We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best huts on the beach”
Review of Agonda White Sand

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Agonda
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Agonda White Sand
Ranked #4 of 61 Specialty Lodging in Agonda
Certificate of Excellence
Tadcaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best huts on the beach”
Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

What a find. Once people get to know about white sands they will all want to go there. A perfect paradise on the beach with staff helping wherever they can. Lovely huts with little touches by the daily cleaners of flowers on your bed or left in heart shape in your bathroom. Excellent food menu and bar. Can't give any negative thoughts. In four days we felt we didn't need to go anywhere else. Check out the fruit bat tree along the lane. If the turtles have nested then make sure someone wakes you up if they hatch in the night. Didn't see many children on this site. It's all very grown up and quiet do if you are looking for a party scene then this is not it.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TLCJ1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AgondaVillas, Manager at Agonda White Sand, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
This season we have been nearly full to capacity throughout. Fortunately our cottages and grounds are spacious and so are most of the other resorts along the 2km long beach. Even when all the beach accommodation is full Agonda could hardly be considered busy.

I also hope that it stays that way.

For those that want to party, Palolem is only 15 minutes away in an auto-rickshaw or taxi and then you can retreat to the quite and tranquility of Agonda.

Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again.

Warm regards from all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    71
    11
    1
    2
See reviews for
35
218
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We had originally booked for only 3 nights, but as soon as we arrived and dropped our rucksacks in the room we knew we wanted to stay longer.

We promptly asked the ever helpful, polite and friendly guy that is Sunny if we could extend our stay for another 3 nights and thankfully there were vacancies it would involve moving cottages nearer the end of the stay, but this wasn't too much of a problem.

The huts (cottages) are great and very large inside with an extremely comfy bed with gorgeous soft bed linen and lots of soft pillows, absolute bliss! The rooms are kept cool with a great ceiling fan and a oscillating fan so falling asleep was no problem whatsoever. I loved the sound of the waves crashing on the shore and I would say that I slept so peacefully here, no peeping of horns!!

I really loved the outdoor bathroom and shower, very refreshing modern and clean, with great attention to detail. I also didn't mind sharing the bathroom with my new pet lizard and cute little frog :0)

The food in the restaurant is so tasty and the quality of ingredients are great, I had some of the best tasting Tofu and Paneer dishes here and I can truthfully say the best meals of the whole 3 week holiday in India. The setting of the restaurant is great and what a view at sunset, stunning and I never tired of that view. The homemade peanut butter and bread along with the muesli were breakfast favourites.

Agonda Beach itself is gorgeous so peaceful and not littered with sun beds or rubbish, great just to wander along have a dip in the sea and plonk your towel down on the sand. A lovely beach to walk along and we were lucky enough to see some dolphins from the shoreline, what a beautiful sight.

The staff are lovely and so polite and friendly and really understand great customer service, a really good team of people.

I would not hesitate to return to White Sands and could easily stay for a full 3 weeks, I love the peaceful daily life of Agonda and I hope that it retains its charm.

Stayed 26th February to 4th March 2013

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mulzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AgondaVillas, Manager at Agonda White Sand, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for your thorough review.

I will pass your comments onto our whole team who have worked so hard to improve our standard further this season. Yes the cottages are amongst the comfiest along the beach, but our staff are friendly and hard working and our restaurant has stood out from the rest this year.

We will continue to listen to the good and challenging comments from our guests and offer the highest standard that we can.

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write. Keep well and hopefully see you next season.

Kindest regards from all of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We booked Agonda White Sand after reading such amazing reviews on Tripadvisor and were very underwhelmed. I will say that, the cottages were amazing, but only a couple are actually sea-facing. They are big and clean (the ladies that do the cleaning are very friendly and helpful) and the open-roof bathrooms are beautiful. The bed is comfortable, but it is very hot at night because there is no A/C.

Now, the negatives: We were surprised, after spending a few weeks in India and seeing great service (even at budget places) that we were not even offered tea or coffee when sitting on our balcony. Maybe there is a disconnect between the hotel duties and the restaurant duties, but we didn't appreciate having to sit down at a table just to order a drink. And on top of that, the guys in the restaurant acted as if we were in the wrong when we asked for food on our balcony. They did not smile at us once!

We were really quite surprised at how horrible the service was, and also, how sub-par the food was. For the price of the food (expensive for India) we expected it to be better than it was. It was frustrating that you had to order a main dish and a side dish separately, and all of the food was under-salted. Maybe this is nit-picking, but in a country known for its food, this wouldn't measure up to any of the other restaurants we ate at in India.

I might go back and try Agonda White Sand again, but there are so many choices, I would definitely look around before deciding!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AgondaVillas, Manager at Agonda White Sand, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for writing a review and the kind comments about our cottages.

We appreciate that although our food is of the highest standard it will not be to everybodies taste. This season instead of being one of the many standard dhaba style restaurants serving food loaded with ghee and salt, we decided to ofer alternitive quisine including ingredients such as salmon, brocolli, wasabi and many more ingredients generally only found in 5 stars in India.

With the help of a European chef and our head chef we have travelled from No.8 to the No.2 restaurant in Agonda and people are now travelleing from neighbouring beaches to enjoy our food in our beautiful restaurant.

Kind regards from all the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pokhara, Nepal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

me and my girlfriend was traveling to india since 3 weeks . we travel all the way down to south .from north rajesthan, kerla, hampi. and our last stay was in agonda we arrived early morning and we had nothing to stay . .some lacal guy told us to go agonda white sand .when we arrived in white sand i felt in love with place. it was paradise . we decide to stay last 3 nights .we was staying in cottage number 112 it was last cottage . and room is very big nice bathroom open air . food was amazing service was great . you have to wait for your food little while .bar man was excellent prashant .all ways smiling . i think i am talking to much now . we would like to go once again to this place . thanks for lovely food service and looking after us .. .will see you guys soon .........

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank suntmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AgondaVillas, Manager at Agonda White Sand, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for the great review. Since our new cottages were built this season including a stunning open-air bathroom, we see so many new arrivals smiling and often with a great sense of relief after a hard journey. Bags down, cold beer and sunset.

We are so happy that you loved the food in our restaurant as well. Prashant has a winning smile and friendly manner. We will do our best to ensure he keeps smiling.

Hope to see you soon. Regards from us all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Agonda White Sand is definitely a perfect gateway for a blissful romantic vacation.

We stayed for 6N & 7D and each day of our stay was worth the heavenly experience.

Thanks to Mark for sharing a codial relationship and booking our rooms via internet, Shaan, Sonu, Raju, Rakhi, Shruti, Vinod... (Sorry if we missed out any names) for their hospitality and great service.

Cheers!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AvidTravellers-ND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AgondaVillas, Manager at Agonda White Sand, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for writing a review. I will pass on your kind comments to the rest of the team.

So happy that you were pleased with our service.

Warm regards from us all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

At the end of each season we spend a few days in agonda white sand. the mattresses r 8 inch thick, wifi in ur cottage and the stuff is really friendly. food is great directly in front of a clean beach. comfortable chairs in the restaurant and on ur balcony only add to the overall good feeling.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank OliverMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AgondaVillas, Manager at Agonda White Sand, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for your review. We believe comfort is king. Because our guests sleep on a 5 star mattress they wake up in a good mood. Its a simple addition that we have made to our cottages that has had a dramatic effect upon our guests and us in turn.

We look forward to seeing you again next season.

Regards from us all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed at one of the 3 Balinese Villas a bit down the beach from the main White Sand cottages and restaurant. Ours was one of the 2 story villas and it was a great view from our deck and a private lounge area. The small staff at the Balinese villas is great - we ate breakfast in our villa a few days, but also walked down the beach to the White Sand restaurant for a change of scenery as you can take your breakfast there as well. We ended up also eating at the White Sand restaurant several nights and food and staff is great.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank timgrubb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AgondaVillas, Manager at Agonda White Sand, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you for your kind words

We are so happy that you had a great time and we hope that you return again.

All the best from the Agonda White Sand Team.

Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agonda hotels
0.4 mi away
The Bay Agonda
The Bay Agonda
#1 of 7 in Agonda
127 reviews
0.2 mi away
Anantra Sea View Resort
0.1 mi away
Om Sai Beach Huts
Om Sai Beach Huts
#1 of 61 in Agonda
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Dunhill Beach Resort
Dunhill Beach Resort
#2 of 7 in Agonda
222 reviews
0.5 mi away
Simrose
Simrose
#2 of 61 in Agonda
256 reviews
0.1 mi away
Agonda Villas
Agonda Villas
#5 of 61 in Agonda
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agonda White Sand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agonda White Sand

Property: Agonda White Sand
Address: Agonda Beach Road, Agonda 403702, India
Location: India > Goa > South Goa District > Agonda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 61 Specialty Lodging in Agonda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agonda White Sand is bringing a touch of luxury to unspoilt Agonda with 12 boutique cottages. Beautifully designed and furnished bedrooms and open-air bathrooms for the magical experience of showering under the stars. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Agonda White Sand Hotel Agonda
Agonda White Sand Goa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing