We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb cocktails”
Review of Kopi Desa

Kopi Desa
Ranked #16 of 84 Restaurants in Agonda
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $250 - $1,000
Description: Located in the beautiful fishing village of Agonda, in South Goa, Kopi Desa serves a modern European menu from our executive chef Daniel. Highlights include his homemade pastas,daily fresh baked bread, and slow roasted meats. Open from breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Restaurant details
Description: Located in the beautiful fishing village of Agonda, in South Goa, Kopi Desa serves a modern European menu from our executive chef Daniel. Highlights include his homemade pastas,daily fresh baked bread, and slow roasted meats. Open from breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Reviewed February 11, 2019

We came across kopi desa while out exploring aganda. We stopped and had a cocktail at this road side bar/restaurant and enjoyed it so much it became an every day event.the strawberry dakari was excellent.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank frankryan939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 33 of 147 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2019 via mobile

I’ve been to the restaurant a number of times now and the standard has remained high each time. I had the best pulled pork burger with bbq sauce in my life here! Great small tapas plates for sharing and extensive cocktail menu. Fun atmosphere, would highly recommend this place to anyone.

Date of visit: February 2019
2  Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2019

Having a real Chef de Cuisine, named Dan being a restaurateur myself for 30 years and 3 generations, is a Gift today, which you should handle with care and respect.. Problem is his partners don't have a clue about food, the times it takes to choose, buy, prepare and dress finally the plate in a professional way as Dan does... with LOVE
Worse insult you can do to your Chef is to tell him that after the first year where the food was really great is to tell him that he has to make Pizza's and Hamburgers the second season.. Best example of how to sink your ship, which is really nice though, a lot of work has been done to create this place.. Saving some money and bringing in Ideas to open your own restaurant doesn't mean that you know what you're doing.
Putting a big sign board above your kitchen saying 'please like us on FB' is shameful and proves for me that apart from Dan, and a few other bar and maybe kitchen staff members hare holding this place together. Dan you deserve a much better place brother, knowing that the clientele is mostly British and you know what I'm talking about.. You're La Classe but not born to cook for La Masse.. And yes filthy bathroom patrons=Doubt if all the rest is clean... Have a nice day anyway..

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank KellyWaiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewsaye76, Owner at Kopi Desa, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2019

Hi Kelly
I have to agree that Dan's food is without a doubt the best in South Goa, and the pizzas he suggested putting on, including the research and work he did in the UK in the summer certainly paid off...1200 pizzas a month is certainly atestament to his passion & love of food...
As for hamburgers?? Its quite obvious that you have never visited Kopi Desa, as you would know we don't serve these....
And a chef with 30 years experience? Well then you would know the importance of social media
and how common it is for restaurants to advertise their Facebook/instagram/website and TripAdvisor pages
As for our bathrooms..yes on our very busy live music nights it is very difficult to get into them to clean, something we are trying to improve....as for cleanliness....because Dan is a professional chef he trains his kitchen team to European standard, and without doubt his kitchen is the cleanest and staff the most highly trained in the area.
If you would like to bring these points up in person rather that hiding behind the Internet I'd be more than happy to meet you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2019

At This lively road side bar and restaurant your nearest companion can be a cow. The staff are friendly and make some great mocktails and cocktails . We had the sour dough pizzas which are made in a large pizza oven. They were very tasty.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pielle2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2019 via mobile

What a great place this is! Roadside bar and inside restaurant, altogether serving cocktails, spirits, wines & beers, pizzas, burgers and other main meals. Always busy and happening! The pizzas are cooked in a pizza oven and are divine. You could spend a whole evening here chatting to other guests and the time just flies by. The staff are very jolly and friendly too.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank 681judiem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kopi Desa also viewed

Agonda, South Goa District
Agonda, South Goa District
 
Agonda, South Goa District
Agonda, South Goa District
 
Canacona, South Goa District
Agonda, South Goa District
 

Been to Kopi Desa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing