We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just Like Heaven!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Agonda White Sand

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Agonda
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Agonda White Sand
Ranked #3 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Agonda
Certificate of Excellence
Indore, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Just Like Heaven!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Stayed here for 4 days in mid Jan '13 with my wife. We travelled for 9 days throughout Goa from Agonda to Baga halting in between at Benaulim. But the best part was our stay at White Sands. The place is built right on the beach and the huts are beautifully built and surrounded by trees and plants. The Service is the best part of the experience. Everyone from the staff, Sonu, Raju, Shruti were very friendly and we actually had a great time chatting with them, it was like making new friends. Shaan, the co-owner of the place is an amazing person and very helpful. On our anniversary, we asked for a cake which they didn't have, Shaan took his motorcycle and specially brought us a wonderful tart cake and made our day so much more special.

The food is the next best thing in White Sands. The menu is western oriented but the taste is excellent. Everything is prepared Hot and fresh. Not much in Vegetarian options, but that's not what you eat in Goa!

The Agonda beach is quite serene and peaceful. Its the best beach in Goa for relaxing and if you want to have some fun Palolem beach is a beautiful 15 mins drive away from Agonda.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mayank25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AgondaVillas, Manager at Agonda White Sand, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Thank you for staying with us.

We are happy you loved the food. Most of our guests want fish and steak etc and we try and keep the menu at a manageable size. There are vegetarian meals but appreciate not many as a result we will add some more vegetarian options via our specials board.

Food is a major part of most peoples holidays and we are so happy to be gaining a great reputation for our modern and delicious menu this season.

Keep well and hopefully see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    69
    11
    1
    2
See reviews for
34
216
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

This place is simply faultless. From check in to check out the service was impeccable, the value for money was second to none. Agonda White Sands stands out from the of the larger international chain hotels.

I travelled to Goa in November 2012 on honeymoon. Having spent the first few days in Delhi, Jaipur and Agra; Agonda White Sands provided the must needed chill out opportunity! We stayed in the Chinese Beachfront Villa which was beautiful. Hot water, fully functioning electricity and a tasty in room breakfast. Within walking distance (a long the beautifully clean beach) the main hotel offered an extensive menu of different foods ranging from smoked salmon and scrambled eggs on toast to the typical Goan curries. The fillet steak, skinny chips and buttered broccoli was delicious so much so that my husband had it every night we stayed (3 nights in total) and at £5 why not! There is a huge cocktail list and the banana daquiri was perfect! Huge enjoyment sat watching the sunset with the sand between our toes at the bar!

Agonda provides the perfect balance of the real Goa - cows on the beach, real Goan character without the irritation of being harassed by folk selling their wears whilst also providing the element of home cooked food and international options.

Shaan the manager was the most hospitable host and nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff. We also had a look at the beach bungalows in the main part of the hotel which were equally as well equipped as our beachfront villa.

If you are looking for low cost luxury, a beautiful beach and an international food menu this is your place. On leaving Agonda White Sands we stayed at The Leela, Goa a 5* resort, we wish we had stayed longer at Agonda White Sands!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmyMcD1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AgondaVillas, Manager at Agonda White Sand, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you for such a great review. It was a pleasure to meet you.

We love what we do and we put our heart and thought into the place as we appreciate that a persons holiday is very precious. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay.

All the best from the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights with our 2 little kids. The huts were basic, but very cute and the attached shower room is nicely designed. There is no hot water but the staff is very helpful to bring a big bucket with warm water, the kids loved this Indian experience as much as we did. Beach towels, beach toys, kayak are provided.
Had breakfast,lunch and dinner every day on site, the food is great and breakfast is quite western oriented. The fresh juices where excellent.

Staff is extremely friendly, relaxed and helpful!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kelly k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AgondaVillas, Manager at Agonda White Sand, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
So happy you had a great holiday.

Hopefully see you next year.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in November, amazing staff, amazing location, and great food! Utter paradise. Only wish we could have stayed longer. Sonu and Shan were especially accommodating and extremely helpful!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simondo8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AgondaVillas, Manager at Agonda White Sand, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Happy that you had such a good time.

Thank you for such a great review. It was a pleasure to meet you.

We love what we do and we put our heart and thought into the place as we appreciate that a persons holiday is very precious. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay.


Thank you for your review. Warm relaxed regards from us all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights in December just before Xmas and I can honestly say that Agonda White Sands is one of the best places I have ever stayed. The location is beautiful and the huts, restaurant and lounging areas are very much in tune with the whole feel of Agonda., i.e. really tranquil, very clean, picturesque and also great food! The huts are basic in the sense that they simply have a nice large comfortable bed, wardrobe, electricity, a security safe, and really nice shower/toilet room - but are really tastefully furnished. As such I'd almost describe them as no frills luxury. The cold water shower doesn't sound appealing when sat in the UK but given the temperature (30 degree+ every day) it was actually really refreshing (and I hate the cold!). The staff were great really friendly, welcoming and very helpful. They made you feel very welcome without being fussy. The food is brilliant. We were nervous about Goa as a friend had been and got very ill in Candolim. However, we had no concerns at Agonda White Sands. The fish, daal, naans, curry, museli/fruit breakfasts and fresh milk shakes are recommended! There is plenty of relaxing space to chill on the tables and sun loungers during the day and into the late pm and then the beach is literally on the door step. We went during peak season but it was still very quiet in comparison to the beaches of Turkey, Greece etc. The sunsets are amazing and we swam into the evening. We actually spent 3 nights before hand in Candolim and Agonda is a different class - far cleaner and more beautiful. I'd highly recommend for families, couples old and young and travellers alike. Thanks very much to all of the staff and we will hopefully be back next year.

Room Tip: Maybe go for a room 2 back from the front. We stayed at the very front and in a hut a few meters bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulkol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AgondaVillas, Manager at Agonda White Sand, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Thank you for the review. I love the term "No Frills Luxury".

Its sums up what we are aiming for. The cottages are clean and very comfortable whilst at the same time we build them out of natural locally sourced materials and build them so that they look like coco huts. Our guests come for the beach hut look and a simply relaxed holiday. We go to the highest standard we can whilst building temporary structures.

Agonda is a protected beach as it is a Turtle beach where they come to lay their eggs. So we take down our cottages at the end of the season for this reason and the monsoon and the beach returns to its untouched look.

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and we hope to see you again.

Kind regards from all the White Sand team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

We had 3 beach facing bungalows for 12 nights for the Christmas, New Year period, from the moment we arrived we were treated superbly. We enjoyed many tasty meals in the lovely garden restaurant including a lovely barbecue expertly cooked by Sonny. The bungalows are kept clean by the two smiling maids daily, and the guys working the bar are both efficient and very friendly.
Having looked at all the available bungalows in Agonda , in my opinion White Sands offers the nicest setting amongst the palms and the most pleasant environment for enjoying an evening drink or meal.
I would not hesitate to return to White Sands Agonda.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lippy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AgondaVillas, Manager at Agonda White Sand, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

There is not a lot I can add to your comments. I will certainly pass on your thanks to all staff in the team.

I hope that we get to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

This is a beautiful property by the sea in Agonda , South Goa. Like the management, the staff is very friendly and cordial. I felt I could have stayed there forever. The serenity of the quiet beach remains with you. The music is low and lights, dim--just the ingredients for a rejuvenating vacation overlooking the sea.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arun C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AgondaVillas, Manager at Agonda White Sand, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you for your kind words

We are so happy that you had a great time and we hope that you return again.

All the best from the Agonda White Sand Team.

Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agonda hotels
0.4 mi away
The Bay Agonda
The Bay Agonda
#1 of 7 in Agonda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.1 mi away
Om Sai Beach Huts
Om Sai Beach Huts
#1 of 62 in Agonda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
0.5 mi away
Simrose
Simrose
#2 of 62 in Agonda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Dunhill Beach Resort
Dunhill Beach Resort
#2 of 7 in Agonda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.1 mi away
Agonda Villas
Agonda Villas
#5 of 62 in Agonda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.6 mi away
H2O Agonda
H2O Agonda
#5 of 32 in Agonda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agonda White Sand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agonda White Sand

Property: Agonda White Sand
Address: Agonda Beach Road, Agonda 403702, India
Location: India > Goa > Agonda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Agonda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agonda White Sand is bringing a touch of luxury to unspoilt Agonda with 12 boutique cottages. Beautifully designed and furnished bedrooms and open-air bathrooms for the magical experience of showering under the stars. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Agonda White Sand Hotel Agonda
Agonda White Sand Goa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing