We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (204)
Filter reviews
204 results
Traveler rating
195
5
1
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
195
5
1
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoffee machinehot tubhaven roomwet roomlittle touchesthought of everythingbreakfast in bedtreehouse restaurantproper coffeeon arrivalperfect place to relaxshampoo and conditioneramazing nightperfect hostsclear nightcrispsicing on the cake
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 204 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2017

I cannot recommend Birdsong Cottage highly enough. We stayed in the Haven room (with hot tub) for a few days after our wedding and it was the perfect place to unwind.

Richard and Sandra were so friendly and made us feel very welcome. The hot tub was wonderful to unwind in after long days exploring the surrounding area. The bed also deserves a shout out as it was so comfortable, I've not slept that well in a long time. All the little extras in the room only added to our enjoyment, my husband particularly enjoyed the coffee machine. The breakfasts were delicious and plentiful. The B&B is also perfectly located for all the major local attractions and right off the A1 so very easy to find.

I think the fact that we were sad to leave says it all.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandraNorthumberland, Owner at Birdsong Cottage B&B, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to post such a great review, Richard and I really appreciate it. We're so glad that you were comfortable and were able to relax and enjoy your stay in the Haven. We hope you will come back to explore more of our beautiful county and look forward to seeing you both again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2017 via mobile

Thank you Richard and Sandra for making us feel so welcome into your lovely home. This was our first time at Birdsong Cottage and surprised to find it so close to A1. However you would never have known as it was total tranquility and the busy road was completely hidden from view. Our room was so well equipped, very clean and comfortable. My husband made himself at home by enjoying a cup of tea sat outside the French windows in the sunshine. Table and chairs thoughtfully provided. You could honestly have been in the middle of nowhere. A wonderful place to break a long journey either from north to south or south to north.

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Pat A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandraNorthumberland, Owner at Birdsong Cottage B&B, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to post such a great review. We are delighted that you enjoyed and had a comfortable stay with us.
Birdsong cottage is ideally situated for a stopover or break on a long journey.
Would be great to see you both again and a pleasure to have you to stay with us when you travel up to Edinburgh next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2017

We have just returned from ths beautiful b &b. From the moment we arrived we were made very welcome from Richard and Sandra. The b&b was beautiful.The haven room was equipped with everything a 5 star hotel provides and the hot tub just added the final touch.Breakfast was lovely very well presented and all local produce.We will defiantly be visiting again. Steve and Tracey Boyd

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephen_boyd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandraNorthumberland, Owner at Birdsong Cottage B&B, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to post such a great review, Richard and I really appreciate it. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, ( I'm particularly happy when our guests enjoy our breakfasts.) Richard loved the chat about beach and surf. Look forward to seeing you both again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2017 via mobile

We have just got home from an amazing night away at Birdsong for our first wedding anniversary.
We stayed in the Haven room with hottub.
Everything was immaculate cleaned!
The small touches made our stay even better, the juice and water and snacks left in the fridge, the robes, the toiletries, the breakfast was lovely too! Nothing seemed like a bother.
The balcony with the hottub was the highlight..especially in the pitch black lying looking at the stars.
Absolutely perfect for relaxing and to totally switch off from the world! Helped by the most comfortable bed we've ever stayed in!
We will be back!

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Kerrilee I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandraNorthumberland, Owner at Birdsong Cottage B&B, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2017

Thank you for choosing to celebrate your wedding anniversary at Birdsong Cottage. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and really appreciate you posting such a great review. What a fantastic night to see your first shooting star, so glad you were able to experience our dark skies. Look forward to seeing you both again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2017

Richard and Sandra welcomed us warmly to their lovely B&B. We stayed in the Swallows Rest room for two nights. The bed is very comfortable with high quality bedding, and there is a spotlessly clean ensuite shower room. We enjoyed the breakfasts, which were delivered to our room at the time of our choosing. On the second morning, we took breakfast at the table on the little patio, which has a good view up to the beautiful garden. There were many little, thoughtful touches, including sweet and savoury snacks, and bottled orange juice and water. Brownieside is a very small hamlet, handy for driving to Alnwick, Embleton, and many other beautiful parts of Northumberland. Although it is just off the A1, it is very quiet. Many thanks to Richard and Sandra for your helpful tips, which enhanced our visit to the area, and for helping to make our anniversary break so relaxing and memorable.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Momus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandraNorthumberland, Owner at Birdsong Cottage B&B, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2017

Richard and I are delighted that you enjoyed your anniversary stay with us and really appreciate you taking the time to post such a great review. We hope you come back to enjoy more of our beautiful county and look forward to seeing you both again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews