We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small top hostel”
Review of El Apolillo Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
El Apolillo Hostel
Nantes, France
Level 6 Contributor
607 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
“Small top hostel”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Run by an English-speaking young woman, this newish hostel is very, very nice. Excellent value for money, friendly vibes and good advice. Quite comfortable and very well located. A surprise in this out of the way place. Perfect place to stay overnight before crossing into Bolivia. Book ahead as it is quite small.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JFLR187198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    14
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
7
23
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tilcara, Argentina
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

This is one of the best and cleanest hostels we've stayed in Argentina. We had a double room with private bathroom. The room was big, comiurful and clean. Good bathroom with warm water. It's a happy place. I think this hostel is very cute, well maintained and a great clean kitchen. The owner is very friendly and helpful. Badic breakfast, but nothing to complain for 35 USD a night. Great location, it's a small town anyway. This hostel is pure happiness I liked it a lot. I can strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viajando4567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

This is the kind of hostel that makes you wonder why anyone spends five times as much to stay in a hotel. As well as great facilities - wide screen TV in cosy den, decent hot water, billiard table, well-equipped, pin-clean kitchen, Internet as good as the local signal allows (not that good, yet) - it has really charming decor, in a bright, quirky way. The rooms are not large nor fancy, but they´re appealing, and you won´t spend too much time in them as the shared spaces are so pleasant, with lots of sitting areas and sofas indoors and out. Owners Marcella and Javi are lovely and helpful and invested and this feels as much a home as a business. Oh, and they found somewhere out of the rain to put our bikes.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mywesterngirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

This is a very nice hostel. If quiaca would offer more we would have stayed there longer. The common area is very comfy (and heated!! As are the rooms). You have warm water in the shower. Everything is clean and the breakfast is simple but nice. The wifi is not that good.
As la quiaca is very small you can walk from the hostel to every place easily.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Easyfish13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

we arrived here after travelling for 4 weeks through Argentina and I couldn´t believe my eyes when we arrived..... Marcella & Javi have put a lot of details into their place and it has such a nice atmosphere that we stayed for 3 nights.
We had a private room which was very clean, warm and even had feather duvets.
The kitchen and living area are very tastefully decorated and we enjoyed cooking/ barbequing with Javi every night. Beeing so close to the border we also changed our plans and instead of going back south we decided to go north to Bolivia and Peru. Marcella had great tips and advice on the travelling north and even helped us to buy backpacks in Bolivia and shipped our suitcases back to Buenos Aires.
For us it was the best hostel by far, best value for money with 5* standard and attention to detail. Laundry service, free wifi, botled water & beer for sale, pool table!!!
I wish I could come back.
We traveld with 2 kids aged 3 &5years

Room Tip: Don´t stay only one night
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatrinLudik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

The family who run this hostel live there and are available all the time. I was on my own in a clean dorm with a lovely ensuite bathroom. The owners are extremely helpful and friendly with advice on crossing the border and changing money. I would stay here again happily.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judybrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

This is a great little hostel to stay at for a day or two when crossing the Argentine/Bolivian border. After a long journey, this was a welcome relief. Clean and very comfortable. Easily one of the best bathrooms I have come across in months. Large lockers and plenty of space in the dorms. Large communal areas to relax in as well as a big enough kitchen. Good breakfast and lots of good advice on how to cross the border as well as visit all the major tourist attraction in both Bolivia and Argentina. WiFi is a little on the slow side, but that would come as no surprise - internet in general doesn't seem all that good up on the puna.

Room Tip: All rooms looked equally comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaytonBurne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Quiaca
0.3 mi away
Hosteria Refugio del Sol
Hosteria Refugio del Sol
#2 of 5 in La Quiaca
36 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Munay La Quiaca
Hotel Munay La Quiaca
#3 of 5 in La Quiaca
37 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostel Copacabana
Hostel Copacabana
#1 of 7 in La Quiaca
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
El Mirador de Yavi
El Mirador de Yavi
#1 of 5 in Yavi
10 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Candelaria
La Candelaria
#1 of 5 in La Quiaca
23 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Frontera
Hotel Frontera
#5 of 5 in La Quiaca
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Apolillo Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Apolillo Hostel

Property: El Apolillo Hostel
Address: Arabe Siria 146, La Quiaca 4650, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Northern Argentina > Province of Jujuy > La Quiaca
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in La Quiaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hi! I invite you to meet us, we´re el Apolillo Hostel, a new option in la Quiaca, for backpackers looking for a friendly and good energy place, that keeps the tru spirit of a hostel.Strategically located,we´re 5 blocks from the bus station and 8 blocks from the border that links us to villazon,bolivia.El apolillo is an old recycled house,built of adobe(mud)and local materials.The place is run by its owners who are in every detail. Has a fully equipped communal kitchen,room satellite t.v.,games, a rich library,free internet and wi-fi.for meeting friends or enjoy a starry skay,our patio grill is the ideal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your El Apolillo Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing