We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot in Agonda”
Review of Agonda White Sand

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agonda White Sand
Ranked #4 of 61 Specialty Lodging in Agonda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed at one of the 3 Balinese Villas a bit down the beach from the main White Sand cottages and restaurant. Ours was one of the 2 story villas and it was a great view from our deck and a private lounge area. The small staff at the Balinese villas is great - we ate breakfast in our villa a few days, but also walked down the beach to the White Sand restaurant for a change of scenery as you can take your breakfast there as well. We ended up also eating at the White Sand restaurant several nights and food and staff is great.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank timgrubb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AgondaVillas, Manager at Agonda White Sand, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Thank you for your kind words

We are so happy that you had a great time and we hope that you return again.

All the best from the Agonda White Sand Team.

Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (335)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 335 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2013

First of all, thanks to TripAdvisor for helping me find this wonderful place. The place more than full-filled my already heightened expectations from all the 5* reviews on the website. I stayed at Agonda White Sand in Mar'13 for 3 nights. This beautiful place is right on the most serene beach of Goa. The calm and quiet Agonda is a welcome break from the hustle and bustle of the city.Practically you have the whole beach to yourself. No noise, no pollution, no vendors, an absolute bliss and comfort.Cottages are built tastefully and are quite comfortable as well as spacious. Service is impeccable, all the people are quite helpful. Food is great.Will be back next season as well. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kedarbk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AgondaVillas, Manager at Agonda White Sand, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

We are so happy that you had a great short break. Agonda feels like a million miles away from the horns and hustle of a city.

Thank you to you and all the other guests that write reviews as they are the best advert and guide to future guests.

Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed in Agonda White Sands for 3 days. The first impressions after entering the Resort was "WOW"... They have beautiful crafted huts with the best interiors. We were amazed with the quality of room inspite of it being a HUT. The Bathroom shown in website was same and is the best part of the hut. The Staff are very courteous and helpful. The Beach is just a walk away and you can enjoy your meals glaring over the beautiful calm and quit Agonda beach. The Food quality is good but we would like more variety in VEG menu and some more dishes. Most Indians don't visit this part of GOA but if you are coming for a relaxed life will certainly recommend White Sands.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pushkar P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AgondaVillas, Manager at Agonda White Sand, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Thank you for staying with us.

The bathrooms get a lot of attention as this season we made them larger and open-air and finished them with stone and tiles and a white suite. The best part is the blue sky and coconut trees.

As you mentioned all the photographs on the website are taken in the cottages and all our cottages are of the same size and standard.

Our menu is kept small as we believe it is better to focus on the standard and quality of a few items. However I appreciate we must cater for all diets. I too am a veggi and we have recently began to offer more vegetarian options through our specials board.

We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights. We have been travelling in the north of India for the first week of our 3 weeks holiday. Needless to say, we needed a break from the noise and pollution, so it was absolutely perfect that we chose Agonda beach and Agonda White Sand for our relaxation time. The staffs were very friendly and helpful and the food was absolutely fantastic. We were so surprised and delighted by the menu that we didn't go anywhere else to eat. Even if you are staying at other resorts, at least come here for a nice meal. Thanks so much for a wonderful time!
Oh! We do have to mention one thing. Ask for insect repellant incense. We didn't ask and got bitten pretty badly.

Room Tip: Our hut (number 11) was towards the back, away from the beach front. It's away from the restaura...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rose V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AgondaVillas, Manager at Agonda White Sand, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Thank you for staying with us.

I am so happy that you loved this seasons new menu. This is the busiest season we have had in our restaurant. A big thank you to all the kitchen staff.

We have mosquito nets and electric repellents in the cottages and around sunset we walk around the resort with mosquito repelling incense on charcoal we still sometimes get mosquito's around sunset. We do keep a stock of repellent behind the bar and I am sorry we did not offer this to you.

I am also one of those people they find tasty so I tend to wear long sleeves and repellent for an hour around sunset.

Thank you so much for staying with us and I hope to see you next season.
Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Agonda White Sand for 5 nights at the end of February and really enjoyed our stay, if your looking for a bit of luxury in your beach huts in a quiet and relaxing location then this is the place for you!

We found the service to be excellent, all of the staff were really friendly and helpful. The food was absolutely top notch, and a lot of the people that were staying in other places seemed to come here to eat!

As mentioned on the website the water available from the shower is cold but it's VERY refreshing and much needed when
sunbathing in 35 degree heat!!

There are 2 fans available in the hut to keep you cool at night, the electricity is a bit temperamental but it doesn't usually go off for too long... there's a fully charged light available to use though.

All considered I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this place...

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hopkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AgondaVillas, Manager at Agonda White Sand, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write.

So happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We have solar generated hot-water but sometimes it runs out depending on the time of day. That said most guests are happy to have a refreshing shower and we are very happy to get anybody a bucket of hotwater if you ask.

I am sorry but sometimes the power is on and off because Agonda is a village and a coconut palm falling can take out the power. This said it is normal fixed quickly. We have an invertor for back up power that runs a few items such as interenet.

Thank you for the review and we would love you to come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We spent a week at White Sands in February and frankly it's hard to fault the place. You are right on Agonda beach - which is the most pristine beach I've been to in Goa - and its not overly developed (unlike some of the other southern beaches sadly). Almost too good to share the secret...

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AgondaWhiteSand, Owner at Agonda White Sand, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Thank you for your review.

Only one of our cottages directly faces the sea. Most of them have some view of the sea from their private front balcony. The cottages are built on the sand and under the coconut trees amongst tropical foliage. At the front of the property we have sun-loungers and coconut leaf umbrellas so sun worshipers can stare at the sea and soak up the rays.

Most guests request cottage No.1 but we work on a first come first served basis and as a result this cottage is normally gone months in advance.

Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We are five star travellers and booked this location after staying at the Taj Exotica and the Grand Hyatt in south and north Goa.We wanted a low key location but with five star amenities.
I do not wish to be critical as both the manager Mark and the staff there are friendly and helpful.
However to describe the villas as luxury is misleading .We stayed in the Chinese villa which was basically a thatched hut and as basic as you could get it .It reminded us of our trips to Bali 40 years ago.The beach itself is clean but grey sand.Along and behind the beach are crammed hut after hut- shantis which resemble a UN refugee camp.
From earlier promising Trip Advisor reports we were very disappointed.Perhaps it is a haven for Europeans coming out of a viscious winter or for backpackers but certainly not for five star travellers of our generation.We checked out after one night of an intended five day stay

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whalemush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AgondaVillas, Manager at Agonda White Sand, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Thank you for your review.

Agonda Beach has protected status because it is a turtle nesting site. As a result all the resorts on the beach are only able to build temporary structures. We build our villas to the highest standard possible taking into account that we must dismantle the structures before the monsoon each year.

We employ local people from the village who are lovely and hard working and we pay them fairly. As a result we do not offer a 5 star service nor do we advertise so. But we offer a friendly helpful and warm service. We are conscious of the environment so we have installed solar hot water heaters. So we cannot guarantee hot water in the night or when its cloudy.

But our luxury villas have a beautiful view and 5 star mattresses and they are constructed to the highest standard with local re-useable materials.

We recommend our villas to people who do not require 5 star treatment (TV,s, hot baths etc) but those who want a direct sea-view in a beautiful natural, comfortable villa away from the generic luxury of swimming pools and golf courses where you could be in any country.

Agonda village is a true fisherman's village and is simple and rustically beautiful and the local people live life at a slow pace with a smile. I understand that some people want smooth roads and A/c door to door with shopping malls.

This is not Agonda.

I hope Agonda does not become part of the 5 star belt.

Kind regards

Agonda Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agonda hotels
0.4 mi away
The Bay Agonda
The Bay Agonda
#1 of 8 in Agonda
128 reviews
0.2 mi away
Anantra Sea View Resort
0.1 mi away
Om Sai Beach Huts
Om Sai Beach Huts
#1 of 61 in Agonda
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Agonda Cottages
Agonda Cottages
#3 of 61 in Agonda
177 reviews
0.5 mi away
Simrose
Simrose
#2 of 61 in Agonda
263 reviews
0.1 mi away
Agonda Villas
Agonda Villas
#5 of 61 in Agonda
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agonda White Sand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agonda White Sand

Address: Agonda Beach Road, Agonda 403702, India
Location: India > Goa > South Goa District > Agonda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 61 Specialty Lodging in Agonda
Price Range: $88 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agonda White Sand is bringing a touch of luxury to unspoilt Agonda with 12 boutique cottages. Beautifully designed and furnished bedrooms and open-air bathrooms for the magical experience of showering under the stars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Agonda White Sand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agonda White Sand Hotel Agonda
Agonda White Sand Goa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing