We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's the best choice!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Sofia

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sucevita
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Sofia
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sucevita
Iasi, Romania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“It's the best choice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

If you look the best place for a good trip or a best hollyday in Moldavia(the romanian part), exist a place ... Sucevita. Here, with a old monastery, the land is full with history and beauty old places. This hotel - Sofia - have everrithing you need. A big Restaurant with 3 floor, a big pool, sauna, jacuzzi, and massage, a big place with traditional grill - and good old wines! For gentlemans is the best place to drink a cup with red wine, and for lady to have satisfaction after satisfaction !

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank consthantine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    10
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
11
12
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

I'm very close to Sofia Hotel & Restaurant! It is the place where my wife and I had our wedding! It is a wonder place! The food and service from Sofia persuaded us to rent it for the most important event from our lives! There aren't too many things to say, except one: if you want a restaurant and a hotel which are close to perfection, then you should go for it! 4* are not 5* - true, but the price was very good and one over another I would go for Sofia once again. Every time we return to Romania we don't hesitate to visit Sucevita and Sofia and to eat there.

Room Tip: Chose a suite instead of a normal room. The price is not that high compared to a normal room, but yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BogdanH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
255 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

We used this hotel as more of a motel which was a shame as this is a nice place with good recreational facilities like pool, sauna & massage.
Rooms are good sized, nice shower & balcony / terrace area.
We ate a good dinner there as not much around in Sucevita. Not much English spoken but we were fine.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve_Amy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2011

During a week long trip to Romania last summer, my husband and I stayed at the Hotel Sofia for two nights. That portion of the trip was our favorite, both because that area of Romania was so lovely and also because we enjoyed the hotel so much. Our room was loft-style, which meant we had a little set of stairs that went up to a more private sleeping area. This turned out to be very nice, not only because it was just fun and different, but because my husband had to do some work one night so he was able to stay downstairs and get his work done while I had a quiet and dark place to sleep, uninterrupted by his being awake and working. The hotel restaurant was another highlight of our stay there. We ate outside on a deck right next to the creek and surrounded by the woods, and it was quiet and peaceful and beautiful. The food was truly some of the best that we had during our whole trip, we thought it was just delicious. I highly recommend the beef soup! Additionally, the staff was very accommodating and helpful - we underpacked a little and needed to do some laundry, and the maids very sweetly did a load of laundry for us, all washed and folded, and they wouldn't even accept any payment for it. I think Hotel Sofia was a great place to stay, and I really do hope we will be back again next summer.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darcy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
201 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2010

located in the woods with a brook running through the middle of the garden. the building is interesting and well integrated into the landscape. the indoor pool is nice, but its use by children with no adults around to enforce the rules of civility that makes its use may be uncomfortable. breakfast is very poor in quantity and quality. restaurant service has some quality, but sometimes is slow. when the hotel is busy with weddings it becomes a bit unpleasant. the staff is a generally friendly.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alsansil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2010

Good mark considering it's location, surrounded by forest, between mountains. I believe that it is one of the best hotels in Suceava area, Romania. It is a starting point to all the significant Moldavian monasteries. You can enjoy the traditional food along with the international cuisine dishes.
We are looking forward to go there again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RomaniaDelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toledo
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2009

Very far from the city, and dificult to find.
It has sauna and indoor swimming pool.
the restaurant is OK.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank felipeToledo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sucevita
1.0 mi away
Popas Turistic Bucovina
Popas Turistic Bucovina
#1 of 3 in Sucevita
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
12.8 mi away
The Gerald's Hotel
The Gerald's Hotel
#1 of 2 in Radauti
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
17.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Bucovina-Club De Munte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Eden Hotel and Bungalows
Eden Hotel and Bungalows
#1 of 2 in Campulung Moldovenesc
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
16.9 mi away
Hilde's Residence
Hilde's Residence
#1 of 35 in Gura Humorului
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pensiunea Poiana de Vis
Pensiunea Poiana de Vis
#4 of 13 in Sucevita
5.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sofia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sofia

Property: Hotel Sofia
Address: Poiana Marului nr 355A, Sucevita 727510, Romania
Location: Romania > Northeast Romania > Suceava County > Sucevita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sucevita
Number of rooms: 28

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing