We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Birdsong Cottage B&B
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Brownieside
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Newton Hall(Newton by the Sea)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Purdy Lodge(Belford)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
St Aidan Hotel(Seahouses)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Victoria Hotel(Bamburgh)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (197)
Filter reviews
197 results
Traveler rating
188
5
1
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
188
5
1
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoffee machinehot tubhaven roomwet roomlittle touchesmini fridgebreakfast in bedthought of everythingb btreehouse restaurantperfect start to the dayon arrivalperfect place to relaxmy partners birthdayshampoo and conditionergorgeous roomamazing night
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
136 - 141 of 197 reviews
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We have just returned from a long weekend at Birdsong Cottage and it was amazing. I booked it as a surprise for my husband's birthday and staying at Birdsong made it perfect. We stayed in the Haven room and its even more beautiful than all the pictures I had seen. We arrived late afternoon on Friday and Amanda had the hot tub and our chilled champagne and chocolates ready for us. Breakfast was lovely every day and the whole experience was brilliant. We would definitely recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naoisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I stayed at the cottage on sunday 12th May in The Haven room , what a beautiful place!! Quite frankly the best place I have ever stayed, everything was perfect!! The room itself is beautiful and you wouldn't believe for a minute you were in a B&B and not a high class luxurious boutique hotel!! Amanda the owner was wonderful, very welcoming and allowed us to check in early due to our miscalculation of how long we thought it would take to get there!! The room had every added extra you could think of.. hairdryer,straighteners,shampoos and shower gels,his and hers perfume and even nurofen for the morning after headache! The mini fridge had complimentary vodka,gin and bacardi along with mixers and some little snacks for the midnight feast.. nothing was left out. The hot tub was perfect, the weather was miserable but it didnt deter us and we spent the entire evening in the hot tub with champagne. The following morning Amanda came with a lovely breakfast of bacon butties,fresh juice and yogurt, just what you need after a night of champers! The whole experience was really lovely and I will definitly be returning, I would reccomend anyone to try this place, you will not be disappointed !!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toni m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Stayed here on sat 11th may 2013 for a night away from normality, amanda really has thought of everything, we didnt need to take any toiletries as all suplied, as are electricals, the hot tub was amazing, especially at night with all of the floor lighting on the balcony. It was raining whilst we were there but the hot tub was that warm we didn't even feel it. Would definatley recommend this for special occasions or even just a night away, will return as we couldn't have asked for anything more.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebbieLuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

My boyfriend booked this b&b as a suprise for my birthday last week and it was fabulous. We stayed in the Haven room and sadly the hot tub was broken but we were alerted to this before we arrived and decided to go ahead with our stay for a discounted rate.

The room was gorgeous, and Amanda could not have been more helpful all through our stay. There was lots of lovely, thoughtful little extras in the room such as ghd's, coffee machine, spirits & mixers, perfume, sweets etc and the little touches like that make it really stand out from competitors. Gary offered us a lift into Alnwick on the night and even came to pick us up which was such a kind gesture. He and Amanda are lovely people and we cant wait to go back when the hot tub is working again!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank siobhanxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

The best b&b I've ever stayed in - Amanda really has thought of everything, it will make other b&bs and much more expensive hotels seem characterless and flat after you've stayed here! We stayed in the Swallows Nest, with a private bathroom just down the corridor - more of a private spa than bathroom though. A huge array of lovely complementary (there's so much complementary stuff here, I don't know how she does it) shower gels and moisturising creams, candles everywhere, a deep jacuzzi bath, soft towelling robes to wrap up in.

Then there's the free (yes, free) minibar with gin, vodka and mixers; the free chocolates; the coffee machine with good quality coffee; the box of different teas with fresh milk; the single electric blankets (!) on the bed so if one of you doesn't want to use it the other still can - it's possibly the most relaxing place in the world. You could live here for a month.

Oh, and the breakfast (which you have in room) is enormous and wonderful. Can't recommend Birdsong Cottage highly enough.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HannahEK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews