We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top small hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Rustico Puerto Arnela
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Camarinas
Birmingham UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Top small hotel”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed here recently (July 2012) - chose it because of the reviews on TA and can heartily support all the positive comments. The food was excellent, the room delightful and the price a bargain. And a special mention for their house albarino - delicious. We had been staying in Paradores across Galicia and I was expecting this to be a bit of a come down, but really it was excellent. Recommend taking a trip to the Faro (lighthouse) - just before the final ascent up to the lighthouse if you follow the rough track signed 'English Cemetery' and 'Praia' (beach) you do come to some beautiful little beaches. Take everything with you, there is nothing there, but well worth the trip. Reminded me of Scottish beaches on the gulf stream. One minor thing - if you are on the front you will get some noise from people sitting out in the bars, but its pretty minor and the bars are far from open all night!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrishaBirminghamUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    19
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
39
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stevenage, UK
Level Contributor
164 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2010

Looks great from the outside, is well located, and that's just the start. Professional and inviting reception service. Splendid room - our had a balcony with a table chairs and lounger and a superb shower room. Modern. Nice restaurant (slightly spoiled by TV being on, paper table cover, not quite the best food in Galicia - go to Santiago for that - but still very good). Mostly friendly staff (one has some English). Didn't respond to email in advance. I would recommend this to anyone. Breakfast also included in price.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank simono1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copperas Cove
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2010

This was our third trip to Camarinas. It is a small fishing village that is definitely OFF the tourist route so is a great quiet place to enjoy the real Galicia. It's setting on a calm bay is outstanding. We had begun our stay at another hotel but after finding this small hotel/restaurant in the center of the village for an evening meal we moved over to the Arnela for two nights. This is, without doubt, the best 1* hotel we have ever stayed in - anywhere! The room was very comfortable and clean. The bath had immediate hot water and there was a mini-frig in the room. Our room had a roof terrace with a view of the harbor. The restaurant food was excellent and very inexpensive. Room price was 45 euro/night B&B. We are already planning a return to Camarinas but for a much longer stay. We even hesitated to share this little jewel but gave in to the desire to promote this deserving small hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CenTex08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 28, 2010

We arrived in Camarinas after a long day of driving (the wrong way much of the time!) up and down the coastal roads of the Rias Baixas trying to Discover Galicia. We arrived in the harbour at about 5:30 pm, and the village seemed halfway deserted. . We saw the hotel near the waterfront, but it looked too fancy for our budget. We asked anyway and, after seeing the rooms, stayed for the rest of our vacation there (Euro 45 a night with breakfast and ocean terrace). The Restaurant downstairs was outstanding and the service absolutely personalized without being intrusive, they arranged everything we needed and we will go back as soon as we can.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aggie54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, TX
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2010

First off, TripAdviser has this filed as a B&B. I'd file this as an inn that includes breakfast. Nothing B&B about the Puerto Arnela by my definition.

Also, be aware they apparently don't respond to emails, to either their .com or .es address. At least not mails written in English. We weren't sure they were still in business after a few attempts. Finally we called, but our lack of Spanish didn't mesh with the desk's lack of English. Eventually I had a Spanish speaking friend make the reservation.

On check in the desk was welcoming, though we couldn’t conversing much. In spite of being a small inn, it did have an elevator up to the 2nd floor (3rd floor US) room with a patio overlooking the port (301 I believe). The room was quite basic, but very clean. The bathroom was large for a relatively small room, with a stand up shower.

The best feature was the patio. It was kind of cut into the Spanish tile roof line, but was spacious and had a fine view. Close up we had the local activity down on the plaza, including a row of older men shooting the breeze in the structure below. Beyond that the port, and then the bay and hills. Wonderful. For dinner we decided to raid the local grocery store and have a simple meal here with a view.

Camariñas is pretty quiet, but very pretty. It’s rewarding going strolling around town and the port/marina. And around the corner past the wind farms is a great lighthouse, well worth the extra push.

Bonus: we didn’t realize the 45 EUR tab could possibly include breakfast, but were informed so on checkout. Nothing fancy, but appreciated – and great coffee.

We’re glad we stuck with reserving a room at the Puerto Arnela as it was both a bargain and a nice inn.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ckdalz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWANSEA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2008

This little gem of a hotel is rated as 1 star. Whoever rated this must have
been shortsighted. From the moment you walk in the whole place changes to
luxury. We were shown a variety of rooms but settled for the one with the
small balcony overlooking the harbour. We paid 40 euros with breakfast and it
was the best place we stayed in the whole of Northern Spain. Other rooms had a
jacuzzi for an extra 10 euros. The restaurant was cosy and although we did not
eat there other guest had written very favourable comments.

Camarinas deserves a couple of nights stop over as the restaurant Villa de Oro
set back from the front served the best Menu de Dia we have eaten. You wont
need anything until late at night but if the need arises the little cafe on the front with blue
and white blinds served excellent racions and tapas.

There is a wonderful walk that leads to a secluded beach which is another added
attraction and is another reason to stay.

  • Liked — QUALITY
  • Disliked — THERE IS SOME OLD CONCRETE PILLAR OUTSIDE WHICH SPOIL THE FRONTAGE
  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SwanseaLewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camarinas
1.1 mi away
Hotel Rustico Lugar Do Cotarino
2.3 mi away
A de Lolo - Hotel de Encanto
11.0 mi away
Hotel Playa de Laxe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Ancora
Ancora
#8 of 8 in Finisterre
145 reviews
12.0 mi away
Hotel Oca Insua Costa da Morte
0.2 mi away
Hotel O Parranda
Hotel O Parranda
#1 of 7 in Camarinas
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rustico Puerto Arnela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rustico Puerto Arnela

Property: Hotel Rustico Puerto Arnela
Address: Plaza del Carmen 20, 15123 Camarinas, Spain
Location: Spain > Galicia > Province of A Coruna > Camarinas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Camarinas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Rustico Puerto Arnela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing