We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Amazonia Expeditions' Tahuayo Lodge
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Paraiso
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Epoca(Iquitos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,187)
Filter reviews
1,187 results
Traveler rating
1,132
43
7
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,132
43
7
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsresearch centerzip liningpaul beaverpoison dart frogspink dolphinsthe riverchino villagehammock roomfishpersonal guideamazon junglemachu picchuterra firmaprivate guidethe entire staffthe kitchen staffalfredo
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,022 - 1,027 of 1,187 reviews
Reviewed February 26, 2011

A month in Peru was our honeymoon and we spent a week at this lodge, including time spent camping and at the research center. We had a fantastic time!

The guides were amazing. They spotted wildlife we would never have seen. In fact, there is a bird that lays its nest on the ground that is so well camouflaged that it is hard to spot in a photo when you know it is there. We went camping in tents and the guides served piranha they caught in the river. We wanted a native shaman to bless our union. When the herbalist/shaman from the neighboring village fell ill, they found another one to do it later in the week and even baked us a wedding cake! The water level was low when we were there and sometimes branches across the river had to be chopped with a machete before we could pass, but they cheerfully chopped them so we could camp in the jungle.

Make sure you do at least one night canoe ride and night walk.

The packing list on the website was pretty complete, but I would add insoles for your jungle boots. They issue boots to everyone to prevent contamination from wherever your boots have been. The boots they issue will be much more comfortable with insoles. We did a lot of walking, but you may do less if you go when the river is higher. Treating everything with permethrin is a great idea. We only treated some things with permethrin and would do everything next time. I didn't find the binoculars to be useful, but others did and a zoom lens is a must.

Many of the issues people had were simply part of being in Peru or being in the jungle. These include bad water, bad coffee, no cream for coffee (and canned milk if you ask for it), cold showers, noise from local wildlife when you are trying to sleep, strange fruits and vegetables, weather, etc. If you want to stay at a luxury hotel the Amazon is not the place for you. Hot water is a luxury in the cities in Peru.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spindel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2011

From the moment we arrived at the lodge, the staff worked diligently to assure we had a wonderful experience. Each day, in easily understood English, they gave us activity options. On every outing I was impressed with how knowlegeable and patient the guides were whether we were trekking in the jungle or riding on the water. My favorite outing was one night having a guide take two of us canoeing. Of course, we looked at nocturnal animals, but the chance to admire the brilliant southern constellations in an area without city lights and only the sounds of the jungle was amazing.
The food was delicious. The cook even served the fish we caught one morning within the hour of our having slung them into the boat. This is a place of endless variety!

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barb69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2011

Amazonia Expeditions (owner of this lodge and its sister Amazonia Research Center) is a top notch company who gave our group of 26 an amazing vacation. Nestled in the Amazon rain forest, the lodge has comfortable rooms and the entire facility is kept very clean and neat - not so easy to do considering where it is located. The meals were amazing and nutritious - buffets that had something for everyone. The guides were wonderful - very patient, flexible, and extremely knowledgable - always willing to do whatever an individual or group wanted to do. There are a host of activities offered and they were anxious to adjust to any request. We stayed 4 nights at Tahuayo and 2 nights at the Research Center for a trip of a life time.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gg17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2011

Our room. the lodge, dining area were all very clean, a pleasant surprise on a somewhat rustic trip. The staff was also very accomodating & went out of their way to assist us. The hammock room had great atmosphere as did the reading room so plenty of room to move around. The nighttime "denizens" of the jungle are quite noisy, the only reason I did not sleep like a baby. I think we have to give that to them! It is their place after all!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tenderfoot402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2011

First trip to the Amazon did not disappoint. Staying at an ecolodge was a great idea. They assign a personal guide to you for the whole trip. Your experience will somewhat depend on how well you get along. I cannot say I was so fond of my guide who preferred talking about girls and bars rather than amazon and peru. Regardless, the experience was fantastic. Just being there is worth everything. I don't know if this lodge is better than others. I suspect the others will be similar. The rooms were not anything special, the food was ok but did not have much of a local flavor. The bottom line is you are there for the river and not the hotel. I must say I did not particularly like the manager of the lodge who did not speak any english which is surprising in a facility that caters entirely to foreigners.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aturkinnola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews