We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Medieval restaurant near a UNESCO monument”

Unglerus Medieval Restuarant
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Biertan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Romanian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Restaurant next to the Biertan fortified church, listed as a Unesco World Heritage site.
Romania
Level 6 Contributor
310 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Medieval restaurant near a UNESCO monument”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

After visiting Biertan fortified church (a world UNESCCO monument), you can enjoy a good meal at the medieval restaurant in the square.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank CarpatBike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    37
    9
    3
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jonkoping, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excelent Romanian food”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

This restaurant is one of the best places we found to test Romanian food. Historical food is one of my main interests and the menu didn’t have that much of that. On the other hand is Romanian food not so far from medieval food either.
The prices are reasonable and the service is fast, friendly and correct.
Highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Walderik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level 5 Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent local food with a twist :)”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Restaurant located against the very walls of the castle, with a nice touch in medieval decorations and a small terrace in the shade outside, we liked: fast service, nice staff, low price.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Simona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Ritz
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Don't hesitate”
Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

Good food, had an excellent salad with interesting creamy dressing, maybe yogurt but not too tart. Service was friendly and efficient, and in spite of the warning on the menu about fresh cooked food taking 30-45 min, ours arrived much more promptly.

A very enjoyable lunch break while visiting fortified churches.

    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank A_Silver_Teapot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, England
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good value restaurant sited in a lovely area”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We were on a guided tour of Romania and stopped at the lovely Biertan as part of our visit. The Unglerus Medieval Restaurant is close to the fortified church, so it was a convenient stop for our lunch. At first glance the place seemed rather theatrical to us and we didn't expect much. However, we were impressed by the tasty meat soup and the pudding that we had. The pudding was a type of Romanian cheesecake (our guide told us it's called 'Brasoviana', but am not sure of the spelling), and that was a highlight for us.
The place was clean and staff were courteous. When we were there in May 2012, we thought that the restaurant was inexpensive by European standards. If I went to Biertan again, I would go back to this restaurant.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbug_4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Unglerus Medieval Restuarant also viewed

Medias, Sibiu County
Medias, Sibiu County
 
Dumbraveni, Sibiu County
Medias, Sibiu County
 
Medias, Sibiu County
 

Been to Unglerus Medieval Restuarant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing