We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fantastic!!! 5star treatment from start to finish with Untravelled Paths”
Review of Ice Hotel Romania

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ice Hotel Romania
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fagaras
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 21, 2011

Europes hidden gem!! The company we booked with were fantastic [booking process appears a bit untidy but don't let that put you off]. All the hotels, restaurant recommendations and staff were superb. We loved it so much we got engaged at the Ice Hotel Chapel - Untravelled Paths made the whole experience so special we're even considering booking our honeymoon with them!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Desjarde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (309)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

282 - 288 of 309 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2011

My Mum said to me last year "I've always wanted to stay in an Ice Hotel". "What for?" I replied. But before I knew it we were on the internet, and having dismissed hugely expensive ice hotels in Sweden we came across the Untravelled Paths website. The package they offer is superb value for money. We stayed the first night in Bucharest then set off for Bran Castle, an amazing building that we enjoyed exploring. Then off to Rasnov fortress and on to Brasov. Cristina the local manager is simply fantastic, friendly helpful and knowledgable. You can relax and enjoy seeing Romania with no stress of having to drive yourself on mountain roads. Everything about the Balea Lac resort we enjoyed. The cable car up afforded stunning views of the mountains and we could see the snow covered road that Cristina had told us the Top Gear guys had voted the most amazing road in the world! My Mum is in her 60s, but we spent 4 hours outside in the resort exploring, climbing up to see the view across the valley below, snowmobiling (she soon stopped bothering to tell me to slow down!), sledging, and enjoying the Ice Church and Ice Hotel. I had no idea what to expect of the trip, as mentioned it was Mum's idea not mine, but I am so glad that I went and had this memorable and amazing experience. The ice sculptures in the church and hotel are incredible. Each room in the hotel is different, and we chose one with an ice fireplace and seat! We chose to eat the set menu in the hotel, which I would highly recommend. It was minus 2.5 in there, but with enough to drink I slept rather well! On the last day you go to Sibiu, a picturesque town before returning to Bucharest for the final night. Without stating the obvious, be sure to take enough warm clothes and layers and you will have an incredible time, one you will never forget. It would be very hard to visit Balea Lac under your own steam so I would definitely book with Untravelled Paths. Highly recommended.

Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
2  Thank JTALondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2010

The hotel was a pleasant and unexpected surprise. We've travelled there during the last weekend of August and stayed in the new building. Rooms are clean, breakfast is excellent and people there are all very helpful and nice. The only thing we didn't like was that the rooms were a bit too small.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bellaela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2010

wonderful 5 days in Romania,starting with the Rembrandt Hotel in Bucharest ,great location , then the trip to Bran Castle in Translyvania (Draculas Castle )then overnight in Braslov, another great Hotel (Bella Musica )then into the mountains for 1 night in the Ice Hotel at Balea Lac ,the cable car ride to the |ceHotel is spectacular , great food , everything taken care of by the great team led by Christina , the tour is 4 nights but we had an extra night in Bucharest to explore the city , The company we travelled with is called Untravelled Paths they where very good , certainly recommend

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mickyj66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2010

Travelled to the ice hotel in Romania with a large group of friends which was organised through 'Untravelled Path Ltd' The service was fantastic and the people were very friendly and hospitable. The organisers of Untravelled Paths were second to none and accomodated our every needs. Obviously it is a very cold place to go but if you go well prepared it will be an experience you will never forget! Once in a lifetime opportunity! Highly recommended and great value for money!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank penny0505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2010

I recently traveled with a large group of friends to Romania with the main purpose to stay in the Ice Hotel. It was definitely a once in a lifetime opportunity which exceeded my expectations and if you have the opportunity to experience then DO IT!!!

Our stay in the Ice Hotel was organised through a company called 'Untravelled Paths' who made getting to/from the ice hotel as easy as possible, luckily for us because there is no way we would have been able to get there ourselves being so secluded and difficult to get there with no public transport options. But this also added to the beauty of it and making this surreal experience so amazing!

The first day we arrived in the afternoon and were unable to take the cable car due to adverse weather (which apparently was a first for visitors to the ice hotel, just our luck!) but it worked out perfectly in the end as we just spent the night in the chalet near the cable car station and went up first thing the next morning. Which meant we got to spend the entire day doing activities - snowmobiling which was heaps of fun (highly recommend), sledging and tobogganing. There was lots of snow to play in and we just popped back into the chalet regularly to warm up. The meals there were very cheap and although the staff couldn't speak much english (they spoke much better english than we could romanian) they were very helpful and accommodating.

James and Christina, the reps from Untravelled Paths, were always available for us to ask questions and Christina was especially helpful with the language barrier we encountered when it came to ordering food for some of the people in our group who were vegetarians and gluten intolerant.

The Ice Hotel itself was amazing! There are 10 rooms (sleeping 2ppl in each) and a bar. We had dinner in the ice hotel which was delicious and consisted of an entree, soup, main and dessert. All of the bedding was provided including sleeping bags and blankets which was all we needed. I had a surprisingly good nights sleep, well better than expected anyway (which may have had something to do with the partying from the night before and very little sleep) but the worst part was getting out of the super warm sleeping bag the next morning...

All in all, this has been the best travel experience I have ever had. I would highly recommend the Balea Lac Ice Hotel and make sure you explore Romania itself while you are there. That would be my only regret from this trip, not getting to see much else. We stayed a night in Brasov but didn't have much time to explore and we had a short lunch stop in Sibu but definitely would like to go back and spend more time in these places.

If you're thinking about going, stop thinking and just DO IT! Untravelled Paths is definitely the company to go through, they will take all the hassle out of the organising so you can just enjoy everything the Ice Hotel and Romania has to offer! ENJOY THE EXPERIENCE!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank goey17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2010

Untravelled Paths... what can I say - 7 aussies and 1 saffa (all girls) who couldn't(and still cant) speak a word of Romanian, who love to moan about everything, and who only realised once we were having dinner in the ice hotel that none of us actually even LIKE the cold... the group included a vegetarian and a gluten intolerant (weirdo- as she was affectionately labeled) ...... After abit of research we found Untravelled Paths online- James organised the perfect trip for us, and accompanied us up to the hotel(lets be honest 8 girls,one guy - he would have been silly not to!!) although his grasp of the Romanian language was probably even worse than ours - he kept us happy, entertained, well fed and "hydrated" for 2 days up in the mountains, I must however point out, that as we ALL know - behind a great man, there is always a greater woman, and Christina, Untravelled Paths local manager was exceptional, organised, professional, friendly and was there to translate when our (very bad)sign language failed...;)
The Ice Hotel was an unforgettable experience in a beautiful part of the world where most people wouldn't think of going - James thanks for a fantastic trip, we will be recommending you to everyone we know!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LelieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fagaras
6.4 mi away
Complex Pastravaria Albota
Complex Pastravaria Albota
#1 of 1 in Arpasu de Sus
95 reviews
18.6 mi away
Complex Turistic Capra
23.8 mi away
Pensiunea Diana
Pensiunea Diana
#6 of 12 in Fagaras
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 mi away
Hotel Bulevard
Hotel Bulevard
#3 of 12 in Fagaras
50 reviews
24.1 mi away
No photo provided
Pensiunea D&D
#1 of 2 in Fagaras
1 reviews
23.5 mi away
White House
White House
#4 of 12 in Fagaras
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ice Hotel Romania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ice Hotel Romania

Address: Balea Lac | Fagaras mountains, Fagaras, Romania (Formerly Balea Lac Ice Hotel)
Location: Romania > Transylvania > Central Romania > Brasov County > Fagaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fagaras
Price Range: $104 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Faragas Mountains provide a perfect backdrop for the Balea Lac Ice Hotel. Its remote location, at over 2000m is reached only by cable car making it an exclusive 10 room hotel. Set amidst breathtaking scenery, the Ice Hotel is rebuilt every year and the views and silent nights make a visit to the Ice Hotel a must. The stunning Ice Church is a short walk away. Activities: Sledging, snow mobile, skiing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ice Hotel Romania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ice Hotel Romania Fagaras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing