We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (206)
Filter reviews
206 results
Traveler rating
197
5
1
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
197
5
1
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoffee machinehot tubhaven roomwet roomlittle touchesbreakfast in bedthought of everythingtreehouse restauranthighly recommend it to everyoneproper coffeeperfect place to relaxon arrivalshampoo and conditioneramazing nightperfect hostsbe visiting againclear night
Filter
Updating list...
176 - 181 of 206 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2012

The room is gorgeous, the bathroom is divine and the breakfast is a little bit of heaven! The whole place gives off a romantic and relaxing vibe and the owner is fantastic. There is a complimentary mini bar which is filled with goodies including wine and gin and tonics! There is also a box of essentials like face wipes incase you forgot yours which Is a brilliant touch. We will defiantly be back. Amazing bb!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebeccacharnley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We have just returned yesterday from our one nights stay at The Haven, Birdsong Cottage. It was a suprise for my Hubby for our first wedding anniversary. We have stayed at many four/five star hotels and this room by far out shines most of them. It is beautifully decorated, and the hot tub on the balcony is just lovely (it was raining but didnt spoil it!!!) The hosts have thought of everything, and the little touches are what make it so special, we had a bottle of cava on ice, some little heart chocs and a tub of love hearts sweets which was just lovely for our special night. Thats as well, some delicious coffee, basket of biscuits, crisps, sweets and mini bar. We were well and truly spoilt, and Amanda and her family were just lovely, couldnt do enough for us. It was like the luxury of a hotel/spa but totally private and come and go as you like, getting worried about finances though as I think we maybe doing some re-decorating and Hubby talking about loft conversions for wet rooms!!!!!!We had a delicious breakfast in bed in the morning, and found it lovely to watch three little fluffy baby birds sat on the decking been fed by mum!
Great location, we spent the day in Alnwick castle and gardens and treated ourselves to a delicious fairy lit evening meal in the Treehouse Restaurant.
We will definately be booking again and cannot rate it highly enough, the owners should be very proud!

Room Tip: Only stayed at the Haven cannot fault in anyway
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharon b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed at Birdsong Cottage for a two night break 1st-3rd July and didn't want to leave. We booked the room with separate bathroom and it was wonderful - really comfortable and clean with so many little extras. Amanda has thought of everything and is a wonderful host - fantastic coffee maker, complimentary mini bar, chocolates, biscuits, bathrobes and slippers and so many wonderful smelling toiletries and lots lots more. We settled with the continental breakfast which was wonderful - the pastries and croissants were delicious and a real treat to have breakfast in bed. It was so peaceful and yet conveniently just off the A1 so great for using as a base. Amanda also recommended the Tree House at Alnwick Gardens for our anniversary celebration which was amazing, wonderful food and live jazz. All in all a wonderful few days away and a place that we will return again and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thamesview29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We stopped 1 night on the way back from Scotland, I really didn't know what to expect. I believe there only 2 rooms. The room we had, was equipped with an outside hot tub on the balcony, a state of the art bathroom and internet TV. The room is decorated to the highest standard and is beautifully appointed and spotlessly clean.
The room has one of the most comfortable beds I have slept in. I have to admit I didn't make friends with the coffee machine, i found it a little confusing to use!
There was a free minibar with some wines, spirits and treats, also in the room were spare toiletries, robes and hairdryer.
The lady who owns the "Birdsong" had thought of everything. You are served with a continental breakfast, and checkout is 10:30am.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigTEastYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

Once again we had an absolutely fantastic stay at Birdsong Cottage. We have stayed here a few times now & each time has been beyond perfect! We are always telling people about Birdsong Cottage & would highly recommend it to everyone. Once you have been, like us, you will want to keep returning as often as you can :)
Amanda is a star! She is so lovely, friendly & welcoming & makes our stay perfect. All of the extra touches which she adds make our stay more personal and special.
We returned in June for my 24th birthday & stayed in 'The Haven'. On arrival there was a bottle of bubbly on ice & chocolates in the room, which was a very lovely, thoughtful surprise. The room is immaculate & modern & we LOVE the Hot Tub!! The continental breakfast was gorgeous too & I had a birthday muffin with a candle on top :) Also everyone must get some Birdsong bath salts when leaving - my partner loves them. We also love Sid the pug :).
We are very much looking forward to returning here when we can.
Thank you Amanda!!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim_Danielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews