We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Trip with Untravelled Paths”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ice Hotel Romania

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fagaras
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ice Hotel Romania
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fagaras
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Best Trip with Untravelled Paths”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We were on a trip with Untravelled Paths in January. They couldn't organize our trip better. From mailing with James till running through the Ice Hotel with Dragos who was a perfect guide and driver. He looked after us every time we needed him. He even let us in his room to change our outfits and go in it anytime we needed. Overall the beauty of this place called Balea Lake and the Ice Hotel are a truly gem and is a fantastic place to be. After arrival we booked in advance the tunnel trek which was a the best thing to do. When we went on the other side we were kindly told to be quite otherwise we will scare the Chamois goats (called also the mountain goat or the black goat) which are by the way protected by law in this country. We did so and when we finally went out in the clear sky Dragos spoted a Chamois goat that was very close to us. All people in that group took pictures and filmed it. It was absolutely amazing... Back on the Balea Lake chalet we've been doing sledging for an hour and then prepared again in Dragos & Cristina's room which by the way is the nicest young married couple that made our trip fantastic.
The dinner in the Ice Hotel was the top cherry cake! Organized very well and with a very interesting menu: Smoked salmon fish with honey and mustard sauce, Pork roulade with mushroom sauce prosciuto, cream carrot soup with croutons and a traditional romanian dessert.
I need to say that without Cristina and Dragos we would waited for hours at the cable car in a very long cue. But because Untravelled Paths has priority we run into the first cable car and everything runed smoothly. Same the next day.
Sleeping in the Ice Hotel is an extreme experience but I have to admit that we weren't cold and we sleep really well.
We will definitely come back to explore more of Romania this year with Untravelled Paths.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandrasandra74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    58
    12
    4
    4
See reviews for
39
150
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
295 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

an amazing place and wonderful credit to Romanian tourism.

The Ice Hotel has 12 individual themd ice rooms that run off the main dining/drinking area. During the day the area can be quite busy with tourists but after 5pm you are only left with the people staying on the mountain. There is a seperate chalet where you can shower and leave most of your belongings.

There are also three igloos by the ice chapel. We had booked an igloo which was that little bit more secluded. You have a mattress on a bed of ice, pillows and blankets. Most people are concerned they will be cold during the night, but that is not the case.

There are other activities also you can partake in - sledging, treks etc The weather wasn't the best for activities on our day (fog).

I would recommend eating in the ice hotel - the dinner was excellent, tables are set out lovely with candles and flowers etc Entree is served on a bed of ice and the main course was a hot meal (beef).

We had a truelly wonderful and memorable experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PetaMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I am not the sort of person who normally writes reviews, however the trip was so enjoyable that I feel compounded to do so. My partner and I like to travel to new places and try interesting experiences and this was trip certainly has provided many great stories to tell.The Ice Hotel is a once in a lifetime excersion and not as cold as you may think, infact with the sleeping bags we were perfectly warm.The itinerary was well constructed and our guide Cristina made the three days thoroughly enjoyable. This is certainly a trip that I will be recommending to friends and family.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Brett R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
92 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Splendidly different with 13 rooms dressed in different themes including Mystery Room, Dragon Cave, Candyland, Mirror Room, etc.

3 other igloos trimmed with blue LED beside the church with a white ice cross on the roof. A ice carving of the last supper on the chapel with a mirage of a piped organ at the back of the church.

The dining room is fitted with ice table & chairs topped with a piece of sheep fur to keep your bum warm through dinner.

The 4 course dinner for Valentine's Day started with smoked salmon, carrot soup, grilled pork mushroom sauce & finished with ice cream dessert.

To note: u need to have long johns & a strong bladder to see you thru the night. It's frightfully cold once you are out of the TRIMM sleeping bag.

Worth the experience and reserve a room at Balea Lac Chalet to wash up the next morning including a hot shower.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chinagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gran Canaria, Spain
Level Contributor
142 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed here on February 2013. We did not book with Untravelled Paths, so everything is a little more tricky and you are missing some information to get there. We booked with with booking.com.

We arrive with our rented car around 11:00 to the base of the gondola in the Baleac Waterfalls. To get there put in your Gps "Baleac Lac or Baleac Lake" .The road in winter is closed after the Baleac Waterfalls, so you have to leave the car there and take the gondola that takes you to the top of the mountain where the Baleac Lac is.
The gondola is 25 lais each, they did not charge us extra for bags or anything ( there is a sign saying that is 10 lais per bag).
It was Sunday, so it was around 14 people in line to go up. You have to pay at the top. just get into the line. It takes around 10 min or more every gondola to arrive (there is just one up and one going down). On the gondola already asked us if we were from "groupon", we guess is the company that normally bring the tourist.
We arrive at the Baleac Hotel (not ice one), that s closed to the ice hotel rooms. Get there and drop the bags in a room (is a common room for all the guests that stay at the ice hotel rooms), you can shower or sleep on the beds on that room.
During lunch we were offered to have a romantic dinner in the ice hotel for 250 lais per person (around 60€ each). we declined the offer and had dinner in the restaurant of the Baleac Hotel.
If you are proposing to your girlfriend, go fr it, or if you are celebrating your anniversay, if not go there after dinner and have a wine or a drink in the bar (while they are having dinner). There is some romantic music and lights that make the night a perfect date. After 12 the lights go off in the main corrridor and the music.
To sleep the hotel provide you a pair of sleeping bags that you can zip together and a couple of blankets. We slept great and we were not cold even when it was in the room.
Couple of notes:
if you booked via untravelled path (icehotelromania or something else) you can choose your room. With booking you do not have that option but is much cheaper.
On the way down of the gondola, we aware that the gongola only move down (or up), when 10 people are on it. If there is not enough people the gondola wait or you pay for the other seats.
A must visit and a experience, and much cheaper than the one in Sweden.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smallfishbigworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

The Ice Hotel is definitely a ‘not to miss’. We were really lucky with the weather and had clear blue skies for most of the time. There had also been a recent snow fall, which made some of the activities unavailable but made everything look fabulous. The staff were lovely and the Cabana Restaurant warm and welcoming.

We went with Secret Transylvania who are Trip Advisor (Traveler’s Choice) Award Winners in their own right. The package was extremely comprehensive with no hidden extra costs. We could arrive and depart on any day that suited us which was also very useful. We flew into Tirges Mures with WizzAir. The plane and flight were basic but comfortable and it was direct from Luton.

Tip - Because you have a room in beautiful Cisnadioara village for your whole stay you only need to take an overnight bag up to the Ice Hotel – very useful as the snow was deep.

All in all an easy and fabulous trip! Thank you Di and Jez of Secret Transylvania!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel of Ice for one night as part of a week long holiday to Romania. We had booked everything with Untravelled Paths.
Firstly I highly recommend Untravelled Paths! They provided a fantastic service right from my very first email. They are happy to create your personal itinerary taking in all the sights that Romania has to offer. All our accommodation was an exceptionally high standard and our holiday ran flawlessly with huge credit to our guides, Christina and Dragos who were fantastic. They took care of everything for us, including getting us on the first cable car up to the Hotel of Ice ahead of a large group. The Hotel of Ice is a piece of art, set high up on the top of the mountains. There was only 8 of us staying at the hotel so it felt very personal. We was able to explore the hotel when we arrived, running in and out of all the individually decorated rooms to choose which room we wanted for the night. You can store all your belongings in the cabin close by, it is here that you can warm up. It has a restaurant for your meals, drinks and snacks, but you would be a fool to miss out on eating in the ice hotel itself. The food was of a high standard and delicious, we had a 5 course dinner served seated at a table made of ice, sitting on chairs made of ice, some courses were even served on ice and it was only 45 euros each which I think is great value for money considering where you are. The whole trip was fantastic value for money, especially when compared to the ice hotels in Scandinavia.
There is more than enough to do to pass your afternoon, walk through the tunnel, sledging, snowmobiling and generally having fun in the snow in a stunning landscape. You will not be able to stop taking photos of the hotel and I have forgotten to mention the church!!
During the day and for dinner we wore a thermal base layer with a jumper and then our skiing coat and trousers, thick pair of socks, hat and gloves and was lovely and warm. Snow shoes are essential footwear. To sleep in they provide a sleeping bag, we just wore our thermal base layer with socks and a thin pair of gloves to sleep in. My other half does not have much hair so he kept his hat on also. We was not cold at all and slept really well. It was so exciting waking up to see the ice sculptures in your room, I just could not believe where we was and what we was doing. If you are thinking about staying in an ice hotel then stop and book to go to this one, great value for money, small and personal and a real once in a lifetime experience. Untravelled Paths will answer all your questions and put any hesitations you have at ease.

Room Tip: There are 2 rooms adjoining great for families or couples travelling together. All rooms are beauti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jodie0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fagaras
6.4 mi away
Complex Pastravaria Albota
Complex Pastravaria Albota
#1 of 1 in Arpasu de Sus
69 reviews
16.6 mi away
Hotel Posada Vidraru
Hotel Posada Vidraru
#1 of 2 in Arefu
41 reviews
17.7 mi away
Fantanita Haiducului
Fantanita Haiducului
#22 of 30 in Sibiu
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
Pensiunea Bambuu din Fagaras
14.5 mi away
Brukenthal Palace Avrig
23.7 mi away
Hotel Bulevard
Hotel Bulevard
#1 of 8 in Fagaras
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ice Hotel Romania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ice Hotel Romania

Property: Ice Hotel Romania
Address: Balea Lac | Fagaras mountains, Fagaras, Romania (Formerly Balea Lac Ice Hotel)
Location: Romania > Transylvania > Central Romania > Brasov County > Fagaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fagaras
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Faragas Mountains provide a perfect backdrop for the Balea Lac Ice Hotel. Its remote location, at over 2000m is reached only by cable car making it an exclusive 10 room hotel. Set amidst breathtaking scenery, the Ice Hotel is rebuilt every year and the views and silent nights make a visit to the Ice Hotel a must. The stunning Ice Church is a short walk away. Activities: Sledging, snow mobile, skiing. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ice Hotel Romania Fagaras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing