We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good local restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Osteria I Macelli

Osteria I Macelli
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Very good local restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Just had the pleasure of a 2nd excellent dinner at Macelli.
As we were lucky enough to be there during the truffle season we had excellent pasta with truffles followed by an excellent boar stew along with a bottle of local red. It's a very local restaurant (at least in the winter) and all the nicer for that. Altogether a very pleasant evening with good service and good food.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ubudman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    102
    16
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
lucca, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A total find in a quiet peaceful location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I have been living up the road from I Macelli for summers, for the past five years and this year is the first time we have appreciated the range of fabulous dishes and the service, as well as more than decent prices. The mussels with garlic, oil and pepper are nothing less than fabulous. A dish of tagliatelle with a white sauce with rabbit is divine. The combination of fish and meat is quite perfect.
There is no disappointment here...and a nice surprise to keep coming back to, in winter as well as in the summer where terrace dining is delightful.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dancingintomaybe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great food and great service - again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

3rd time here and still consistently good. Yes, relaxed service but just what we needed to cool down after a hot walk around beautiful Borgo.
Great generous starter of prosciutto and melon; gorgeous truffle pasta; slightly small tiramisu (but tasty) and very good value house prosecco. Yummy!
Well worth it - thoroughly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mimjoNorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Steak tartar was delicious.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Taken here by a good friend and his wife, he's a Scottish based Italian who comes 'home' for a few months in the summer, lucky fella. We had a wonderful lunch in this converted former abattoir; steak tartar in 3 little rounds, each little mound of hand minced female veal topped with a different flavouring. Shaved black truffle, thinly sliced home pickled onion and quail's eggs, I couldn't get enough. Tagliatelle with more truffle, local, and raw egg yolk, stunning. and finally delicious pork with a strawberry sauce. Well worth a visit and not far from Barga, The most Scottish town in Italy.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SpaghettiB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoje, South Korea
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Hidden away. Not many tourists.
Simple and traditional menu.
Limited wine choice, but local wines available.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank DottyCazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria I Macelli also viewed

Borgo a Mozzano, Province of Lucca
Borgo a Mozzano, Province of Lucca
 
Borgo a Mozzano, Province of Lucca
Borgo a Mozzano, Province of Lucca
 
Borgo a Mozzano, Province of Lucca
 

Been to Osteria I Macelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing