We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay in Agonda”
Review of Agonda White Sand

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agonda White Sand
Ranked #4 of 61 Specialty Lodging in Agonda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights in December just before Xmas and I can honestly say that Agonda White Sands is one of the best places I have ever stayed. The location is beautiful and the huts, restaurant and lounging areas are very much in tune with the whole feel of Agonda., i.e. really tranquil, very clean, picturesque and also great food! The huts are basic in the sense that they simply have a nice large comfortable bed, wardrobe, electricity, a security safe, and really nice shower/toilet room - but are really tastefully furnished. As such I'd almost describe them as no frills luxury. The cold water shower doesn't sound appealing when sat in the UK but given the temperature (30 degree+ every day) it was actually really refreshing (and I hate the cold!). The staff were great really friendly, welcoming and very helpful. They made you feel very welcome without being fussy. The food is brilliant. We were nervous about Goa as a friend had been and got very ill in Candolim. However, we had no concerns at Agonda White Sands. The fish, daal, naans, curry, museli/fruit breakfasts and fresh milk shakes are recommended! There is plenty of relaxing space to chill on the tables and sun loungers during the day and into the late pm and then the beach is literally on the door step. We went during peak season but it was still very quiet in comparison to the beaches of Turkey, Greece etc. The sunsets are amazing and we swam into the evening. We actually spent 3 nights before hand in Candolim and Agonda is a different class - far cleaner and more beautiful. I'd highly recommend for families, couples old and young and travellers alike. Thanks very much to all of the staff and we will hopefully be back next year.

Room Tip: Maybe go for a room 2 back from the front. We stayed at the very front and in a hut a few meters bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paulkol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AgondaVillas, Manager at Agonda White Sand, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2013

Thank you for the review. I love the term "No Frills Luxury".

Its sums up what we are aiming for. The cottages are clean and very comfortable whilst at the same time we build them out of natural locally sourced materials and build them so that they look like coco huts. Our guests come for the beach hut look and a simply relaxed holiday. We go to the highest standard we can whilst building temporary structures.

Agonda is a protected beach as it is a Turtle beach where they come to lay their eggs. So we take down our cottages at the end of the season for this reason and the monsoon and the beach returns to its untouched look.

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and we hope to see you again.

Kind regards from all the White Sand team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (334)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 334 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

We had 3 beach facing bungalows for 12 nights for the Christmas, New Year period, from the moment we arrived we were treated superbly. We enjoyed many tasty meals in the lovely garden restaurant including a lovely barbecue expertly cooked by Sonny. The bungalows are kept clean by the two smiling maids daily, and the guys working the bar are both efficient and very friendly.
Having looked at all the available bungalows in Agonda , in my opinion White Sands offers the nicest setting amongst the palms and the most pleasant environment for enjoying an evening drink or meal.
I would not hesitate to return to White Sands Agonda.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lippy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AgondaVillas, Manager at Agonda White Sand, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

There is not a lot I can add to your comments. I will certainly pass on your thanks to all staff in the team.

I hope that we get to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

This is a beautiful property by the sea in Agonda , South Goa. Like the management, the staff is very friendly and cordial. I felt I could have stayed there forever. The serenity of the quiet beach remains with you. The music is low and lights, dim--just the ingredients for a rejuvenating vacation overlooking the sea.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Arun C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AgondaVillas, Manager at Agonda White Sand, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Thank you for your kind words

We are so happy that you had a great time and we hope that you return again.

All the best from the Agonda White Sand Team.

Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

was again at white sands for a few days this month and was very very pleasantly surprised to see the improvements that shaan and aneesh and their team have done there...the cottages have had a fabulous facelift with comfortable deep mattresses...good quality soft furnishing..and still retain that fantastic unbeatable beach feeling with the sounds of the waves crashing when i was deep in my sleep..a very special place
but
the new bathroooms are wow...
just great
large..and very tastefully done...
so once again ...

i give my thumbs up and top marks
for this finely run place ...the best in agonda
well done guys

keep up the great work
and the very very best to you with your progress...
p.s. also went to have a look at their special villas and yes they are..special...indeed..the bathrooms there are ...larger than a normal room...which in warm goa is plain luxury

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank anooplovesyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AgondaVillas, Manager at Agonda White Sand, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Happy that you had such a good time.

Thank you for such a great review. It was a pleasure to meet you.

We love what we do and we put our heart and thought into the place as we appreciate that a persons holiday is very precious. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay.


Thank you for your review. Warm relaxed regards from us all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We arrived at Agonda after 6 weeks of travelling in North India. It was like arriving in a little piece of heaven. The camp is right on the beautiful beach just metres from the water. Agonda beach is about 3 km long and is golden sand with palm trees and jungle behind. The beach is not crammed with camps but nicely spaced out without feeling that every piece of sand is being used for tourists. There area number of camps with restaurants all the way down however to provide loads of options fora drink of food.
The camp itself is lovely and peaceful. Our hut was very spacious and had a good mosquito net over the bed. The bathroom was definitely the star however. It was lIke a beautiful hotel bathroom, but open air. The shower was lovely although there is no hot water, we didn't need it as it was so warm. I think the staff can provide a bucket in the morning if you prefer hot showers. There is a huge mirror and it looks just like it does in the photo on their website. The staff are friendly, helpful and happy.
Each hut had a little balcony out the front to relax on which overlooked the restaurant/bar area. I thought it may have been a bit noisy at night but the resort really is relaxing and not the big party type so we never had any issues, the only noise was the sounds of the breaking waves on the beach.
The food in the restaurant is delicious, fresh and of good quality with a good selection between Indian or western meals.
This is a little more expensive than other huts in south Goa but definitely worth paying if you are looking for a relaxing beach break. We are a couple in mid-30's and this was a perfect spot! I would definitely recommend this and Agonda beach to anyone looking to chill out after the craziness of north India!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
4  Thank BollyBroke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AgondaVillas, Manager at Agonda White Sand, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Thank you for your kind words.

We are very happy that you had a great time and we would love to see you again.

Warm regards from all the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Stayed with my girlfriend at the Agonda White Sand for 4 days em early December after a 2 weeks travel throught Rajasthan. Set in a beautiful part of Agonda Beach, the hotel was a paradise. The rooms are excelent with a big and confortable bed, the bathroom seems like your own private garden and the beach is just a step away.
All the hotel staff is exemplar, always with a smile on their face. They are an essential part of what make this an excellent hotel. Another excellent part of the Agonda White Sand is it´s fantastic restaurant. We tried most of the indian and goan dishes on the menu and every dish was tasty and to cry for more.
In summary, the best days of our trip to India, as well as the best food. We were sorry to have to leave, but will return for sure.

Room Tip: All rooms have the same configuration. Room nearer the beach have a little less privacy as they are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mvmarques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AgondaVillas, Manager at Agonda White Sand, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write. It was great to meet you. We wish you every happiness in the future.

I hope that we get to see you again.

Regards from the whole team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

We were in Agonda white sand in November, it was one of the best places we had our vacation. The rooms were clean and big enough, huge bathroom with colourful fish in the pond, which looks beautiful..... Wow. The location is amazing for the prefect sunset and view is just divine.... We also stayed in Agonda Villas and is fantastic view from the bed itself..... They made these villas so Eco- friendly that its unbelievable. All the plants and trees were well taken care of, so it's look green and healthy. We had our breakfast, lunch and dinner in their restaurant, great food by the way, can't stop eating.... For sure I do admit and that I gained 4kgs.....ha ha ...

Thanks to Aneesh and Shaan, as they made our time in Goa a perfect vacation and will be recommending my friends to visit Agonda White Sand.... Also to mention is Sonu, one of the staff member, he was so helpful as he should make us smile all the time with jokes and has a great humour.

Great service guys and hats off to your warmth and caring relation with us. Thanks

Ashwin Shetty (UK)

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Ashwin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AgondaVillas, Manager at Agonda White Sand, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Thank you for writing a review and choosing to stay with us.

We are so happy that you had a great time and we hope to see you again.

Best wishes from all the Agonda White Sand team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agonda hotels
0.4 mi away
The Bay Agonda
The Bay Agonda
#1 of 8 in Agonda
128 reviews
0.2 mi away
Anantra Sea View Resort
1.0 mi away
Agonda Cottages
Agonda Cottages
#3 of 61 in Agonda
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Om Sai Beach Huts
Om Sai Beach Huts
#1 of 61 in Agonda
498 reviews
0.5 mi away
Simrose
Simrose
#2 of 61 in Agonda
263 reviews
0.1 mi away
Agonda Villas
Agonda Villas
#5 of 61 in Agonda
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agonda White Sand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agonda White Sand

Address: Agonda Beach Road, Agonda 403702, India
Location: India > Goa > South Goa District > Agonda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 61 Specialty Lodging in Agonda
Price Range: $88 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agonda White Sand is bringing a touch of luxury to unspoilt Agonda with 12 boutique cottages. Beautifully designed and furnished bedrooms and open-air bathrooms for the magical experience of showering under the stars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Agonda White Sand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agonda White Sand Hotel Agonda
Agonda White Sand Goa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing