We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent accommodation for a large party”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Lodge

The Lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Lodge
The Lodge Lake Bled
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
The Lodge
The Lodge
Lake Bled
Near Bovec
Walk behind House
Bar on Lake Bohinj
Vintgar Walk
Bled Island
The Lodge
Outside Lane
Lake Bohinj
Lake Bohinj
The Lodge
Kobla Ski Lift
Doorstep Skiing
Castle Bled
Dining Room
Dining Room
Ljubljana
White Water Rafting
White Water Rafting
Lake Bohinj
Ljubljana
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
9 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 20
Bohinjska Bistrica, Upper Carniola Region

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
No-Fang-F...
Sheffield
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent accommodation for a large party”
Reviewed July 23, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Bohinska Bistrica is a pleasant small town with some nice bars and restaurants and a couple of convenient supermarkets. It is within easy access of both lake Bled and, close by,lake Bohinska which is unspoilt and beautiful. The lodge was clean and spacious with a large dining area and a pleasant small sitting room (although we did not need to use the basement bedrooms). All in all we were very happy and Steve the owner was extremely helpful and always available to answer our enquiries.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 15, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 17, 2017
Serena, thank you for your custom and delighted you enjoyed your trip and the area. You must let me know if you picked up any medals? I hope you had a safe trip home and I look forward to welcome you again.

Best regards

Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
21gfoster
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Clean, well equipped, large house in a beautiful Country”
Reviewed August 13, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We've just spent a week at The Lodge. We were a party of 7 so had lots of rooms to pick from but all were clean, well maintained and would have been equally pleasant to stay in. The Lodge was clean and well equipped with some staples provided in the pantry, which is more than we had in previous holiday houses. The kitchen is large, as would be expected in a former guesthouse, and has pretty much all you could need. The only slight challenge was how to operate the gas hob, but with advice we managed that! There is a washing machine and dryer which is a must for me! We enjoyed a trip into the mountains with a very informative guide, Tony, and found him, as well as Steve the owner, responsive to any queries and happy to help. The Lodge is close to the centre of the village so within a very short walk of supermarket, ice cream shop, bakery, bike hire and a number of places to eat out. We swam several times in the beautiful Lake Bohinj, only about 15 minutes drive away and visited Lake Bled, only about 25 minutes away. This is a stunning Country and we would love to return one day.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 14, 2017
Dear Grania

Thank you very much for the kind words and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and fully appreciated all that this area has to offer. We wish you all the very best and hope to see you again.

Best regards

Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusanTelA...
Tel Aviv
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Fabulous Place for a Fabulous Vacation”
Reviewed July 30, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We are a group of 6 families some of whom live in the US and some of whom live in Israel. We chose to meet in Slovenia more or less at random, and chose the Lodge because it was big enough to house 6 couples and some children. Little did I know when I rented the place that it would turn out to be absolutely perfect.

Before we even arrived, the owner, Steve B., sent me detailed driving instructions, maps of the area and ideas for activities in the area. We arrived to find a lovely, clean, spacious home, with a dining area large enough to fit all 15 of us comfortably, lots of bathrooms, a really well equipped kitchen, an outside deck area and upstairs porches, a sitting room with tens of movies to watch (we didn't have time!) and flowers everywhere. (Not to mention the excellent wifi, washer and dryer, and dishwasher.)

The lodge is located in the small town of Bohinj Bistrica which has pretty much everything, and we took advantage of the hiking, swimming, kayaking, and biking. We took a day trip to Ljubjlna, about an hour away. The people are friendly, the area is lovely, the lodge is roomy and comfortable - it was really perfect. I would be happy to take all of my vacations at the Lodge!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 12, 2017
Thank you so much for your kind words. It was a pleasure to have you stay and we look forward to welcome you again in the future. I'm so glad you enjoyed this very special area. All the very best. Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miriam E
Southern Arava, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect for our group of 15”
Reviewed July 26, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Perfect for our group of 15: A few minutes’ walk to groceries, ATM, bike and kayak rental. Roomy, clean, fully furnished and equipped. I especially appreciated the electric kettle. A set of storage containers for food leftovers would be helpful. A few suggestions:
1. The upstairs rooms are hot, and there was only one working fan for the five rooms. Provide more fans, or ideally, install ceiling fans.

2. Lots of superfluous doors that don’t serve any purpose and that are merely in the way, could be removed: dining room, kitchen, pantry, and ground floor bathroom. Also, remove the urinal and perhaps replace it with shelving for towels or toilet paper.

3. The door to our room didn’t shut properly.

Other than that, lovely and highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 26, 2017
Miriam. Thank you for your feedback and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. I agree with your comments on the urinal and too many doors, but unfortunately we have to comply with Slovenia health and safety rules. I will check to see if these have changed recently because I would really like to do as you suggest. I also note your points on the fans and will rectify this as July / August can be extremely hot months. Thank you again and hope to see you in the future. Regards, Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alleroed Municipality, Denmark
Reviewed August 2, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 3, 2016
Anette, thank you very much for your custom, your kind words, and also your feedback. You will be glad to know that a new dishwasher will be arriving this week after listening to your helpful comments. The gas cooker, I agree, is very tricky. I will have something done about this immediately. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay - Bohinj is a wonderful place. We hope to have you back again in the near future. All the best, Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
bobandlou...
swindon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great value for money - lovely stay”
Reviewed June 23, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I wasn't sure what to expect, firstly because this is my first time to Slovenia and secondly because the owner had underplayed it's appeal.

Whilst he kept the expectations low in terms of it being a two star accomodation, we were very pleasantly surprised when we arrived and found this very clean and very spacious house (even with 20 of us) with all the necessary amenities. There were no en suite bedrooms but as we were a group that knew each other quite well, sharing three bathrooms was no problem at all, and there was plentiful hot water.

It was situated bang in the centre of the village with a total of 14 small bars or restaurants within a 600 metre radius. The scenery was absolutely outstanding with endless activities to keep us entertained.

We will certainly be going back again, maybe to try out the skiing in Winter next time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Perfect Location
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 3, 2016
Once again, we are delighted that you fell in love with the area as much as we did. My maintenance chap said you were a delightful party and would also love to see you back. Enjoy the rest of the summer and maybe we will see you when the snow arrives. Best of luck, Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing