We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little gem in Agonda”
Review of Monsoon

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Agonda
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Monsoon
Ranked #11 of 32 Agonda B&B and Inns
Santorini, Greece
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great little gem in Agonda”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We have been coming here for food and great coffee for 6 years now. Even though the ownership changed the last years, Monsoon is still as good as ever! Great breakfasts, salads and well cooked food! The menu has a good variety ranging from Nepali dishes, Indian, Israeli and Western style. The kitchen team is from Nepal and as always when Nepali guys are managers, the food and organisation is excellent! And even better here since the owner is German!

I haven't stayed here but many friends have and the huts and rooms I have seen are very nice!

Ingela and Alex

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ingela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    13
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
24
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Fantastic! give them a go you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank riceman1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

Maren and Dirk have a great team of Nepalese boys who run a laid back but efficient homestay on one of the best unspoilt beaches in Goa. Monsoon is a friendly and safe place to stay alone or with the family. No hassle, no pressure and good quality food at reasonable prices. There is a travel agent opposite which handles train, taxi, money exchange etc. so you don't need to move fa from the idyllic beach. Perfect to chill out. Enough said.

Room Tip: Beach huts are great but he rooms are also excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JohnJoeKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
55 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2011

Went there with my gf without us knowing anything about the place. We just picked the name from a list of places in Agonda, to have a reference to our taxidriver. What a find it turned out to be. We took a taxi down from the airport. It was apx an hour drive, and they have fixed priced taxi's at the airport. We came late in the evening. Luckily they had a room available. It was on the second floor in the same builiding as the restaurant. The room was basic, but clean. Fan and mosquitonet, bathroom and a veranda outside. We payed 1000 rupies pr night. We stayed there for two nights before we moved to one of the bungalows. The bungalow was basic too, but very cosy. We paid the same price as we did for the room.
The restaurant serves good food. Both the local and international dishes are well prepared and very cheap.Enjoy a quiet, slow breakfast with a spectacular view over Agonda Beach. All the staff working at the Monsoon was brilliant. We felt very well treated during our entire stay.
The german couple who owns the place, are also very welcomming and always ready to share some information.
Agonda itself is a very quiet and relaxing place. This is not the place to be if you are looking for nightlife. Most places close at 10 PM. But it is the ultimate place to be if you want to relax for a couple of days/weeks after travelling round in other parts of the country. The beach is very nice, and the water is clean.
If you are choosing to stay at this place, it is wise to book ahead through their website.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sihanoukville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2011

Monsoon has a great position at the north end of the beautiful Agonda beach, a picture postcard setting in south Goa. I especially enjoyed breakfast here each morning, looking out at the ocean, watching Sea Eagles fish and occasionally Dolphins swimming off shore.
The Nepalese kitchen team cook mouth watering Indian, Nepalese or European dishes with a specials board, fresh fish and seafood offered daily and after dinner, with a little encouragement, they’ll perform an impromptu music show.
In keeping with the locality, there is no loud music or bright lighting at Monsoon, generally guests slip away to bed early and can drift off to sleep with the gentle rhythm of the oceans waves.
As it was very early in the season beach huts were under construction, so our accommodation was in the main building, a small but functional room complete with en-suite bathroom, mosquito net and ceiling fan.
We were the privileged first guests of the season, but more people arrived over the following weeks, and before long there was a lovely mix of nationalities, ages and personalities which added to the fun atmosphere. Strangers soon became friends, e-mail address’s were exchanged and arrangements to meet again were made.
Dirk, our host, and the team were ever attentive and helpful with questions and information. There were occasional hiccups like power cuts or an uninvited bug in the bathroom, but nothing that couldn’t be sorted with a laugh and a smile. We were only supposed to stay 3 nights, we ended up there 2 weeks, why go anywhere else?
Monsoon isn’t about air-con, room service, stuffy staff/guests and 5 star luxury, it is however a wonderful serene beach front location, with a relaxed atmosphere, great food and lovely people, well worth a look.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Shaun K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
136 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

I visited Agonda in October 2011 with my son. Monsoon Guest House is located in the northern part of Agonda beach. We had a good view of the beach and cliff from the balcony of our room. The balcony is a peaceful place to sit in, any time of day. The room decor is quite simple and ethnic. The sound of the sea is rather soothing, particularly at night when it is pitch dark all around.

Dirk and staff are warm hosts. The boys are helpful, and assist with scooters and auto rickshaws. Dirk sits with the guests late night, everyone shares experiences over a beer, it is a very warm and homely guest house. The number of rooms is limited, so the guest house is well maintained and the guests are well looked after.

Room Tip: Room with balcony overlooking the beach or the huts when built during season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JG-Blr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2010

The first thing I saw when I stepped into Monsoon was a marvellous sunset ... In a minute I knew all the people sitting in the beach restaurant and we watched all together, waited for a "touchdown" - and throughout the next 3 and a half weeks... (it happened once ...almost) The next morning the first thing I saw was a dolphin jumping 300 meters from the place I was enjoying my breakfast. Anything more? The Monsoon is a perfect place to relax, getting to know nice and interesting people, do Yoga with Claudia, a fantastic Yoga teacher from Cologne and have a sunbath on the fantastic sandy beach of Agonda. One of the last paradise places in Goa! And nepalese food! The nepalese staff is funny, helpful and sweet. A sight to see ... ;0)

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank inga66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agonda hotels
0.5 mi away
Om Sai Beach Huts
Om Sai Beach Huts
#1 of 63 in Agonda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
0.1 mi away
Divine Beach Resort
Divine Beach Resort
#9 of 32 in Agonda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sea Star Resort
Sea Star Resort
#8 of 32 in Agonda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dunhill Beach Resort
Dunhill Beach Resort
#2 of 7 in Agonda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tutti Garden Bungalows
Tutti Garden Bungalows
#3 of 32 in Agonda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mariposa Beach Grove
Mariposa Beach Grove
#1 of 32 in Agonda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monsoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monsoon

Property: Monsoon
Address: Agonda Beach, Agonda 403702, India
Location: India > Goa > South Goa District > Agonda
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Agonda
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Monsoon Agonda, Goa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing