We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Occidental Tamarindo
Nearby Hotels
$296
$190
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$228
$221
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $247/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

El Mono Loco Hotel(Tamarindo)(Great Value!)
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tamarindo Village Hotel(Tamarindo)(Great Value!)
$85
$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Nahua(Tamarindo)(Great Value!)
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tamarindo Bay Boutique Hotel(Tamarindo)(Great Value!)
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Arco Iris(Tamarindo)(Great Value!)
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Ramona Charming Hotel(Tamarindo)(Great Value!)
$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Tamarindo Diria(Tamarindo)(Great Value!)
$202
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$36
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,837)
Filter reviews
2,837 results
Traveler rating
1,274
859
422
147
135
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,274
859
422
147
135
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsa la carte restaurantsmaller resortcosta ricanightly showsbeach volleyballonion ringsall inclusive resortchicken wingscab ridehowler monkeyspool barlangosta beachmixed drinksin townarenal volcanorecommend this resortlow tide
Filter
Updating list...
661 - 666 of 2,837 reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2013

just returned from Barceló Langosta, Costa Rica and had a very good experience overall. Food is good, hotel rooms very clean ocean beach has a few rocks but nice for surfing.
Tamarindo beach is about 20 min walk on the ocean side recommend to walk at least one way.
The only bad experience was when trying to buy stuff, especially in Tamarindo village. Looks like the US$ completely lost its buying power, everything is prohibitively expensive. The activities offered there are nice but price is high as well. The silver jewelry seemed to be somewhat cheaper than in Canada.
Very nice weather thus they say this is the rainy season.
They do not speak a lot of English, but this wasn't a problem.

From my experience, try to avoid the Auto Mercado, biiig disappointment !

I'll probably go back there in a few years, very nice place !!!

Room Tip: the rooms far from the pool seemed a little bit more peaceful.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Felix T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

This beach resort was just wonderful! I went at a time when it was really quiet (which I appreciated, having had many rowdy/crowded vacations). The staff were super friendly, the weather was wonderful and they always had a really good selection of food at the buffets. It is a short distance to the town where you can buy souvenirs and local food. In my opinion, this property is underrated and should not be overlooked when planning a trip to this side of CR.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank MsGlobeTrotter2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

This Beach Resort was a wonderful experience, great service, great food, great beach.
I went with my family of 24 and we all had a great time, the beach was wonderful very relaxing place some of us had massages done and they were wonderful.
THANK YOU BARCELO LANGOSTA FOR A GREAT SERVICE. :)
!!!!!PURA VIDA!!!!! :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lnajarro45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Langosta is a hidden jewel out side of the hustle and bustle of Tamarindo. Relaxing by the pool with bar and snacks close by at all times (great pool). Meals are incredible and are buffet style. We bought day passes every other day as we were staying in a condo nearby. The staff was friendly and efficient. The spa was a little disappointing, but overall the experience was great. The surf break out back is great at the right size and tide. Very secure and comfortable. We will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Douglas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stayed there for 2 weeks for our honeymoon. Location couldn't be prettier. The Pacific ocean is literally right behind the resort. Food was buffet-style. The breakfast and lunch were pretty much the same with small changes though you could always count on something delicious. Dinner rotated and changed every evening with wonderful selections of fish, meat and chorizo. The coffee was amazing as well!! The staff bends over backwards to make you feel welcome and happy. You are always offered another drink! The snack bar near the ocean was our favorite spot. Nice ocean breeze with pool, fusbol and entertainment daily (including dance lessons, darts & archery). They offered free yoga lessons on Saturdays. Saw howler monkeys in the tree next to the pool 3 separate times! Tons of flora and fauna around the resort as well including iguanas, geckos, porcupines and racoons. The nightly shows were amazingly well performed! The entertainment staff that keeps you occupied during the day performs at night after a very long day. Simply amazing!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Jen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews