We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rama Resort Agonda Beach, Goa, India”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Agonda
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rama Resort - Agonda Beach
Ranked #12 of 61 Specialty Lodging in Agonda
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rama Resort Agonda Beach, Goa, India”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

It's paradise! If you are looking for a shanti place to relax at the beach, do yoga and enjoy the silence - this is the address for you. Very nice people around, attentive staff, great food, clean and spaceous wooden beach huts, towels, bed linen, soap and candles included. Beautiful garden, fruit shop and internet cafe just around the corner.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kero2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    32
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
21
36
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hurghada, Egypt
Level Contributor
65 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We visited Rama Resort on the first day of our five-week stay in Agonda in 2012 and after several days relaxing on their sun loungers and enjoying lunches and occasionally evening meals, we quickly decided this was the place we were going to establish as our beach base!

We are now about half-way through this year’s three and a half month stay in this lovely town and once again as soon as we arrived we headed straight for Rama’s. We have enjoyed meals at other restaurants in Agonda where the food is excellent. However, the only way to describe the wide variety of dishes here is exceptional. The young Head Chef, Raju, who has been in charge of the kitchen for at least the past two seasons, and the Tandoor Chef Ganga, have great skills in taste and presentation and together with the kitchen staff produce superb dishes - whether India, Goan, Chinese or simple European snacks. The Masalas and Dhal Fry deserve special mention.

The waiters, too, Sanjay, Suman and Shashi provide friendly and efficient service in a welcoming and relaxed way.

As we rent an apartment on the outskirts of Agonda, we haven’t stayed in Rama’s wooden huts which are situated around a pleasant garden but spend most of our waking hours there.

This may appear to be an over-the-top review but it simply reflects our appreciation of the food and atmosphere of this simple beach-front restaurant. We consider it a real find which has already made two Goan holidays even more special. Can’t say more than that!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dande49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We didn't stay here - stayed at the sister property Green Valley just 20 metres away but came here for the good food (my favourite of all the places I tried in Agonda) the very friendly staff, uncrowded beach and views. Worth a trip - even if it is right at the south end of the beach. The beach huts - like those at Green Valley are basic but give you a great beach-side location, fan, mosquito net, private (open air) shower and toilet and towels and there are loungers on the beach itself if you want them. Wonderful!

Room Tip: It's worth paying extra for a shack nearer the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pete6612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2012

We chanced upon this place whilst staying at Agonda White Sands (about kilometre down the beach and twice the price). We booked in for 5 nights and ended up staying for 10. The huts are simple and fairly roomy with a fan and adequate bathroom. The mattresses are a bit hard but it is the same in all the beach huts - the ones we tried anyway! The staff in the restaurant seem to have the knack of making everyone feel special. Many thanks to Deepak and Suman and lovely Sanjay whos English is as good as mine! They work a seventeen hour day and are still smiling and friendly at the end of it. The food is gorgeous, particularly anything from the tandori, which you can watch being prepared and cooked. The pancakes with nutella or lemon and sugar are better than any I have ever had and my 10yr son lived on them... Also excellent value for money. The owners of the restaurant Ramesh and Sanjana and their two lovely little daughters are some of the nicest people I have ever met. We loved it so much we are going back next February. Can't wait to see everyone again and hope the staff are all the same. If you want the best Mojito just ask Sanjay - be careful though as they are addictive after a long day on the gorgeous uncrowded beach.

Room Tip: As you facing resort from the beach the ones on the lefthand side are best. If you can bring an infl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dreamingexotic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

A really greate place with simple but nice and airy bungalows just a few meters from the beach. Attached bathrooms, mosquitonet and towels. Clean in indian standard, not in western terms. Rama Restaurant serves good food in beautiful suroundings and have the friendliest staff you can imagine! The beach are not croudy as Palolem and Rama has nice sunbeds and serve you food and drinks from the restaurant, on the beach. Good value for money, and really quiet day and night. 3 minutes walk to "town" with ATM, shops, internet cafe ++

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karenend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2012

Rama's is at the end of the beach and feels nicely private. Restaurant serves tasty food, great tandoored veg, and the staff are terrific, friendly guys. The cabins are very low-maintenance shacks, no frills. Quite dusty and dark (you can get more sun, depending on where you face, best cabin faces the beach, but majority don't), but a nice big bathroom. We didn't spend much time in the cabin, more time on the beach or in the shade of the restaurant. You'll get a good night's sleep with the sound of the waves crashing on shore. Resident puppies are an added attraction. Recommended for low-maintenance travelers looking for peace & quiet.

Room Tip: Try to get a cabin with decent light. If you are facing the cabins from the road, choose one on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hodgepodge17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

The beach at Agonda is beautiful, the staff at Rama are brilliant, the huts are functional and comfortable and our stay there in Goa was a real highlight of our trip.

Agonda is a peaceful place to stay and offers an escape from the usual hectic Goan experience. The thing that makes Rama resort the best place (not only to stay but eat and drink) on the whole of Agonda beach is the staff. Deepak (gregarious and friendly), Sanjay (polite and smilely) and Suman (Bob Marley Horizontal yet attentive) made our stay so enjoyable. They truly looked after us, anything we wanted they got it e.g. "does the breakfast come with brown bread?" response from Sanjay: "No, but we could jump on the scooter and go and get some!?"

The food was very good, the service was better. When we told Deepak that we were off to Mumbai next on our journey he called his friend to pick us up at the train station on arrival at 5am.

It doesn't matter if you stay at Rama or if you are just there for a drink, the boys will take care of you.

Do go there.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lewis O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agonda hotels
1.4 mi away
The Bay Agonda
The Bay Agonda
#1 of 7 in Agonda
127 reviews
0.8 mi away
Maria Paulo Guest House- Agonda
0.1 mi away
Dunhill Beach Resort
Dunhill Beach Resort
#2 of 7 in Agonda
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Om Sai Beach Huts
Om Sai Beach Huts
#1 of 61 in Agonda
494 reviews
0.5 mi away
Simrose
Simrose
#2 of 61 in Agonda
256 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jojolapa Agonda Resort
Jojolapa Agonda Resort
#7 of 61 in Agonda
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rama Resort - Agonda Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rama Resort - Agonda Beach

Property: Rama Resort - Agonda Beach
Address: Agonda, India
Location: India > Goa > South Goa District > Agonda
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 61 Specialty Lodging in Agonda
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Rama Resort - Agonda Beach Hotel Agonda
Rama Resort - Agonda Beach Goa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing