We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special”
Review of Kawiarnia Weranda

Kawiarnia Weranda
Ranked #2 of 26 Restaurants in Jastarnia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Polish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: This place was so great we ate here 2 days in a row. Being a picky eater, I had the same thing 2x but I LOVED it (pork cutlets in a wild mushroom cream sauce--very delish!). My husband had different fish each day and said both were fantastic. There's an outdoor eating section as well as indoor decorated in a country nautical theme which was tasteful and not kitschy. Highly recommended (and not super expensive by US standards), especially in Jastarnia where it appears most of the restaurants are more of the low-end variety.
Wroclaw, Poland
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Service - we were waiting for long time...
Food - nothing special but not bad I have to say
Interior - very nice design

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank miecz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    56
    18
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gdynia, Poland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Visiting Hel Peninsula ? Eat there !”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

While visiting Hel Peninsula one may find "thousands" of places to eat. However to select something good, offering fresh and good quality of food is really not easy. I can sincerely recommend Weranda in Jastarnia. We (my family) were there just recently following recommendations from our friends. All was exactly as we were told. If you like fish which is normally a consumer target going to Hel Peninsula: order a cod crispy fish - very fresh and tasteful. My wife took a salmon served on potato pancake - delicious. Our son having in mind some meat ordered a pork also on potato pancakes. He was very happy as meat was tender and juicy. Afterwards - deserts (very good !), coffee and tea. We were served by young man (supposed student) who was kind enough and offering us some good meal recommendations. You can tables inside and partly outside (on weranda) All in all: it is really worth to visit that place. The only negative : it might be a difficult to get a table as we heard that restaurant is rather full in July / August, however if you are lucky like we were that sunny afternoon....

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Radoslaw C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skierniewice, Poland
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great desserts, coffee and tea!!”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Nice atmosphere and really good desserts (especially cakes)!!
The owner bake them by herself!
Recommend!!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Kasia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice place with deliscious pancakes”
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Where to start... The first time we went it was hard to get a sit. The problem was that there wasn't even an interest to give us one nor attention paid to newcomers. I think this place since it is a restaurant lacks a manager. Nevertheless we got the sits the second time. I recommend pancakes which were delicious!!! We also had a dinner and pork wasn't so good as we hoped but grilled salmon very nice with cooked potetos and side salades. The value is of course higher then in any other places you might go here in Jastarnia but to be honest we were on holidays and therefore we more eager not to pay attention to such things and just enjoy it. Service not to bad though there is always room for improvement.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MeMyszka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodz, Poland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed February 28, 2011

It is funny thing with this place. During a summer, in high season it is hard to find the free table over there. And in low season you never know is it open or not. But if you are lucky enough, you can find it open also during a winter. And it is definitely worth to eat there. Not only because there is no cometition atound, every things closed, but specially because there is top of the top food. We recommend you kashubian breakfast, which is sunny side up egg on fried smoked salmon. Delicious! Just beveled Christmas we were lucky to eat there homemade dumplings with cabbage and mushrooms. Heaven!

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Berenique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kawiarnia Weranda also viewed

Jastarnia, Pomerania Province
Jastarnia, Pomerania Province
 
Jastarnia, Pomerania Province
Jastarnia, Pomerania Province
 

Been to Kawiarnia Weranda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing