We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full marks Ice hotel and Secret Transylvania”
Review of Ice Hotel Romania

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fagaras
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ice Hotel Romania
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fagaras
Certificate of Excellence
oxford
2 reviews
“Full marks Ice hotel and Secret Transylvania”
Reviewed March 9, 2012

We were actually looking into an Ice Hotel stay in Scandinavia when we discovered that Transylvania has one.
After checking out everything thoroughly we were really happy with our choice of location and tour operator and realized our short break was going to be ‘good value’ …. However we didn’t realize what an understatement that was!! You have to experience the delicious meals, copious amounts (all included in the price!) and level of personal service to for yourself. From the planning to the departure Secret Transylvania could not have made this trip easier or more enjoyable and the prices compared to Ice Hotel mini breaks in other countries were unbelievable. Balea Lac is something really special and the Sibiu area is stunning. We will defiantly be returning for further explorations one summer soon! Many thanks Jez, Di, Nelutiu, Doris and Sorin.

Room Tip: Check out Austrian Airlines to Sibiu, secret transylvania took us from there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jon501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    59
    12
    4
    5
See reviews for
40
152
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed February 29, 2012

Spent one night at Ice Hotel as part of a 4 night break with Secret Transylvania who were a fantastic holiday company - nothing was too much trouble.
The Ice Hotel was a chilly experience but I slept well as I dressed appropriately and there were sleeping bags and covers provided.
Very interesting to see the ice sculptures in the rooms of the hotel, bar, church and igloos - it was all very well done in a glorious setting of deep white snow and blue sunny skies.
Secret Transylvania was based in the nearby village of Cisnadioara, run by Jez and Di, a lovely english couple.
Their accommodation was very clean and comfortable and the bar and dining room were warm and welcoming.
The food freshly prepared by Di was absolutely delicious, taking into account the guests likes and dislikes and the portion sizes were extra large. Nobody was hungry at any time.
Jez was very interesting and knowledgeable about the local area and the many places of interest we visited.
He had a very easygoing manner, driving us to the various locations, letting us decide how long we wished to stay at each place.
Both Di and Jez welcomed us to Transylvania like friends and looked after us wonderfully which was very much appreciated as I was a solo traveller/OAP.
Secret Transylvania certainly deserve the excellent reviews on Trip Advisor. I cannot praise them highly enough !

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

This was without doubt one of the best short holidays we have been on.
Romania is beautiful ,friendly and cheap.
All of the recommended restaurants we ate in were without exception ' brilliant '
The sights included on the trip were breathtaking ( my 13 year old son loved Bran castle Dracula's home!! )
The coach was comfy and our fellow travelers were all good company.
James was excellent very helpful , knowledgeable and always ready to help if needed but away enough to allow you to have your holiday.
Now the Ice Hotel ! Everyone should experience this at least once it was awesome. It didn't matter to us that we couldn't do any of the activities as we were stuck in the middle of an arctic blizzard from the moment we arrived to the moment we left that just added to the adventure and we bonded more with our new friends. My son couldn't believe he had 15ft of snow to play in. The meal was good and drinks in the bar most welcome! We slept well and didn't get too cold.
We now have to go back again for the skiing, sledging ETC ( Hooray )

Room Tip: All the rooms we stayed in were exellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Miles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2012

We arranged our stay with untravelled paths and it was great from start to finish!!! We had to wait a bit to get cable car up as the guys who run it went to lunch! Bizarre as we and one other couple were their only customers all day! Bad timing. We had bright blue skies which made views up amazing! The hotel etc was a strange sight! We opted to stay in the igloo which has 3 rooms it's the first time they have built these and it's so worth it! Ice hotel was great but I bet if it's busy it would be harder to sleep if guests stayed up late. We opted for dinner there need to book in advance. It was 4 course and lush defo worth the money!!! We then rushed back to warm cabana for drinks to warm up before bed! I wasn't cold at night but did wake up lots! I must say it was so cold even playing with the toboggan for few times made me freezing!!! Views were spectacular go and experience it!! Thanks!!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kezzles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corsham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

For those of us who progressed some time ago from backpacking, and being somewhat reluctant to place our trip in the hands of others, all I can say is Untravelled Paths, James, Christina, you surpassed our expectations ...plus some! The transport, the locations and quality of the hotels, tip top!

Bucharest, a darkly interesting city.
The Castle at Bran was a little bit special, followed by a trip to Rasnov and the fortess.

Poiana Brasov
As first time skiers Untravelled Paths made this all so easy and seamless for us.
The ski passes, hiring the equipment, sourcing an instructor and the slopes, all within a snow balls throw of our hotel. In the evening you have to experience the hot tub outside at the Sister hotel, easing the aches and pains of the day as to your left the die-hard skiers continue into the night. A sight and an experience to behold.

Take the stunning cable car ride to the top and to the pub for a cheeky drink and for photos you will never tire of looking at, perfect! - just as much fun, hop on a plastic dish and sledge down the mountain as skiers and boarders fly by. Adrenalin rush for little and big kids alike!

A night in Brasov, picture postcard perfect and the staff at Casa Wagner are very friendly, worth a trip back in the summer would be my guess.

Nothing can quite prepare you for what follows. The deeper you travel into Transylvannia, the frendlier people seem to be.

The Ice Hotel is a sight to behold, the rooms all bespoke, this years theme was music. The food was pretty good, the bar well stocked. New Years Eve at the Ice Hotel was something pretty darn special and the Romanians like to party! great fun! IT WAS BEAUTIFUL, MAGICAL EVEN! - a memory for life, and best shared with the people you love.

The dancing was momentarily interrupted by fireworks in the mountains at the stroke of midnight, which was very special indeed.

Whilst at the Balea Lac you may also want to make sure you take out a snow mobile for a quick spin on the lake!!! - but down panic,
69*+the ice is a metre deep!

Sleeping in the rooms is a challenge, but once comfortable it can be done, but if you need to visit the little girls/boys room in the early hours...brrrr, thats a challenge to say the least!

We travelled with friends on this trip and had such a great time. We didn't want the type of holiday where you are hoarded around in a group following someone with a flag! Untravelled Paths have got their heads together and totally nailed the itinerary. You feel like you are travelling independantly, but with just that little bit of reassuring hand-holding needed to ensure you don't waste any valuable time of your holiday.

James, Christina, Radu, the team at the Ice Hotel, the Mayor (top chap!), the drivers - hats off! you have all done a wonderful job and we are buzzing! We are already checking out Untravelled Paths other destinations, safe in the knowledge the organisation will be superb!

To the people of Romanian, you have a beautiful country, plenty of opportunities for you to embrace tourism, smile a little more, smoke a little less and you could soon become one of Europe's top and most interesting desintations for a holiday!

Big thanks
Lisa, Wiltshre, UK

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pitstop69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 31, 2011

A Christmas night like never before! A fantastic experience to have Christmas dinner and stay in the Ice Hotel. Our group was a diverse mix of like minded people who all got on. Untravelled Paths were well organised and flexible with timings to suit the group. Definately would recommend them to others.

Room Tip: All rooms had different themes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2011

secret transylvania guest house is based in the beautiful village of Cisnadioara, which is just 40 minutes away from the Trans Fagaras Highway (the road to the ice hotel!!) In a totally fun and action packed four days, they took us to explore Rasnov Fort, Bran Castle and Sighisoara, the spooky old medieval citadel where Dracula was actually born!! You can even have a meal in the actual house where the real historical Vlad Tepes was born......creepy!! We also went to the beautiful nearby city of Sibiu and had a wonderful dinner in the best restaurant in town - Hermania which is a traditional Saxon restaurant then on for wonderful cocktails at the Atrium live jazz bar. Sibiu was the European Capital of Culture in 2007 and it's really not difficult to see why!! However, the best was yet to come and that was a visit to the Ice Hotel and church a Balea Lac. It can never be said enough just how BRILIANT it is. Dress up warm and leave your dignity in the cable car, this is the ultimate snow ball fight location!!!! We can also throughly recommend the wonderful warming soups and food in the Cabana restaurant, where the welcome and service is as warm as the food. Plus, their heating is very efficient which you will be grateful for!! Thank you Di, Jez, Nelutiu and crew from Secret Transylvania, you all made this holiday for us and it's no wonder that you have 64 excellent reviews and a ranked number 1 in the whole of Romania. We are more than happy to be in your fan club!! Thank you again and rest assured, we will be back!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suekentLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fagaras
6.4 mi away
Complex Pastravaria Albota
Complex Pastravaria Albota
#1 of 1 in Arpasu de Sus
83 reviews
16.6 mi away
Hotel Posada Vidraru
Hotel Posada Vidraru
#1 of 2 in Arefu
43 reviews
23.7 mi away
Pensiunea Bambuu din Fagaras
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Complex Turistic Capra
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Pensiunea Balea
#2 of 9 in Cartisoara
1 reviews
14.8 mi away
Cabana Valea cu Pesti
Cabana Valea cu Pesti
#6 of 17 in Curtea de Arges
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ice Hotel Romania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ice Hotel Romania

Property: Ice Hotel Romania
Address: Balea Lac | Fagaras mountains, Fagaras, Romania (Formerly Balea Lac Ice Hotel)
Location: Romania > Transylvania > Central Romania > Brasov County > Fagaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fagaras
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Faragas Mountains provide a perfect backdrop for the Balea Lac Ice Hotel. Its remote location, at over 2000m is reached only by cable car making it an exclusive 10 room hotel. Set amidst breathtaking scenery, the Ice Hotel is rebuilt every year and the views and silent nights make a visit to the Ice Hotel a must. The stunning Ice Church is a short walk away. Activities: Sledging, snow mobile, skiing. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ice Hotel Romania Fagaras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing