We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for your money, and clean!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maria Paulo Guest House- Agonda
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Agonda
Reviewed January 31, 2012

We stayed at MP Guest House between Christmas and New Year, and were very pleased. Our downstairs room was large and clean, and the beds were comfortable. The room upstairs was a bit smaller, but still very nice. The guesthouse is right on the beach, with the front patio looking out over the quiet main street. Compared to some of its neighboring hotels, MP's settings are not very exotic and cozy - the furnishings and decorations are basic and typical Indian. The kitchen is very good (try the Goan shrimp!) and the service provided by the owners, Hendrick and Sophia, excellent. Agonda Beach is a gem; still pretty quiet and clean, but with enough things to do like yoga, surfing, swimming of course, and local sightseeing by scooter or bicycle.

Room Tip: Downstairs rooms are bigger, but noisier during the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doro B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 66 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2012

we should have stayed 8 days but ended up staying 13 as we became so relaxed we could not be bothered to move.
the guesthouse is 1mins walk to the beach and we thought great value for money .it was clean and comfortable with sea views from our balcony.the owner hendrik will arrange airport transfers etc and is very helpful.hot water is only available in the pm as it is solar heated

Room Tip: ask for upper room for sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joseph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

Maria Paulo is great. We have stayed here a few times now and Hendrick and Sophie create an extremely relaxing atmosphere and the guesthouse is situated just behind the beach. There are sea view rooms available. Rooms are basic but clean, and considering most beach huts in Agonda/Palolem are much more expensive, this is really good value. The food is also very good-masala omelettes, pancakes. fresh fruit, porridge for breakfast and fresh juices all reasonably priced. There is also a nice bar, but it is still a very quiet place to stay, apart from the odd dog barking, but that happens anywhere! Always felt very safe, with 'granny' keeping a watchful eye most of the time! Agonda is a lovely, relaxing place. I hope it doesn't become over-run with tourists though! Thanks Hendrick, see you soon! Sophie and family

Room Tip: Ask for a room upstairs, and if possible sea view. Much better than the rooms downstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sophie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

If you like to spent some lazy days at Agonda beach Maria Paulo is a great choice. It is located in the middle of the village and 200 meters from the sea. So you can be very close to the beach but avoid staying in a beach shack. We spent 5 days there in early january. Its a basic accomendation but clean and safe. Serves good breakfast and also lunch and dinner (but we only had breakfast). After a couple of days you almost feel you belong to the family.

They arranged a driver to meet us at the train when we arrived and a driver who took us to north Goa via a spice plantation when we left.

The internet connection worked fine and was cheep.The beach was very quiet even in this high season

Try the tandori resturant next door for good meal

Higly recommended

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tinkertailor1259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

good service, clean rooms and helpful staff.
we recommend the restaurant Cinnamon to cafe.
very good food and a top cook.
Ragul and his team are always friendly and have a very good choice.
are all-important to the team the satisfaction of all guests.
Ragul and Joseph speak very well english, and one must try the fish specialities absolutely

from gunnar and Kathrin from Germany

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gunnarschaech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Room was clean and of a good size with balcony and a view of the sea. Our fan was broken and only had one, very slow setting. We were lent a table fan though with no trouble at all.

Very centrally located in Agonda and if you do not visit to stay then you must try their chips - by far the best we've had in the whole of India!

We felt the price was a little high but we were visiting at peak time. (Would have stayed longer and been happy with the price if they had had wifi)

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Minisuitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

We stayed here for 8 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The location, literally a few steps from the beach, is great. The rooms were clean and spacious, and the food was excellent (we couldn't stop eating the chicken sandwiches!). Also we wanted to do some Yoga whilst we were there, and the guesthouse is close to a number of places where you can do this.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alholrtw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agonda
0.3 mi away
Om Sai Beach Huts
Om Sai Beach Huts
#1 of 10 in Agonda
568 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anantra Sea View Resort
4.9 mi away
The Tubki Resort
The Tubki Resort
#2 of 10 in Palolem
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Harmonium Resorts Agonda
3.1 mi away
Dreamcatcher Resort
Dreamcatcher Resort
#3 of 10 in Palolem
196 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Bay Agonda
The Bay Agonda
#2 of 10 in Agonda
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maria Paulo Guest House- Agonda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maria Paulo Guest House- Agonda

Address: Agonda Beach Near Church, Agonda 403702, India
Location: India > Goa > South Goa District > Agonda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Agonda
Price Range: $26 - $57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hendrick and Sofia and their lovely family are the perfect hosts. They are available whenever needed, yet allow privacy and comfort to prevail. The rooms are clean and have views of the sea from the balconies. Their small restaurant attached to the hotel produces a nice variety of homemade choices prepared with flavor and care. The fresh fish caught the same day was amazingly moist and flavorful. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Maria Paulo Guest House- Agonda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maria Paulo Guest House Agonda Beach Hotel Canacona
Maria Paulo Guest House- Agonda Goa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing