We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sicilian experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Borgo San Rocco Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Savoca
Certificate of Excellence
Bucarest
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Sicilian experience”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Lovely hotel. Location, views, staff. Excellent service provided by Francesca, Francesco and Vittorio.

Be careful when driving to the top of the hill, a bigger car will be very hard to steer on the narrow roads. Also, if you used to have an automatic gear box, do no try to learn to use a manual one while driving to Savoca.

Minus: breakfast quite limited, especially after one week we missed a bigger variation.
Also, being out of season we could not test the pool, but this was nobody's fault, only too cold

Plus: we had excellent dinners almost every night in the hotel restaurant, tasting more than delicious dishes.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Calator77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    53
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
95
200
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

One of a kind. The resort, the views, the tranquil Sicilian country side and the stunning setting of the small village are second to none. But put all that aside, nothing beats the personal and exceptional service by the owner, Vittorio, his son Francesco, the lovely Francesca and all the staff. Lots of lovely little gestures that made us feel like we are home away from home. Furthermore, don't bother eating anywhere else other than the resorts own restaurant Pentefour - a mouthwatering dish after dish of fresh and local specialities at a very decent price. You really have to experience it to understand the quality of the amazing food served here. To anyone visiting, I would suggest renting a car if you are planning to visit other parts of Sicily (Taormina is 20 minutes away), but with the breath taking views of Savoca, I wouldn't want to go anywhere else. We will definitely be returning soon!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacqueline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmingdale, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

My husband's mother was from Savoca. We had visited Savoca once before but that was before the Borg San Rocco was there. So, for our 50th wedding anniversary we thought it would be nice to visit again.
We made reservations at IL Borgo for three nights. The hospitality was endearing. Vittorio, the owner, could not do enough to make our stay a memorable one. He greeted us with a glass of wine and personally carried our luggage to our room. Regional dishes were expertly prepared and elegantly served. The wine was wonderful too. It was all so magical!
It always amazes me how fluent Europeans are in the English language. They all speak at least two languages-----and well.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank janet l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We wanted to visit a Sicilian village that hadn't been too touch by commercialism. We found it in the Borgo San Rocco Resort. Our only regret is only having booked 2 nights. After an adventureous drive on the narrow and winding road way up to Savoca we were welcomed by the charming innkeeper/owner, Vittorio. He insisted we sit and have a glass of wine before we even unloaded our baggage and check in. Everything is so relaxed and beautiful. May we recommend you make your drive up to the resort during daylight. As it is a challenging drive, we wished we hadn't done it at 9:30 pm. The wine was most welcome and needed after that. Our room had a lovely view of the hills and the sea. Sadly, we had misty and some light rain during our stay. We walked into the village and explored a bit. Charming is an understatement. Our room was away from the main building. It was clean and quiet. The evening meal was delicious. Breakfast had a wide variety of offerings, but no cooked breakfast, though that was fine with us. We enjoyed our server, Marco, but the poor man was stretched having to serve all 8 tables. Thank you to all the staff for their geniune warmth and all their help. Hoping we will be able to return one day and stay with them longer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

We left the hotel 12-hours ago, and I'm currently sitting on Ile St. Louis in Paris, wishing I was back at Borgo San Rocco.

My husband says my secret superpower is booking amazing travel at great prices. My husband and I have stayed at 5-star hotels around the world and this was simply our best hotel visit ever. The setting is incredible: the hotel blends seamlessly into the picturesque town of Savoca. It overlooks seemingly infinite amounts of Sicily's abundant resources: the sea, steep cliffs, and buildings older than our country.

We stayed in two rooms: 303 the first night (superior) and then we upgraded to 304 (suite) so I could take a bath. Both rooms had exquisite sea views that I could never tire of (see my photos). Next time, I think we'll try 301, for the slightly bigger balcony.

The most impeccable part of Borgo San Rocco was the service. Francesca could not have been more pleasant or helpful, and the owner, Vitorio is unassuming, generous, gracious, and kind. I was gravely disappointed by the lunch options in town and arrived back to San Rocco at 2pm, starving. The hotel's kitchen was closed for the entire day, but Vitorio took us back to the hotel kitchen and made us a fresh lunch of pasta AND TAUGHT US TO COOK IT with fresh herbs from the garden! I couldn't have planned a better meal or experience. Then, later in the stay, Vitorio treated us to some sparkling wine to celebrate a victory at my husband's job! I could go on and on about the amazing service and special touches, but you really need to experience it for yourself. We love, love, LOVED Borgo San Rocco and will be back!!!

PS, one piece of advice I wish someone had given us: bring bug spray! We were eaten alive all over Sicily.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank bschoolbound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
112 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

This is an amazing hotel in a amazing location. Vittorio makes this place even better. Deborah at reception is an angel. Great food (breakfast and dinner), beautiful room and amazing services. There is always something funny going on at the terrace at the front of the hotel without it being annoying. There's always people there relaxing while sipping a glass of wine. When you want to be by yourself, there's a million place where you can hide to read a book, carefree. I hope I have the pleasure to go back as soon as possible in this beautiful and relaxing atmosphere. Nothing can compare to that vacation with everybody and cheserinna.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marjo210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

The uniqueness and hospitality found at Borgo San Rocco overrides any star rating. This splendidly located hotel, situated on a hill top in Savoca, an ancient village up narrow and winding streets (more on access later), is run with panache by owner Vittorio, a dapper Milanese who retired here and spent many years building his hotel.
We were checked-in for a week, occupying two sea view rooms between our party of three adults. Our rooms, furnished with dark wood antique furniture were well equipped with the usual TV, minibar and phone. The balconies were private with a stone balcony wall, however, if seated, you were unable to appreciate the extensive views until you stood up. Some other rooms did have balconies with railings, better to take in the views. The tile and marble compact sized bathrooms comprising of shower, wash basin, w.c.,and bidet had modern fittings, were clean and smart.
We were booked half board - dinner, bed and breakfast. The dining room, offering super views across the valleys, is plainly furnished with white linen clothed tables. The atmosphere would benefit from more subtle lighting. Four courses were available to us, each comprising of three choices, although after a few days we had the impression that it was a bit repetitious, however, the dishes were well presented and cooked using local sourced herbs and fresh vegetables, often featuring fish. Desert choices disappointed. Local organic wines at eighteen euros were very good. Service was excellent thanks to Marco, the lone and hard working waiter, though he was stretched when the dining room was well occupied. More help needed there. During the evening the effervescent Vittorio would tour the tables, chatting to guests, not too intrusively, ensuring all was well and administering a helping hand if needed and very often supplying a complimentary liquor at the meal's conclusion. Vittorio was always dressed smartly casual unlike his adult son who was, unfortunately, more "grunge" casual, who's presence was more discreet and less outgoing. A previous poster also negatively observed the son's attire.
Breakfasts were either served in the dining room or outside on a small terrace, depending on weather, and consisted of a continental buffet with fruit juices, yogurts, cereals, boiled eggs, pastries and choice of cold meats and cheese. There were none of the cooked options you usually find in four star hotels.
The public areas consisted solely of a reception extending to lounge/bar area elegantly furnished with antique seating and tastefully subtle lighting.
The good-sized free-form swimming pool is located below the hotel down a winding private road, not far as the crow flies but a trek on foot, you can drive to it though. The pool, featuring water spouts and jacuzzi, is set in a spacious grassed area with washrooms and a snack bar, although when we were there the snack bar was not operating.
The friendly but efficient reception staff were always very helpful with local information.
Further to the hotel's vehicular access, fairly straight forward from the nearby coast, follow brown "Savoca" signs, but though the well-surfaced roads are fine up to the village of Savoca they become very narrow between stone buildings and rock walls once in the village. I wouldn't advise attempting a visit in a large car or people carrier, small/medium cars are o.k. but care needs to be taken to follow the directional "Borgo San Rocco" signs once in the village, but take a wrong turning and you might end up wedging your rental car down an impossibly narrow street. If in doubt stop and walk ahead to check direction.
Overall, this is a comfortable and unique hotel in superb setting run by dedicated owner and his small staff, impossible and unfair to compare with a Hilton or Radisson. It is reasonable value in the context of what it offers.

Room Tip: Rooms 402 and 403 have sea views but stone balcony walls limit view when seated. Some other rooms ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Savoca
7.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
63.7 mi away
Hotel Borgo Pantano
Hotel Borgo Pantano
#1 of 75 in Syracuse
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
81.6 mi away
Artemisia Resort
Artemisia Resort
#1 of 38 in Ragusa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,730 reviews
7.5 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
11.6 mi away
Castello di San Marco Charming Hotel & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borgo San Rocco Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo San Rocco Resort

Property: Borgo San Rocco Resort
Address: Via San Rocco, 98038 Savoca, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Savoca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Savoca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Borgo San Rocco Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savoca arroccata su una collina che domina il mare è tra i borghi più belli d'Italia e offre paesaggi mozzafiato, storia e cultura, infatti il regista F.F. Coppola la scelse per girare le scene de Il Padrino.. Il Resort Borgo San Rocco è un albergo diffuso e si integra perfettamente nel contesto medioevale di Savoca: forse per le vecchie abitazioni dei pescatori ristrutturate e trasformate in accoglienti camere d'Hotel o per il relax, la privacy, il buon cibo o per l'accoglienza speciale per i suoi ospiti. Suite, Junior Suite, Superior e camere familiari insieme alla bellissima piscina completano la sensazione di una magica atmosfera.Vittorio e Francesco e tutto lo staff vi aspettano per bere un ottimo bicchiere di vino siciliano e degustare le freschissime tentazioni del nostro Chef Francesco Tosto nella nostra terrazza dei pensieri... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Borgo San Rocco Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borgo San Rocco Resort Savoca, Sicily, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing