We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional quality and comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Gallipoli Houses
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Eceabat
Sydney
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Exceptional quality and comfort”
Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for just one night but wished for more. After touring the Anzac sites this is the place to stay. Very knowledgeable host with a good sense of humour. Rooms are spacious and very comfortable. Great breakfast too! Delightful place!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sydney_traveller50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    21
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
36
96
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Gallipoli Houses
Gracious hosts, very comfortable, spacious accommodation. Meals were great, particularly the ‘informal’ group dinner when everyone staying there joined in on one big table. We loved the knapsack lunch option – perfect for exploring the Gallipoli Peninsula. Really enjoyed staying in a small village in the heart of the peninsula. For anyone interested in the history of this corner of Turkey, Eric brings that history to life. You could not find better a better base from which to explore the Gallipoli Peninsula.
GJK Melbourne, Australia

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OnTheMoveAgain2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Before we even arrived at Gallipoli Houses we knew we were coming to a great place. Eric's emails were helpful and friendly, including sending us detailed instructions on how to find the place from Istanbul. On arriving, the staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome and to ensure that we had everything we needed. Eric loaned us a map and guidebook, with suggestions on how to get the most out of our visit to the battlefield. He and Ozlem were the perfect hosts. Their attention to detail results in accommodation that is comfortable, inviting and beautifully decorated. The breakfasts and dinners included in the tariff were of the highest quality and showcased the local cuisine. We only had two nights at Gallipoli Houses; I wish it could have been longer. The bar has been set high and we will be comparing the rest of our accommodation jn Turkey with Gallipoli Houses. Thank you, Eric, Ozlem and your team for making us feel so welcome and comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brentley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ealing
Level Contributor
63 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed four nights during the week end April/beginning May to visit all the battlefields. We had booked the very comfortable Kocadere room - airy, bright and spacious with a covered terrace with beautiful views overlooking the village.

The morning buffet breakfast (fruit, cheese, meat, breads, jams, eggs+turkish sausages) was delicious - with fresh local produce. My husband, a fussy eater at the best of times, polished off the evening meals with relish. The cold turkish beer and hot shower when we returned in the evening from the dusty and hot battlefields were most welcome as was the rather tasty turkish wine with the evening meal.

Eric and his wife Ozlem were extremely helpful and welcoming to us as to all their guests - from the map e-mailed to us on how to find the Gallipoli Houses, hints and tips on visiting the battlefields to printing our boarding passes on departure. Staff service was impeccable.

If you are looking for somewhere to stay to visit the Gallipoli battlefields, then this is the place!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WPKATZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We loved our stay here, perfect location for walks and visiting the battle fields. Room was huge, clean and tastefully decorated, with a lovely view over the village and National Park. The owner, Eric, was extremely chatty and hospitable and helped us organise tours and transport. The evening dinner was exceptional on both nights, with delicious local Turkish wine and breakfast was also fantastic.

It was a great place to stay and in far more beautiful surroundings than staying in Eceabat, I really would recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlotteD408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

A second visit to this gem of a hotel - this time bringing friends.
Everything you could need - beautiful scenery & stunning walks. Lots of history & things to see & learn about.
At the end of the day a delicious meal & a beer watching the sun set. What more could you ask for !!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneDorothy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltash, Cornwall
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 4 nights B&B + evening meal in early April. We travelled up from Fethiye by car and arrived at this tranquil hotel nestling above the local village. Eric his wife and staff made us most welcome. Our accommodation was in a row of cottage style lodges within the grounds of the main house. Breakfast and evening meals were provided inside the main building where the main lounge and dining area is situated. A computer is available for use by residents in the lounge area.
Eric is a mastermind not just about the Gallipoli campaign but his knowledge of the area. He was always available at breakfast or evening dinner time to offer his advice on whatever the guest residents required eg. walking or car routes within the national park area, museums etc, etc. He was always interested to know about his guests and there main purpose of the visit, so that he could offer his extensive knowledge to them.
His wife Ozlem and staff provided quality food and service at meal times and kept the rooms clean and tidy.
All in all, a great place to stay in an area that hosted one of mankinds great tragedies.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TonySaltash_Cornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eceabat
6.6 mi away
Hotel Kum
Hotel Kum
#3 of 4 in Eceabat
63 reviews
9.2 mi away
Kolin Hotel
Kolin Hotel
#1 of 28 in Canakkale
802 reviews
6.9 mi away
Grand Anzac Hotel
Grand Anzac Hotel
#5 of 28 in Canakkale
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Buyuk Truva Oteli
Buyuk Truva Oteli
#9 of 28 in Canakkale
139 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Caeli
Hotel Caeli
#2 of 4 in Eceabat
24 reviews
8.4 mi away
Anzac Hotel
Anzac Hotel
#6 of 28 in Canakkale
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gallipoli Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gallipoli Houses

Property: The Gallipoli Houses
Address: Kocadere Koyu | - Eceabat, Eceabat 17900, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Canakkale Province > Eceabat
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Eceabat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gallipoli houses is a small authentic hotel, tucked away in the heart of the Gallipoli National Park. This privileged location makes it an ideal base to explore the Gallipoli battlefields. The rooms have been designed with modesty yet are fitted-out with everything necessary for a comfortable stay. Every room features a walk-in shower, coffee & tea making facilities and air conditioning. Wireless internet covers the foyer, breakfast room and most of the guest-rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Gallipoli Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gallipoli Houses Hotel Eceabat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing