We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value Ice Hotel - A must for your 'bucket list'”
Review of Ice Hotel Romania

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fagaras
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ice Hotel Romania
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fagaras
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 19, 2012

We stumbled across this hotel when looking at Ice Hotels. What made this appealing to us was that it was cheaper than the Sweden Ice Hotel, less 'touristy' and 'only accessible by cable car. We booked our stay with Secret Transylvania which I will do a seperate review on. Our cable car ride up was very scenic and we did not have to wait for this to depart although the wait back down was a bit more of a wait. It tested my nerves as I hate heights, but it was lovely to see the highway covered in snow below us.

Other guests had said that the Ice Hotel was in the midst of a snow storm and not even visible due to a blizzard, however we landed lucky and it was blue skies all the way up to the hotel. So although the hotel was surrounded by some 12ft of snow we had a great time sledging and exploring the church/igloo and hotel with some mulled wine (which subsequently 'stuck' to the ice table) and walking across a frozen Balea Lake! Jez (from Secret Transylvania) walked us through the tunnel which forms part of the highway in the summer to the most amazing views the other end and icicles in the tunnel.

We ate in the main chalet not the Ice Hotel. The food here was really, really nice. Chicken schinzel and chips, large meals and good value, with the drinks cheap too. As I recall, two mains, two starters, three beers and a tip was less than £20!

We opted to stay in the hotel as there was me, my partner and only one other guest who formed part of our group from Secret Transylvania. The other guests not part of our group stayed in the Igloos which were good, but we wanted to be in the hotel as it was almost like we had the hotel to ourselves and a choice of lots of rooms (we kept moving into the different rooms)! One disappointment was that the bar itself in the hotel was not open, probably as they didn't have enough guests so there was no music/disco and we had to keep walking from the chalet to the Ice Hotel with our drinks which was alot of fun in snow up to our knees!

Do not worry about the toilets/showers. If you book with Secret Transylvania or Untravelled Paths (the other company), then I think you will have access to a room in the chalet as we did. This meant we could use the toilet/shower in the main chalet. In he middle of the night I woke up and needed the loo. Boots back on, trousers, coat and gloves, and a five minute walk to the cable car station where it was nice and warm for the loo, albeit in the middle of a blizzard. Really nice to see the stars and ice hotel lit up, very peaceful. Unfortunately the sheer amount of snow meant we couldn't do ice skating or other activies aside from sledging. The ice church is also amazing and the 'last supper' sculpture as are the other themed sculptures.

If you are looking at ice hotels, please consider this one. It is, in my opinion, better than going somewhere like Sweden or Lapland where I understand a night in the Ice Hotel is over £200 per night and is too touristy! You can also explore other parts of Romania/Transylvania, you will not be disappointed. Go before it becomes expensive and anyone else finds out about it!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RaRaRachelC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (308)
There are newer reviews for Ice Hotel Romania
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 308 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2012

We were looking to get away for a long weekend to do something exciting and different without spending too much money. Someone suggested the ice hotel in Sweden but the prices were far too expensive and we couldn't justify the price tag. After some research we found the ice hotel in Romania with Untravelled Paths which was great value for money and we ended up having an incredible time. James was really helpful, friendly and fun without being too 'in-your-face' so to speak. There was a lot of snow when we were out there in feb so we couldn't fully appreciate the amazing views up at the ice hotel but it was a great night all the same. The ice hotel itself is just stunning and is so much more impressive in real life. The rooms are all different and have their own theme. We also signed up for dinner in the ice hotel which was a magical experience and the food was delicious which we were surprised about as we'd heard some negative reviews. I was quite cold during the night but everyone else said they slept really well and were perfectly warm.
While we were there we met a couple who'd booked a three night stay on a groupon offer and were having a pretty difficult time. There had been no transportation arranged for them, they had nowhere to shower or keep their stuff safely and didn't have a guide or someone to look after them so we were really grateful that we'd booked our trip through Untravelled Paths. Everything was organised and we were looked after very well from the get-go. Highly recommended and a big shout out to James for making our trip so fantastic. Thank you!

Room Tip: Untravelled Paths make sure you have access to a room in the cabana where you can leave your stuff a...
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mkat23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

We spotted this on Facebook but instead of taking the 3 day offer we booked through www.secrettransylvania.co.uk and had one nights stay. This was a much better idea as there isn't a great deal to do and a day and night up there does the trick.

We actually stayed in the hotel next to it as we have a 2yr old with us but had dinner in the hotel and got to see all the hotel and igloos. Food was ok but the location is amazing! The hotel rooms are stunning and dining area is amazing. The igloos which are fairly new but they are better again!!! The staff are great up there as well, friendly and helpful but as I said there isn't too much to do so don't spend too long.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Goatuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

We were actually looking into an Ice Hotel stay in Scandinavia when we discovered that Transylvania has one.
After checking out everything thoroughly we were really happy with our choice of location and tour operator and realized our short break was going to be ‘good value’ …. However we didn’t realize what an understatement that was!! You have to experience the delicious meals, copious amounts (all included in the price!) and level of personal service to for yourself. From the planning to the departure Secret Transylvania could not have made this trip easier or more enjoyable and the prices compared to Ice Hotel mini breaks in other countries were unbelievable. Balea Lac is something really special and the Sibiu area is stunning. We will defiantly be returning for further explorations one summer soon! Many thanks Jez, Di, Nelutiu, Doris and Sorin.

Room Tip: Check out Austrian Airlines to Sibiu, secret transylvania took us from there.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jon501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

Spent one night at Ice Hotel as part of a 4 night break with Secret Transylvania who were a fantastic holiday company - nothing was too much trouble.
The Ice Hotel was a chilly experience but I slept well as I dressed appropriately and there were sleeping bags and covers provided.
Very interesting to see the ice sculptures in the rooms of the hotel, bar, church and igloos - it was all very well done in a glorious setting of deep white snow and blue sunny skies.
Secret Transylvania was based in the nearby village of Cisnadioara, run by Jez and Di, a lovely english couple.
Their accommodation was very clean and comfortable and the bar and dining room were warm and welcoming.
The food freshly prepared by Di was absolutely delicious, taking into account the guests likes and dislikes and the portion sizes were extra large. Nobody was hungry at any time.
Jez was very interesting and knowledgeable about the local area and the many places of interest we visited.
He had a very easygoing manner, driving us to the various locations, letting us decide how long we wished to stay at each place.
Both Di and Jez welcomed us to Transylvania like friends and looked after us wonderfully which was very much appreciated as I was a solo traveller/OAP.
Secret Transylvania certainly deserve the excellent reviews on Trip Advisor. I cannot praise them highly enough !

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

This was without doubt one of the best short holidays we have been on.
Romania is beautiful ,friendly and cheap.
All of the recommended restaurants we ate in were without exception ' brilliant '
The sights included on the trip were breathtaking ( my 13 year old son loved Bran castle Dracula's home!! )
The coach was comfy and our fellow travelers were all good company.
James was excellent very helpful , knowledgeable and always ready to help if needed but away enough to allow you to have your holiday.
Now the Ice Hotel ! Everyone should experience this at least once it was awesome. It didn't matter to us that we couldn't do any of the activities as we were stuck in the middle of an arctic blizzard from the moment we arrived to the moment we left that just added to the adventure and we bonded more with our new friends. My son couldn't believe he had 15ft of snow to play in. The meal was good and drinks in the bar most welcome! We slept well and didn't get too cold.
We now have to go back again for the skiing, sledging ETC ( Hooray )

Room Tip: All the rooms we stayed in were exellent
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Miles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2012

We arranged our stay with untravelled paths and it was great from start to finish!!! We had to wait a bit to get cable car up as the guys who run it went to lunch! Bizarre as we and one other couple were their only customers all day! Bad timing. We had bright blue skies which made views up amazing! The hotel etc was a strange sight! We opted to stay in the igloo which has 3 rooms it's the first time they have built these and it's so worth it! Ice hotel was great but I bet if it's busy it would be harder to sleep if guests stayed up late. We opted for dinner there need to book in advance. It was 4 course and lush defo worth the money!!! We then rushed back to warm cabana for drinks to warm up before bed! I wasn't cold at night but did wake up lots! I must say it was so cold even playing with the toboggan for few times made me freezing!!! Views were spectacular go and experience it!! Thanks!!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kezzles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fagaras
6.4 mi away
Complex Pastravaria Albota
Complex Pastravaria Albota
#1 of 1 in Arpasu de Sus
91 reviews
16.6 mi away
Hotel Posada Vidraru
Hotel Posada Vidraru
#1 of 2 in Arefu
53 reviews
1.6 mi away
Complex Turistic Capra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Andrada's House Soars
Andrada's House Soars
#1 of 12 in Fagaras
1 reviews
8.9 mi away
Complex Balea Transfagarasan
Complex Balea Transfagarasan
#1 of 6 in Cartisoara
2 reviews
8.6 mi away
Casa Mosului
Casa Mosului
#1 of 10 in Cartisoara
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ice Hotel Romania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ice Hotel Romania

Address: Balea Lac | Fagaras mountains, Fagaras, Romania (Formerly Balea Lac Ice Hotel)
Location: Romania > Transylvania > Central Romania > Brasov County > Fagaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fagaras
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Faragas Mountains provide a perfect backdrop for the Balea Lac Ice Hotel. Its remote location, at over 2000m is reached only by cable car making it an exclusive 10 room hotel. Set amidst breathtaking scenery, the Ice Hotel is rebuilt every year and the views and silent nights make a visit to the Ice Hotel a must. The stunning Ice Church is a short walk away. Activities: Sledging, snow mobile, skiing. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ice Hotel Romania Fagaras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing