We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The restaurant is the jewel in Dunhill's crown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dunhill Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Agonda
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“The restaurant is the jewel in Dunhill's crown”
Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at dunhill in march'13! We were travelling on a budget so chose the garden huts rather than the beach cabana. Although at first I did feel that what was portrayed on the website and what we got was different, we were not disappointed at all. Most website vs reality is like that I guess. So, We stayed here for two nights.
The room is pretty standard, a comfortable double bed, clean linen, a cupboard to hang clothes, a decent bathroom - neat, clean, running water, hot water too. What else do u need when you are in Goa?
There is a smallish verandah outside your room with a table and chair to have tea etc.
Now to share the best part about Dunhill.. Their restaurant. The menu is a carefully chosen mix of Goan, regular Indian, English, American, Italian food. And the food is truly good.. Exotic ingredients tossed up by a talented chef make the food here relish worthy! You will come back for more. It is pricey by Goa standards but you won't mind paying the premium.
What I liked best about Dunhil, is that the owner is always around, hanging out at the restaurant , talking to guests, sharing stories, taking feedback, shows his passion for Dunhil. Wish him all the best to make Dunhil one of the best in all of Goa!
Oh, I forgot to mention that Dunhil is right on the Agonda beach.. One of the cleanest and finest in goa. The cabanas which open up onto the beach were lovely too (the owner gave us a sneak peek into the rooms) and we are tempted to go back again to Dunhil and make some wonderful memories by the beach!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Nayantara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    80
    13
    8
    5
See reviews for
49
105
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

After a lot of research for a romantic destination for my first marriage anniversary i have decided to book Dunhill Beach Resort's Cabana based on the reviews in the Trip-Advisor. i have self driven to Agonda from Hyderabad and by the time we reached the resort it was almost 8:30 P.M and it was very easy to locate Dunhill Resort and to our surprise we had a warm welcome even that late in evening. we were directed to the Cabana we booked and it was a very decent cottage can say equal to a 3* property(Keep in mind its a wooden cottage). as it was dark we couldn't enjoy the view but could feel the force of wind and sound of waves from our room itself. the most beautiful thing in Dunhill is having food by the beach watching the sun Rise and Set. People at Dunhill make to feel to come back again. this was the first time me and my wife felt bad leaving to home and wished to stay more. do try crispy fried chicken wings and binofie pie!

Room Tip: carry your own toiletries!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank venkata243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

As a family with 2 young children (4 and 5) we were looking for a relaxed beach holiday in a beach hut/cabana. Having looked at a few other places and beaches while we were staying at Dunhill, I don't think we could have chosen better. While it is called a resort, it is not a 'resort' as you may find on the northern beaches of Goa - and we weren't looking for that either.
Surely beach huts, by definition, can only ever really have a certain level of luxury/quality about them and I reckon the beach front cabana's at Dunhill must pretty much be in the top tier. We were fortunate and had one of the 3 at the front facing the beach but the 3 behind were of the same size etc. and possibly benefited from a bit more shade. We never looked at the other rooms across the road so can't comment on those.
On booking, as a family of 4 it was suggested that we take 2 cabanas as it could be a bit of a squash. With two young kids though we preferred to keep them with us. With older kids, it would have been ideal to have two cabanas I am sure. As a solution we were provided with an extra bed in the cabana, so yes, it was a bit of a squash (and was told it would be) but not a major issue as most of the time was spent on the beach or on the veranda - the perfect spot to keep an eye on your children from while they play on the beach and you relax in the sun or shade as you prefer.
The toilets were clean, the cabana's cleaned every other day. No, the shower wasn't a power shower but if you are looking for that sort of thing, you shouldn't be looking to stay in cabana/beach hut that has to be taken down at the end of every season. One of the cabana's has an AC but the others don't as they benefit more from the shade of the trees during the day. Use the fan at night, yes it can be warm/hot at night when it goes a bit still but then the breeze picks up again later in the night - depends on your heat tolerance I guess! The beds were great and very comfortable and were provided with towels etc.
The beach is a nice long sandy beach, the waves and current can be a bit strong, particularly with the on-shore wind. I heard it was voted 2nd best beach in Asia or something - depends what you are looking for really though. If you are looking for crystal blue waters and snorkeling around reefs from the beach then this isn't the beach.
Re the food at the attached restaurant - loved it, particularly all the Indian curries but various international choices as well. Portions were on the whole generous and quality good. We stayed there for 7 days, ate there nearly every meal, and were never disappointed. There was food for the kids too as they weren't quite so keen on curry to be fair. The main problem was probably just ordering and eating too much to be quite honest! Service generally good. Yea, sure, sometimes something a bit delayed or whatever but if you are just chilling out on the beach for a few days, whats the rush?! The staff were helpful whenever we asked for anything. The manager at the restaurant could learn to smile a bit more (!) but he was very helpful and things seemed pretty well organised and got sorted pretty quickly if they weren't.
We would certainly go back to Dunhill and would recommend the place, particularly to those who still have a bit of the traveler in them and are not looking for the lap of luxury but a chilled out beach holiday without having to rough it too much! We spoiled the end of our holiday by staying in a smart holiday closer to the airport on the last couple of nights to make our journey back easier with the children - gutted - in comparison t Dunhill we found the hotel over priced, poor service and average food - we should have stayed where we were and sucked up the extra hour or so to the airport!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Familytraveling127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Coast Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

As you know,booking any and all hotels via the internet is always a risk.The impresssion that I got about this hotel on the internet was not what I found.Yes,we arrived at night,but it was not close to what I had imagined.The room was very stark,and so was the linen and the bathroom.We were not happy,so we left.The manager wanted 1 nights/days accomodation,but I did not pay.

Room Tip: We did not stay,we left.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
Helpful?
3 Thank dalekate777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I decided to stay at Dunhill beach resort on basis of the reviews and spent there 3 nights 4 days along with my wife. We were amazed to see the beauty of the beach and the location of the Resort. It was a nice experience for us. Room was neat and clean. Location of restaurant and quality of foods were too good. Hotel employees are very friendly and helpful. I would recommend all my friends and relatives to experience the same and we also would like to visit there again.

Room Tip: We stayed in a non-AC room (as only it was available) and found no issues. I dont think any tip is r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Debomoy91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed at dunhill for 8 days during our 6 week stint in Goa. I must say I was delighted with the beach huts, they were beautifully done out with windows that opened out onto the beach. For the first days we stayed in one of the front huts which were on the beach and had fantastic views but the restaurant was a little noisy at night.
The second half of our stay we moved to one of the back huts which had no view but was a lot cooler and quieter.
The food could not be faulted. The kitchen was so clean and you could see in it which is always a plus.
I would defiantly recommend this place to anyone, very clean, tidy and the staff are friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I spent 8 nights at the Dunhill, a few in a beach cabana and a few in the garden house.
In my opinion, Dunhill is the most comfortable place in Agonda, if not in the whole South Goa.
Beach huts are very well designed. In a small house you get a separate washing room, shower and toilet equipped with bronze engineering. Large comfortable bed is very close to the window, so you can feel yourself lying on the beach, but in a pleasant shade.
The walls of the cabanas are made of clear plastic and covered with double curtains. If desired, you can open the curtains and windows and doors and let in the surroundings into the cabana.
If you like to fall asleep to the sound of the sea, the cabana is your choice. Honestly, my first night was not very comfortable because of the noise of the sea. But only the first night.
There is no air conditioning in cabanas, but it is not necessary - you can always feel the sea breeze, or you can use a floor fan. But I never used it.
And of course you can watch the sunset while sitting on your own porch, drinking a cocktail from the restaurant, which is only a few steps away.
Behind the three seaview cabanas, there are three cabanas in the garden, just a few meters away from the beach.
The price of 5500 rupees per one night in a beach cabana can seem a bit high, but the huts are never empty and you'd better book it in advance.
The only disadvantage of beach huts and restaurant is there is no WiFi. However, WiFi is working in the area of Dunhill garden houses, just across the small street from the restaurant. Ask for WiFi password at the desk and you can use internet in the garden.But if you stay in a garden house, you can be online even in bed.
Garden houses are a little more roomier than cabanas. They are just as clean and comfortable, air conditioned. Not as funny as beach huts, but less expensive.
The beach restaurant in Dunhill is probably one of the best in Goa. Great choice, excellent quality, excellent service. Nowhere else I ate so tasty naan with cheese and garlic, hummus, chicken tikka etc. There is also a large selection of vegetarian dishes.
Breakfasts, if they are included, are basic but delicious (eggs or scrambled eggs, fresh juice, tea or coffee tasty bread and butter), plus you can choose more from the menu. I recommend the Indian omelette)).

Room Tip: Beach cabana #1 is very close to the restaurant. You can hardly hear the noise from the restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Galitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agonda
1.3 mi away
The Bay Agonda
The Bay Agonda
#1 of 7 in Agonda
127 reviews
1.0 mi away
Harmonium Resorts Agonda
1.1 mi away
Anantra Sea View Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Om Sai Beach Huts
Om Sai Beach Huts
#1 of 61 in Agonda
494 reviews
0.2 mi away
H2O Agonda
H2O Agonda
#5 of 32 in Agonda
272 reviews
3.3 mi away
Marron Sea View Resort
Marron Sea View Resort
#4 of 9 in Palolem
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunhill Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunhill Beach Resort

Property: Dunhill Beach Resort
Address: Agonda Beach Road, Agonda 403702, India
Location: India > Goa > South Goa District > Agonda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Agonda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the Pristine Agonda Beach, Dunhill Beach Resort is the perfect getaway for the quiet traveller who is looking to spend quality time in Goa. Dunhill rooms are comfortable and neatly appointed. Unpretentious and spotlessly clean. Single, Double, Twin bedded, air conditioned or non AC. All rooms have an en suite shower and bath, and a sit-out area. Our property is located amongst swaying coconut trees and plants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Dunhill Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunhill Beach Hotel Agonda
Dunhill Beach Resort Agonda, Goa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing