We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Casa Particular in Cuba”
Review of Hostal Buen Viaje

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Buen Viaje
Ranked #1 of 16 Remedios B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Verona, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The best Casa Particular in Cuba”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

In a nutshell: the best place to spend some days in Cuba.
Remedios is very nice and absolutely genuine and true. The people are friendly with the tourist We have had some very exciting exchange of experiences with them, with NO one single interest in mind (different to La Habana, just to say).
The distance between Remedios and the Cayos is acceptable if you have a car. You can enjoy the Nature of the Playas (Las Salinas was our preferred one) and the "Pedraplen" beautiful landscape.

We were there during the three most exciting days in our trip to Cuba.

Lester and Naty, the house owners, are simply fantastic as host but particularly they became true friends.
They offer such a family's atmosphere that it was natural to spend every evening, after a fantastic dinner, all together to speak about everything and nothing, drinking a special "Ron de Santiago" and smoking a cigar in the marvelous patio.

Really, Cuba deserves a trip only to stay by Lester and Naty!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dondiego290260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    22
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
81
272
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
durham
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Lester and Naty were the most wonderful hosts and we had a brilliant time with them. The Casa was a wonderful traditional, colonial style house, with a beautiful courtyard garden. It was 50 yards from the main square Plaza Marti and they arranged secure parking for us. Their food was tremendous - in fact the best we had in Cuba. They were so friendly and helpful that we felt really sad to leave them. We thoroughly recommend this hostal. Remedious is a fascinating, old, traditional Cuban town, well worth a visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gilliandurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hale
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed three nights with Lester and Natie, the hostal was excellent and the food fantastic. The atmosphere was so good we feel we made friends for life. Nothing was too much trouble. Comfy beds and immaculately clean rooms. They deserve the Tripadvisor award they proudly display on their wall.We recommended this Casa to other travellers we met on our tour of Cuba and they have all contacted us to thank us for the tip. Remedios itself is a hidden gem . At first glance it seems a really quiet place but dig under the surface and the people are so friendly and approachable with none of the unwanted attention that Havana can sometimes provide. Can't wait to go again,

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nelee24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelling aussies
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We only stayed one night with Lester and Naty, but wished we could have stayed longer. All the reviews are true - they really are amazing hosts. Lester is probably the nicest person we have met on our world travels.
On top of their incredible hospitality, they also helped us visit Rancho Querete, which is a must see watering hole approx 30 mins from Remedios. Lester organised a driver and made our trip possible. It has to be seen to be believed. It has only recently been opened up to visitors, so get to it before it is over run with tourists!
Once again, both Lester and Naty were amazing and made us feel so welcomed. Lester also helped us with onward travel plans and even waited with us for over one hour on the corner as he had arranged for the bus to pick us up from there, because, of course - he is friends with the bus driver ! Anyone who meets Lester is sure to consider him a friend. He's a very special person. If you are thinking of staying here, consider your research complete. It is the right choice, you wont regret it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindaandandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

The second time we have stayed at this casa, it truly feels like home with the amazing hosts Lester & Naty. Just a great family,outstanding food( we had to tell them to cut-down on the quanity), beautiful relaxing casa, nice clean rooms,showers, and 2 blks. from the town plaza. You can't go wrong staying here and your hosts speak english. They introduced us to a lot of the people in Remedios, you can't find nicer people than in Remedios.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WayneK90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

My husband and I absolutely loved our stay in Hostal Buen Viaje. We highly recommend this Hostal. We had stayed couple of different Casa Particulares prior to Hostal Buen Viaje, but decided that this one was the best experience among them alll.

The rooms were spotless clean, and each room (two rooms only) has its own bathroom. The bathrooms were newly renovated. Laster and Naty are two wonderful (friendly) people who sincerely make sure your stay at their Casa nothing but the best times. They speak English which made our communication so much easier. They made the difference for us. They are very respectful your alone time at their place. The meals were delicious and you can tell they were prepared with love. You cannot go wrong by staying at this place. I promise :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hazel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
105 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

We really enjoyed our night in your lovely quiet home away, but very close, to the hussle and bussle of your small town. We were travelling with a couple of friends and all agree that your spacious rooms, if a little dark, with two double beds, were spotless and comfortable, as were the bathrooms. We thank you for your advice and warm welcome and for the private tour of your flouishing vegetable and fruit garden.
Both Lester & Naty are to be recommended for their superb cooking. Don't miss the opportunity to eat with them if invited! The salads, lobster and fish plate, with vegggies and other goodies was really good and most abundant. In fact we asked them to take some of the delicious food back into the kitchen, so as not to waste it. Breakfast was another feast, with fruit and strong scented freshly ground coffee for those of us who drank it. We certainly recommend Case Buenviaje and would definitely stay there on a future trip to Cuba.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Remedios
0.0 mi away
Casa Colonial Perez-Ramos
Casa Colonial Perez-Ramos
#2 of 16 in Remedios
73 reviews
26.5 mi away
Villa Colonial Frank y Arelys
34.3 mi away
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
#1 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
2,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.0 mi away
Starfish Cayo Santa Maria
Starfish Cayo Santa Maria
#7 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
2,142 reviews
31.5 mi away
Melia Buenavista
Melia Buenavista
#2 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
2,562 reviews
33.6 mi away
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
#4 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
6,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Buen Viaje? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Buen Viaje

Property: Hostal Buen Viaje
Address: Calle Andres del Rio No. 20 | e/ Enrique Malaret y Maximo Gomez, Remedios 52700, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Villa Clara Province > Remedios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Remedios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Buen Viaje Hostel, located in the city of San Juan de los Remedios, we rent two double rooms with air conditioning, comfortable beds and private bath. The guest can also enjoy furnished rooms to the colonial style, a fresh terrace with comfortable rocking-chairs, an inner garden, and a great courtyard with fruit trees.It maintains until today the high props of the wood ceilings, the austerity in the decoration and the natural light, which is complement with the necessary comfort and the familiar atmosphere in a balance of history and contemporaneity. The house is very advisable for those who look for proximity to the Central Park of the town, 150 meters from the same one; but simultaneously stillness and spacing of the noise of the traffic, the nightlife of the square, and the passers-by.¡IMPORTANT! ¿HOW TO FIND THE HOSTEL?Coming from Caibarien take the main street into Remedios. Keep right because street divides itself. When you see the church ¡¡WATCH OUT!! You are on A. del Rio. Andrés del Rio street is a different street. It is the next parallel street in the back of the church.Coming from Santa Clara you will need to take around the central park and find in the back of the second church Andres del Rio street. ¡¡WATCH OUT!! The hostel is located in Andres del Rio, not in A. del Rio street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Hostal Buen Viaje reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing