We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Evening” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Vineyard Restaurant

The Vineyard Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
The Vineyard Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $31 - $44
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: In the genteel and attractive village of Wrotham Heath, Kent, with its golf clubs, guest houses and greenery one restaurant stands out above the rest. The Vineyard was recently voted Best Restaurant in Kent, and it isn’t difficult to see why. Situated on Wrotham Heath’s main drag, the exterior is pure English countryside with white washed walls and leaded windows, the interior well appointed and the atmosphere relaxed and inviting. With a European menu which concentrates on French and Italian classics and, of course, an excellent wine list, The Vineyard is the perfect place to enjoy a romantic dinner or lunch with the family.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Very polite and friendly from the minute we got there. We had already looked at the menu online but didnt want to appear too keen so scanned the menu when they handed it to us. The food was delicious and already plan to go back as there are many dishes that read so well and sounded delicious that we did have a hard time choosing. I had emailed to book as the website online booking was not working and mentioned that it was my husbands birthday. Although we were too full for dessert, the next thing we knew, a large slice of cake appeared with a candle and a singing trio wishing happy birthday. We ate in a room which felt like a large country cottage which gave a relaxed yet special occasion feel. A lovely evening and I highly recommend.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bronja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    61
    33
    44
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

We recently returned to Vineyard and it was oh so disappointing. I ordered Henry VIII steak. I have to admit the steak was cooked perfectly, however the stilton cheese wasnt there. There was a 'lump' of what appeared to be cheddar cheese (not even a tasty cheddar). The vegetables were sparse to say the least, not enough for four and not at all inspiring. It is also a very expensive place for the quality I received on this ocassion..... steak and a teaspoon of potatoes!!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kell2203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“warm welcome but once seated mainly ignored. Food expensive for what it is.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

I took my hubby out for a birthday meal. Just the two of us. We were welcomed warmly. We ordered our food I had crab salad and hubby had melon both nice. Then the bread rolls arrived! which was a shame as they would have been nice with the started. Then we had our mains of scampi with an overpowering tomato sauce which was a shame as the scampi was very tender. Hubby had baked avocado which was ok. I would like to say we had wonderful desserts but unfortunately we were ignored for forty five minutes whilst they served everyone else around us! Not even an enquiry as to whether we wanted a dessert or a break between dishes. The bill was seventy three pounds .. we had no wine. So rather expensive for 2 starters, 2 main course and 1 jack Daniels and coke. 1 lime cordial and soda water and 2 bottles of water.
Even when we asked for the bill They did not enquire as to whether the meal had been ok or ask if we wanted coffee! So all I can say is what we had was ok but overpriced and sadly not enough to bring me back.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BookerK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Excellent, but way way way too over-priced!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

This is a really good restaurant, the food is absolutely delicious, the staff are extremely friendly and helpful, but the prices are unbelieveable. It says that it's 25-35 pounds, it really isn't. For a family of 5, it cost about £400 last time we went? That's about 75 pounds each, it's a really good restaurant, but quite expensive for what you are getting. And we were only allowed 2 hours at the table. It is a really cosy place, it gives you the feel of a cottage which is lovely.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Poppy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone Kent
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Full marks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

We have visited this restaurant for a good number of years and not once have we had a meal we have been disappointed with. The staff are very friendly and there is always a warm welcome for everyone. I notice from other reviews people say it is expensive but you get what you pay for.
It is nice to go to a restaurant these days with nice table linen and cutlery

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Audrey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Vineyard Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Vineyard Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing