We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing hidden gem with great surroundings”
other travelers have booked this property
Kitchen / Dining Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kitchen / Dining Room
White Horse Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
Kitchen / Dining Room
White Horse Cottage
Lounge
Roll Top Bath in the Main Bathroom
May Day Celebrations
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Wellow, Nottinghamshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sofawat
Epsom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing hidden gem with great surroundings”
Reviewed June 1, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed here this weekend with 5 other girls as a surprise getaway for my best friends hen party. I could not have found a better place, was so beautiful!
We blind folded my friend as she got out the car and was greeted by a neighbour walking her dog, she heard my friends worry in her voice as she said where are we? (Still with her blind fold on) The lady answered and said don't worry your in a beautiful place, and she was right!
The cottage itself is gorgeous, very spacious as cottages go. We had perfect weather and enjoyed sitting in the beautiful sun in the garden.
The owners had thought of everything we had wanted in a girly weekend stay, there was DVDs, games, sauna! The Kitchen had everything we needed! Coffee/tea and dishwasher so I didn't have to do my usual chores!
We had a great day out at Sherwood Forest on an adrenaline activity day with was 10 mins down the road! And had the best meal of the year at the pub opposite called "olde red lion". The staff were extremely friendly unlike the other pub on the green.
Overall this was the perfect place and I cannot wait to return when I'm that way again!!

Date of stay: May 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkNicol...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Homely, warm and comfortable”
Reviewed April 10, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed at this cottage over the easter weekend with our friends. Felt happy the moment we first walked in. The only niggles was the tight stairs, had to keep eye on my little 4 yr old girl whilst coming up and down. Could do with a TV in the second lounge which we felt more comfortable in the evenings. But overall the cottage was very homely. Wellow was a lovely pretty village, with a maypole on the green and had two excellent pubs which where nearby. We visited white post farm and Rufford country park which where great days out for the grown ups and kids. Many thanks for a lovely stay.

Date of stay: April 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleY...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay at Wellow”
Reviewed March 11, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The cottage was an absolute delight. Spacious and clean, most comfortable and feels luxurious to have a sauna - even though we didn't have time to try it (next time definitely!!). Good facilities and warm in the winter. The five of us were very happy to have stayed at a magical place with a Maypole outside - it's a shame we only stayed over for one short weekend, but we would definitely try to come back for a whole week next time! Thank you for a great time :)

Date of stay: March 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 12, 2015
Many thanks for the comments and we hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beverleyo...
Cheshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely comfortable warm cottage”
Reviewed January 6, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

What a little gem, we had had wonderful time, the cottage was well equipped, spacious and warm. The location was fantastic with two lovely pubs in walking distance, the food at the maypole was delicious, it is in a good area for walking the dog, with asda and tesco around the corner. The stairs are a little steep but not enough to put me off this cottage and maybe a second tv in the other sitting room would be nice.

Date of stay: December 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: No to in second sitting room
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dinahproc...
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing find”
Reviewed December 19, 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Great property in a lovely village. The property has been beautifully modernised and clean with all you could neneed for a comfortable stay.

Date of stay: December 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quaintness of the property and the village
Liked least: difficulty seeing the safe key in the dark......take a torch
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland2...
Hampshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Location Fabulous Cottage”
Reviewed November 30, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Another stay at this cottage. Very clean and comfortable. Great location fab pub food at the Olde Red Lion. Beds comfortable plenty of space. Thank you we really enjoyed our stay.
We will come again.

Date of stay: November 2014
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLQB
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Spacious & Spotless”
Reviewed September 14, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The cottage is very spacious, and with two bathrooms is ideal for an extended family! We stayed here with our son, daughter in law and 2 grandsons. It has all the amenities you require. The only niggles were,the very narrow stairs, which we had to watch our 3 yr old Grandson with and the fact that getting two cars parked on the road outside is a very tight squeeze. Apart from that everything else was perfect!

Date of stay: September 2014
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing