We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Beautiful Church with Amazing Ceiling

We toured this woth a guide named Lazarus. He was excellent - really know the church history and... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Suzy R
,
Cape Coral, Florida
Golden altar

This is the cathedral in the little town of Remedios, a few miles from the North coast midway along... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
SevenoaksSinjun
,
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Read all 516 reviews
  
Reviews (516)
Filter reviews
516 results
Traveler rating
304
156
50
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
304
156
50
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful church old church virgin mary gold leaf town square cigar shop take pictures san juan bautista golden altar lots of history no flash wooden ceiling the real cuba the main square piece of history city tour day trip
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 516 reviews
Reviewed January 18, 2019 via mobile

Was a wonderful trip to this city that was founded in the 16th century!
Got to interact with the locals of the city. Enjoyed their company, culture and the stories. Enjoyed our taxi ride around the city.
Had a great lunch at one of the restaurants. And had great drinks at a bar across from the restaurant.
It was a cultural excuration to learn a little be more about the people of Cuba!
The people where friendly and helpful!

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank slic2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2018

Nice church with a nice roof with the Tulipan's in the holden roof. Also the statute of Maria in this Church is very special

Date of experience: December 2018
1  Thank ceesenedwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2018

I've traveled to Cuba in February 2018 for two weeks along with my three friends. We've visited a total of 7 different B&B's (Casa particular), all of which were nice, but EL CRISTAL on ALEJANDRO DEL RIO #20 in REMEDIOS beat them all by far.
The owners Ernesto and Belkis have a beautiful place just steps away from Remedios main square. Their house is super clean/newly renovated with a detail to cleanliness greater than in most of the all inclusive resorts in Cuba.
They have two rooms that will comfortably accommodate 4 people, each room is equipped with an air condition and has its own bathroom. If interested they will cook breakfast/lunch/dinner at an extra cost, that way you experience the real local cuisine.
We planned on staying one day but ended up there for three instead. We went to beautiful Playa Las Gaviotas one day, and Santa Clara the next. The last day was spent in Remedios and Caibarien.
I just made it back from Cuba with my family, we have two small children who are only interested in water and sand at this point, so we stayed in a resort on Cayo Santa Maria, and I have to say that I missed experiencing the real Cuba every day. That being said, we rented a car and went to Remedios to visit Ernesto and Belkis, and are planning on staying with them in a foreseeable future once again.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Jiri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2018 via mobile

Is a cute place to spend time with your family, the people are very nice and friendly
The church is very beatiful

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank 602libertadv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2018

Beautiful Spanish style church. A friendly caretaker takes the time to show you around. The inner beams of the roof is made out of salvaged wood from old Spanish ships. (There is a nice optical illusion on the ceiling. A painted emblem shows the face of the Christ at one angle and tulip bulbs when viewed from another angle). According to the caretaker, this church holds only one of seven pregnant Virgin Mary statues on the world. The Gold plated altar is stunning.

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank ShiranVyasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews