We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lovely family, what a lovely stay”
Review of Hostal Buen Viaje

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Buen Viaje
Ranked #1 of 18 Remedios B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Lester and Naty are wonderful hosts, wonderful cooks and the house is spacious, clean and very pretty. The garden was tranquil, the food is fabulous, especially Lester's fish, the beds are very comfortable (a double bed each!!) and we had a great stay. Thank you!

Room Tip: We liked the middle room - privacy, nice & quiet and aircon
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorsetgardeners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (459)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

71 - 77 of 459 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2013

Without a doubt this is one of the nicest places to stay. Lester and Naty made us feel very comfortable and were so very helpful. Lester arranged a taxi out to the beach for us and told us a lot of Remedios history. The food was over the top! Both breakfast and especially dinner were presented like a 5 star restaurant. Sorry we had to leave. Thank you, Thankyou. William and Susan.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank susan a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed at Hostal Buen Viaje with Naty and Lester for two nites, January 18-19, 2013. It is one of our fondest memories of our trip to Cuba. As soon as you enter thru the door into the lovely colonial home and lush courtyard, and meet Naty and Lester, you know you've arrived in a special place. They are fantatic hosts and very kind and generous people and take pride and such good care of their home. The food was the best we ate in Cuba and it was wonderful to sit and talk in teh evenings and learn about life in Remedios. We were very glad we'd chosen to stay here and travel to see Santa Clara during the day rather than the opposite. We were helped with anything we needed including getting to and from Santa Clara, the bus to Moron and a taxi arranged to take us from there to Cayo Coco, as well as great rum, cigars and felt truly at home, and that we've made new friends who we hope to see again. I highly recommend this casa, and to spend a bit of time exploring the wonderfully kept colonial town. It is truly a gem!!! Thank you Naty and Lester for showing us what Cuba is truly all about!!!!!

Room Tip: If you are wanting to visit Santa Clara, this is a great alternate as somewhere to stay. Naty and L...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janfromvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Our stay lived up to our expectations. We enjoyed the accomodation January 5-6, 2013. Location is close to centre of town and Lester was great about helping keep the rental car safe during the night. They are also helpful about information and history of town and local areas.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smileydub423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

In remedios, a small town in Cuba, this is simply a wonderful place. Lester and Naty suceeed in creating a peaceful oasis (except when there is the Parrandas event....) in the middle of a really nice small town. An hostal just few meters from the central square. Nice and clean rooms, wonderful food, help to organize tour to Cayo Santa Maria attractions.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FabrizC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We spent 3 nights in December 2012 at Naty and Lesters casa and what a treat it was from beginning to end! They are such warm and friendly hosts.The lovely house with its tranquil courtyard was really appreciated and the food - breakfasts and evening meals-were excellent. Be warned dont have much to eat at lunch time as the quantities are large and you dont want to waste any! They will make you a little picnic if you think you will need it. Lester and Naty can arrange any outings you might like, taxi back to havana etc . We would recommend going out to the beaches with their relative Fidel in his jeep. He knows everyone, knows the beaches to go to and speaks good english and russian! We 'booked' him for 2 days and it rounded off a lovely 3 weeks for us in Cuba. This must be the best casa and food in Remedios . Jude and Nige Billingham

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judenige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

This was a beautifully renovated period home with lovely owners. Lester & Naty greeted us with a Cuban cigar which was a lovely gesture.We had 2 rooms & felt very comfortable. Breakfast was amazing & the hospitality second to none. We did have difficulty finding the place. It was festival time & that combined with the one way streets meant we met lots of locals..some more than once! Would suggest taking a map with ALL the street names listed. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Remedios
25.3 mi away
La Granjita
La Granjita
#1 of 7 in Santa Clara
283 reviews
0 mi away
Casa Colonial Perez-Ramos
Casa Colonial Perez-Ramos
#2 of 18 in Remedios
78 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Los Vitrales
Hostal Los Vitrales
#4 of 25 in Remedios
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.4 mi away
Hostal D' Cordero
Hostal D' Cordero
#1 of 57 in Santa Clara
326 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Colonial Frank and Arelys
0.1 mi away
Hostal Las Tradiciones
Hostal Las Tradiciones
#4 of 18 in Remedios
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Buen Viaje? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Buen Viaje

Address: Calle Andres del Rio No. 20 | e/ Enrique Malaret y Maximo Gomez, Remedios 52700, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Villa Clara Province > Remedios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Remedios
Price Range: $53 - $56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hostal Buen Viaje 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Buen Viaje Hostel, located in the city of San Juan de los Remedios, we rent two double rooms with air conditioning, comfortable beds and private bath. The guest can also enjoy furnished rooms to the colonial style, a fresh terrace with comfortable rocking-chairs, an inner garden, and a great courtyard with fruit trees.It maintains until today the high props of the wood ceilings, the austerity in the decoration and the natural light, which is complement with the necessary comfort and the familiar atmosphere in a balance of history and contemporaneity. The house is very advisable for those who look for proximity to the Central Park of the town, 150 meters from the same one; but simultaneously stillness and spacing of the noise of the traffic, the nightlife of the square, and the passers-by.¡IMPORTANT! ¿HOW TO FIND THE HOSTEL?Coming from Caibarien take the main street into Remedios. Keep right because street divides itself. When you see the church ¡¡WATCH OUT!! You are on A. del Rio. Andrés del Rio street is a different street. It is the next parallel street in the back of the church.Coming from Santa Clara you will need to take around the central park and find in the back of the second church Andres del Rio street. ¡¡WATCH OUT!! The hostel is located in Andres del Rio, not in A. del Rio street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hostal Buen Viaje reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing