We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The most magical place we experienced in India”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Romance Beach Huts

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Romance Beach Huts
Ranked #14 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Agonda
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The most magical place we experienced in India”
Reviewed May 13, 2011

This place is simply amazing. Spacious, clean, comfortable and beautiful huts, directly facing the sea. The balcony is HUGE, and just incredible place to lie in a hammock in the late evening, and hear the waves. The huts are built very smart, without touching the ground, so it is never problems with the insects there (which is so typical for India). The place is family run, and the hosts, Abul and Sarah, are very friendly and helpful. The atmosphere is very relaxed and laid back. The kitchen is very clean. Food can be ordered a day before- then the family buys the freshest seafood on the marked, and prepares it in an excellent way! Definitely the best place of all I have seen in India (and I have been visiting a big part of the country at 70 days), We had an unforgettable time here. Would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gitaristen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    19
    4
    3
    6
See reviews for
21
41
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2011

With a location directly on the gorgeous Agonda beach, these beautifully decorated (inside and out) huts are indeed a romantic place to stay. They have hammocks as well! Twice the size as other huts I've stayed in, with effectively two bedrooms, and a large, simple but functional and clean bathroom, they are quite luxurious in the world of beach huts! As we stayed towards the end of the season, one night there was a massive downpour and the electricity went out. Yet the inside stayed dry and the necessity for candles only added to the atmosphere. The one minor improvement I would suggest is better mosquito protection --- part of the timber frame where it meets the roof is purposely left open --- but this could easily be covered with gauze or nets. Anyway, it's a great choice in Agonda. Top tip: go to Shanti next door for great food, cocktails and a chilled out atmosphere! I'm a big fan.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank the_real_miu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2011

We had an excellent time here, Abul and Sarah are amazing hosts, very helpfull and looked after us really well, very relaxed, and beautiful beach huts.

Room Tip: great huts, quiet, and the best part of the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank markstst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2011

We found Romance huts once in Agonda and stayed there for 2 nights on a second visit (although I really wish it could have been longer). The size of their huts is larger than your average (had a second living space with a single bed within the same hut) and the spaces are very clean. The bathroom is large and the interior tastefully and beautifully decorated. All the huts have sea view from what I could see (the second row being raised above the front one). We stayed in one of the front ones (green hut) and loved it (especially chilling in the outside balcony space with hammock and chairs to watch sunset..) The beach is literally on your doorstep which is fantastic. The only minor downsides were the gaps between the wooden parts because of the way the bungalows are assembled which did let in more mosquitoes than we expected (although there are mosquitoes nets on all beds so not a real issue when sleeping) and lack of restaurant (although it is very easy to pop by Shanti right next door and they do amazing grub). The owners are very friendly and helpful and overall I would definitely go back and highly recommend. :)

Room Tip: Probably the front row huts are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Arianna_Mi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2011

Charming and colourfull bungalows in front of the sea, perfect to relax while watching the sunset on the amazing beach of Agonda.
The furnitures are good, the bed not too hard (which is good regarding India standards), and the hamac on the balcony ... loved it ! No breakfast was provided during our stay. We spent 3 night there and would definitely recommend this place to friends and relatives.
Also a great restaurant next door, with a very welcoming owner. Good for the breakfast ;)

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djoetgridou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2011

I had been checking out several beach huts arriving in Agonda but when I got to Romance Coco Huts I knew it was the one. You`ll have to be willing to pay a bit more than what you would pay for most of the other huts in the area but in return you will receive a spacious beach view bungalow in lovely lively colours, nicely decorated, attached large bathroom with shower and toilet, nice clean sheets, fan, mosquito net (no holes in it! :-)), a small terrace with 2 chairs and one hammock!, a great view, peace and quiet and a warm, welcoming family! The huts have an additional small nice room for one person. In this price range I don`t think you`ll be able to find better than this!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 16, 2010

Although we were reluctant to write a review about Romance (because selfishly we don't want it to become too well-known and over crowded), we felt we must.

This was my 3rd trip to Agona (second to Romance) and my boyfriend's second time to Agonda (first to Romance). From general helpfulness eg. lending cotton and thread for sewing, to overwhelming generosity and friendliness, Sarah and family really and truely make your stay one to remember.

As both the cleanest and smartest huts on the beach, you will almost feel lucky to be returning to Romance at the end of each evening!

We cannot praise this place enough, we stayed for two weeks and it honestly felt like a home away from home.

You must go to fully appreciate and enjoy but remember, only tell a select few!

Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank hattie_collins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agonda hotels
0.2 mi away
Om Sai Beach Huts
Om Sai Beach Huts
#1 of 62 in Agonda
486 reviews
0.1 mi away
Duck & Chill
Duck & Chill
#13 of 62 in Agonda
133 reviews
1.0 mi away
Agonda Waves
Agonda Waves
#25 of 62 in Agonda
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Divine Beach Resort
Divine Beach Resort
#9 of 32 in Agonda
38 reviews
0.6 mi away
Madhu Coconut Beach Huts
0.8 mi away
Simrose
Simrose
#2 of 62 in Agonda
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romance Beach Huts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romance Beach Huts

Property: Romance Beach Huts
Address: Right Of St Annes Church, Agonda 403702, India
Location: India > Goa > Agonda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Agonda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romance Beach Huts are different from the rest of the beach huts on Agonda Beach. They are built 6.5 ft above ground. It has 12 colourful beach bungalows with attached toilet & shower. About sea facing romance has maximum sea facing beach huts on whole of Agonda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Romance Beach Huts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romance Beach Huts Agonda, Goa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing