We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Agonda White Sand
Nearby Hotels
$50
$44
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Maria Paulo Guest House- Agonda(Agonda)(Great Value!)
$22
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$37
Booking.com
View Deal
Cinnamon(Agonda)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (367)
Filter reviews
367 results
Traveler rating
275
76
11
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
275
76
11
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful beachthe cottagescleaned every dayopen airpalm treesbeach hutopen bathroomhis teamthe food is greatsea facing cottagesspent nightswonderful stayhot waterbar restaurantnorth goasun loungerslaid back
Filter
Updating list...
216 - 221 of 367 reviews
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We booked Agonda White Sand after reading such amazing reviews on Tripadvisor and were very underwhelmed. I will say that, the cottages were amazing, but only a couple are actually sea-facing. They are big and clean (the ladies that do the cleaning are very friendly and helpful) and the open-roof bathrooms are beautiful. The bed is comfortable, but it is very hot at night because there is no A/C.

Now, the negatives: We were surprised, after spending a few weeks in India and seeing great service (even at budget places) that we were not even offered tea or coffee when sitting on our balcony. Maybe there is a disconnect between the hotel duties and the restaurant duties, but we didn't appreciate having to sit down at a table just to order a drink. And on top of that, the guys in the restaurant acted as if we were in the wrong when we asked for food on our balcony. They did not smile at us once!

We were really quite surprised at how horrible the service was, and also, how sub-par the food was. For the price of the food (expensive for India) we expected it to be better than it was. It was frustrating that you had to order a main dish and a side dish separately, and all of the food was under-salted. Maybe this is nit-picking, but in a country known for its food, this wouldn't measure up to any of the other restaurants we ate at in India.

I might go back and try Agonda White Sand again, but there are so many choices, I would definitely look around before deciding!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AgondaVillas, Manager at Agonda White Sand, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Thank you for writing a review and the kind comments about our cottages.

We appreciate that although our food is of the highest standard it will not be to everybodies taste. This season instead of being one of the many standard dhaba style restaurants serving food loaded with ghee and salt, we decided to ofer alternitive quisine including ingredients such as salmon, brocolli, wasabi and many more ingredients generally only found in 5 stars in India.

With the help of a European chef and our head chef we have travelled from No.8 to the No.2 restaurant in Agonda and people are now travelleing from neighbouring beaches to enjoy our food in our beautiful restaurant.

Kind regards from all the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

me and my girlfriend was traveling to india since 3 weeks . we travel all the way down to south .from north rajesthan, kerla, hampi. and our last stay was in agonda we arrived early morning and we had nothing to stay . .some lacal guy told us to go agonda white sand .when we arrived in white sand i felt in love with place. it was paradise . we decide to stay last 3 nights .we was staying in cottage number 112 it was last cottage . and room is very big nice bathroom open air . food was amazing service was great . you have to wait for your food little while .bar man was excellent prashant .all ways smiling . i think i am talking to much now . we would like to go once again to this place . thanks for lovely food service and looking after us .. .will see you guys soon .........

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank suntmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AgondaVillas, Manager at Agonda White Sand, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Thank you for the great review. Since our new cottages were built this season including a stunning open-air bathroom, we see so many new arrivals smiling and often with a great sense of relief after a hard journey. Bags down, cold beer and sunset.

We are so happy that you loved the food in our restaurant as well. Prashant has a winning smile and friendly manner. We will do our best to ensure he keeps smiling.

Hope to see you soon. Regards from us all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Agonda White Sand is definitely a perfect gateway for a blissful romantic vacation.

We stayed for 6N & 7D and each day of our stay was worth the heavenly experience.

Thanks to Mark for sharing a codial relationship and booking our rooms via internet, Shaan, Sonu, Raju, Rakhi, Shruti, Vinod... (Sorry if we missed out any names) for their hospitality and great service.

Cheers!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AvidTravellers-ND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AgondaVillas, Manager at Agonda White Sand, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Thank you for writing a review. I will pass on your kind comments to the rest of the team.

So happy that you were pleased with our service.

Warm regards from us all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

At the end of each season we spend a few days in agonda white sand. the mattresses r 8 inch thick, wifi in ur cottage and the stuff is really friendly. food is great directly in front of a clean beach. comfortable chairs in the restaurant and on ur balcony only add to the overall good feeling.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank OliverMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AgondaVillas, Manager at Agonda White Sand, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Thank you for your review. We believe comfort is king. Because our guests sleep on a 5 star mattress they wake up in a good mood. Its a simple addition that we have made to our cottages that has had a dramatic effect upon our guests and us in turn.

We look forward to seeing you again next season.

Regards from us all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed at one of the 3 Balinese Villas a bit down the beach from the main White Sand cottages and restaurant. Ours was one of the 2 story villas and it was a great view from our deck and a private lounge area. The small staff at the Balinese villas is great - we ate breakfast in our villa a few days, but also walked down the beach to the White Sand restaurant for a change of scenery as you can take your breakfast there as well. We ended up also eating at the White Sand restaurant several nights and food and staff is great.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank timgrubb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AgondaVillas, Manager at Agonda White Sand, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Thank you for your kind words

We are so happy that you had a great time and we hope that you return again.

All the best from the Agonda White Sand Team.

Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews