We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing week at this cozy well run hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maria Paulo Guest House- Agonda
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Agonda
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Hendrick and Sonja and their lovely family are the perfect hosts. They are available whenever needed, yet allow privacy and comfort to prevail. The rooms are clean and have views of the sea from the balconies. Their small restaurant attached to the hotel produces a nice variety of homemade choices prepared with flavor and care. The fresh fish caught the same day was amazingly moist and flavorful. The internet is fast and reliable. All of the comforts and needs one would wish for. Enjoy!
Not to mention the highlight of the beach itself, with magnetic sunsets, and dolphins.
I look forward to a return stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank BubbyKingston_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 64 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2012

This was the best find for our budget. Everything is done by the family who owns it and are very friendly and helpful. It was a very comfortable and peaceful stay. Will most definitely go back. We went in the first week of October so it wasn't crowded at all. Beach was quite and serene which was very much safe day or night. If you are looking for luxury then this isn't the place for you. But if you want a comfortable homey without the fuss of room service and easy access of the beach then this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kansh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2012

We were based in the north but decided to stay for a few days in the south,Agonda to be precise.We had originally booked in to go to jardim a mar beach huts but once we got there we were not convinced this is where we wanted to stay so myself and my husband got back in our taxi and drive along the quiet road and came upon maria paulo guest house purely by accident.We were shown two rooms we had a choice which we wanted.We chose the 800rps a night room on the ground floor without aircon but with a ceiling fan.The room had a sea view and was spacious,basic is what i was expecting and basic it was.The family that run this guest house are very welcoming and pleasant,we only ate breakfast here and it was good.The beach is on your doorstep and it is very clean and quiet,you can see the cows and little pigs running around.Agonda is so peaceful and a total contrast to the busy north and we would definately go back again and stay at maria paulo without a doubt.If you are looking for a no frills stay and a get away location then this is the place for you.It has a bar at the front and internet access too.Had a lovely time here im sure anyone else would too.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank goaaddict2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

We stayed here for two weeks in February during a three-month visit to Goa.

Our accommodation was in a new, clean, modern annexe just across the road from the main guest house comprising private bathroom (with only cold water), electric ceiling fan, coffee table, two chairs and a balcony. Although there was no hanging space in our room, we were assured a wardrobe was on order. Both the bedroom and bathroom were of good size. It was a three minute stroll to approximately midway along lovely Agonda beach.

The owners were welcoming and helpful and the guest house provided drinks and meals throughout the day in the small open air restaurant area. Our room was cleaned with bed linen and towels changed every three or four days. The staff were very helpful and, at our request, put up a washing line outside our room and provided some pegs. Laundry service was also available.

From our room we had a view through the trees to a small stream. The sliding windows which were tinted to deflect the heat of the sun and this meant that, even with the curtains open and the light on, you couldn’t see into the room from outside.

The restaurant serves snack, meals and drinks throughout the day. There is an internet cafe in the main building and the charge is 40 Rupees per hour, or pro rata.

It was a most pleasant stay in clean, comfortable accommodation.

Room Tip: The modern rooms in the annex may be a better choice for comfort, privacy and quietness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dande49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2012

i booked this accommodation back in april 2011 for january 2012. I booked a seaview room with a balcony and no a/c - we arrived to be told the room i had booked had someone in it and was shown round the back of the house to a concrete hut he had recently decorated. it was small and pokey - shower was cold and didnt work very well when he had told us it would be warm and the wooden furniture stunk of paint. i couldnt use the cupboard as the clothes would have smelt of paint. i asked him what the cost was and he said it was 1500 rupees the same as the room. it overlooked the beach but wasnt nice to sit there as he had put all of his rubbish next to the hut.
we found the owner to be miserable and money grabbing. we stayed one night as we were tired then the next day went to find a beach hut - the beach huts on agonda beach are good value ranging from 300 rupees a night and that includes a shower bed and mosquito net and right on the beach - what more could you ask for. we have travelled in India several times before and realise you dont get all the home comforts we get in the western world - this guesthouse was out to rip us off - so my advise would be to stick to the beach huts they are alot more roomy and comfortable.

Room Tip: when we went to agonda i wasnt that happy about staying in the beach huts because of security but in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sashaziggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

We stayed at MP Guest House between Christmas and New Year, and were very pleased. Our downstairs room was large and clean, and the beds were comfortable. The room upstairs was a bit smaller, but still very nice. The guesthouse is right on the beach, with the front patio looking out over the quiet main street. Compared to some of its neighboring hotels, MP's settings are not very exotic and cozy - the furnishings and decorations are basic and typical Indian. The kitchen is very good (try the Goan shrimp!) and the service provided by the owners, Hendrick and Sophia, excellent. Agonda Beach is a gem; still pretty quiet and clean, but with enough things to do like yoga, surfing, swimming of course, and local sightseeing by scooter or bicycle.

Room Tip: Downstairs rooms are bigger, but noisier during the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doro B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

we should have stayed 8 days but ended up staying 13 as we became so relaxed we could not be bothered to move.
the guesthouse is 1mins walk to the beach and we thought great value for money .it was clean and comfortable with sea views from our balcony.the owner hendrik will arrange airport transfers etc and is very helpful.hot water is only available in the pm as it is solar heated

Room Tip: ask for upper room for sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joseph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agonda
0.3 mi away
Anantra Sea View Resort
0.5 mi away
The Bay Agonda
The Bay Agonda
#1 of 8 in Agonda
128 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Tubki Resort
The Tubki Resort
#2 of 9 in Palolem
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Harmonium Resorts Agonda
4.2 mi away
Bhakti Kutir
Bhakti Kutir
#5 of 19 in Canacona
181 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dunhill Beach Resort
Dunhill Beach Resort
#2 of 8 in Agonda
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maria Paulo Guest House- Agonda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maria Paulo Guest House- Agonda

Address: Agonda Beach Near Church, Agonda 403702, India
Location: India > Goa > South Goa District > Agonda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Agonda
Price Range: $21 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hendrick and Sofia and their lovely family are the perfect hosts. They are available whenever needed, yet allow privacy and comfort to prevail. The rooms are clean and have views of the sea from the balconies. Their small restaurant attached to the hotel produces a nice variety of homemade choices prepared with flavor and care. The fresh fish caught the same day was amazingly moist and flavorful. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Maria Paulo Guest House- Agonda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maria Paulo Guest House Agonda Beach Hotel Canacona
Maria Paulo Guest House- Agonda Goa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing