times which was fine) prices here are about 25% of aus prices.
depending on the time of day it took us between 35 min and 50 min to get there, which may seem a lot but your not driving and the cost is only about $10 or $12 each way. And we have been in cabs that have taken 1 hour 15 to get from seminyak to kuta !!!. Cabs ordred from the hotel always arrived in 1o mins or less.

Beaches , forget kuta semiyak, dirty hot , dangerous ! i guess nothing comes close to our home beaches of byron but for about $6 you can go from alila by cab to Balangan beach , white sand not crowded good swiming one end and point break at the other , and a beach /reef break in the middle. We are keen surfers , didnt bother to surf here as we are in the water so much at home, but next trip we will probably hire a couple of boards. best time is early or late as it gets pretty hot .
We usually got the cab to wait for the hour or so we were there cast about$ 6 per hour for him to wait (sleeping ,parked under a tree ;) which worked out fine.
When we come back again we would prob hire a car as driving around this part of the island is fine, still would get a cab into seminyak etc as parking s non existant there.

Anyway Ive been rattling on ( waiting for flight home so have some time :) message me if you have anything else you would like to know about alila.its great.

I thought id write just a few notes on seminyak as friends have been asking me:
We have stayed there a couple of times , this trip we stayed for 3 nights prior to going to alila , at the dyana villas , which are in the heart of gayland. Good value etc but after a few days there we were getting over tripping over things , avoiding holes in the footpaths and getting splattered with mud either from your own thongs or by passing traffic.
We arnt prizzy queens ( we are farmers , unfort not like heath and jake in brok back mountain) :) but we cant see the attraction down here , well at least staying there for anylength of time. The ganesha gay beach bar is disgusting , who ever owns it needs a good kick up the a**e, if sitting at a table with your feet in mud under a mouldy umbrella is your thing , this is the place.
Cant understand why they dont CLEAN UP. We went walking on the beach there , each new wave bought another load of god knows what up to cling to your legs.
My italian partner was nearly forcing me straight back to the airport :) Its always good to get the holiday blue over and done early on the holiday :)
We decided that seminyak is only for nighttime when everything looks better.
So our advice is stay somewhere like alila even if only for 3 or 4 nights , treat your self there and use cabs if you want to get out for some fun.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Byronfarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2010

We spent a week in Bali in the saminyak area in a magnificient villa called
Villa Samuan - The villa was perfect in every way and the saminyak area has a lot of buzz , great shopping and of course the famous ku de ta club restauraunt

we went to the Alila hotel yesterday for lunch.
The hotel was simply magnificient from an architectural perspective ! we asked to see one of their suites - it was fully booked but the friendly staff did make arrangements for a visit - really beautiful 275 sq meter one bedroom suite with own private pool , louging areas etc.... perfect for those needing peace and tranquility - a place to relax and unwind I guess also suitable for honeymooners.

The lunch at the Balinese restauraunt was superbe - the drink list had some fancy cocktails from the spa menu ( holistic energising drink with herbes and spices etc..)
I would recommend the duck sateh as well as the fish sateh.

All in all a definite not to miss hotel in Bali.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Telka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2010

just spent 5 nights at Alila Uluwatu. Outstanding in every way. Gorgeous and very private villas - the pool and day beds a highlight. better though were the staff - brilliantly trained to provide a level of service that matches the amazing surroundings, yet it all comes so easily and naturally. Other hotels could learn about customer service from this one. The food is to die for - we loved it - some of the best food we've eaten at a very fair price. The Spa's outstanding and make sure you go take a hotel car to the Uluwatu temple for the evening performance. The walk to the beach is not too challenging, but is hot!
There is nothing in the Australian luxury market that comes close to this (including Bedarra which was until now our all time favourite). We would highly recommend it for a couples holiday - it's not for kids or teenagers. The only downside was that the main pool is pretty warm by the end of the day - do your lap swimming in the morning. The only other downside was leaving!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank grantandlisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews