We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sincere hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Borgo San Rocco Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Savoca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 25, 2012

First of all the never seen before warm welcome of the owner mr. Vittorio at 1:00 at night. The room was very good, great climate control. It's amazingly quiet in this peacefull little town on the hills of eastern Sicily. Great views at the sea. Breakfast: delicious, dinner: delicious. Staff is very very friendly. At Borgo San Rocco Resort you get real sincere hospitality. We really enjoyed the pool as well. Nice and quiet with an amazing view.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sjoerd v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (419)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 419 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2012

Tks to my job i have been in many places arnd the world...with no doubt Borgo San Rocco deserve a shining star into my personal agenda.
Amazing position , fantastic swimming pool, excellent restaurant ...i can go on but i do not want to be boring...
2 more things i wish to underline
1st: the incrdible quitness of the place....if you drop a coin on the floor you run the risk to wake up the whole village
2nd...special tks to the staff and to the owners Francesco and Vittorio....they give you one more reason to be their guests

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fabio60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2011

This is a very beautiful place for people who search for quietness. The hotel is situated in the mountains in the old quiet city of Savoca. We stayed in a superior room and this was great! Very beautiful and breathtaking view from the window. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Personal approach to each guest. There is a good restaurant, a swimming pool with the mountain view. It is preferable to have a car to have a possibility to enjoy nearest sights. The hotel is worth staying for sure!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewJilin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2011

We spent a week at Borgo San Rocco at the end of August. We arrived at the hotel very late after a long journey and were welcomed by friendly staff and a delicious cold plate of local antipasti and a bottle of Sicilian red. What more could you ask for?
Our room was comfortable and nicely furnished, the swimming pool, which we often had to ourselves, was large and had great sea views and the hotel's restaurant offered traditional Sicilian fayre that was freshly sourced each morning.
We would certainly go back, but next time we'd make sure we hired a tiny car to get us there through the narrow, hilly roads!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hannahkirstyhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

I would like to thank Vittorio and Francesco for doing their utmost to make our stay an unforgettable one ..... Everything was perfect

Ow and by the way …. The roads in Savoca are not so narrow, we made it through with a BMW X5

Will go back for sure ....

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2011

The resort Borgo San Rocco is located in the hills not too far from Taormina. Getting there felt like a bit of an adventure as we left the highway, drove through a town then up the windy road to the hills and then through the village of Savoca. The last kilometer or so of the drive goes through the medieval streets of Savoca which were not designed for motorized traffic so can be a bit tricky to negotiate – particularly if you are unlucky enough to meet a car coming the other way on a street barely wider than the width of your car. Driving there is definitely not for the faint hearted. Once you arrive though you are greeted with some fabulous views of the surrounding hills and out to sea. The village of Savoca is fairly small but has a couple of cafes and restaurants and exploring the village is a good way to spend a day. The crypt of the Capuchin monastery is interesting and the town is where parts of The Godfather movies were filmed so you can find memorabilia all around town. There is not too much else to do in the local area though so unless you plan to spend time lazing by the pool then you will have to get in the car and drive somewhere.

The Borgo San Rocco Resort is a new hotel – 2 years old when we were there - on the outskirts of the town. The building is very nice and is built around an old house parts of which have been preserved. The hotel has a large pool which is located a few minutes walk away.

Our room was a little smaller than we expected though still a reasonable size. When we arrived, the TV, minibar and air conditioning were not working but this was very quickly resolved when we reported it to reception with profuse apologies. WIFI access is available in the room by getting a password from reception.

The hotel restaurant is excellent. The chef buys all the ingredients locally each day so the menu changes daily based on what is available. The choice each day is rather limited with just four or five options for each course. The menu rather undersells each item. We tried the “Pasta with breadcrumbs” which sounded quite mundane but was actually a delicious pasta with tomatoes, herbs and breadcrumbs. Surely they could come up with a better name for it? The same for “Wet Fish” which is actually steamed fish with vegetables. We ate at the restaurant on a couple of occasions and all the meals we had were exceptionally well cooked – particularly the fish. Only local wines are available. This makes the choice rather limited. When we asked for white wine on our first visit, the waiter said “Certainly, would you like the good one?”. It was very good though – and only 15 EUR.

The hotel is owned and run by a local family who are exceptionally friendly and helpful. They really could not do enough for us during our stay. The service there was excellent.

In summary, Resort Borgo San Rocco is a very pleasant place for a relaxing stay as long as you are not a nervous driver.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShaunW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

We've stayed with our 2 sons of 8 and 9 in Borgo San Rocco in August 2011. The way up to the hill was so small, that we couldn't imagine that we were right. When we arrived at the Borgo, we were surprised, as you have breathtaking views. The rooms, swimming pool, breakfast, were very beautifull, excellent!!! This is really the best we've seen in Sicily. The owners, Vittorio and Francesco and staff were very warm and friendly. All very special people!! We'll never forget the place and the people. If we go back to Sicily, we'll choose Borgo San Rocco again for sure. We highly recommend the Resort. It is a paradise!!

Fam. van den Heuvel - Holland

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank chrisheuvel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Savoca
7.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 87 in Taormina
2,073 reviews
7.1 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
11.6 mi away
Castello di San Marco Charming Hotel & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#6 of 87 in Taormina
1,860 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#5 of 87 in Taormina
900 reviews
81.6 mi away
Artemisia Resort
Artemisia Resort
#1 of 37 in Ragusa
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borgo San Rocco Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo San Rocco Resort

Address: Via San Rocco, 98038 Savoca, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Savoca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Savoca
Price Range: $113 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Borgo San Rocco Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savoca arroccata su una collina che domina il mare è tra i borghi più belli d'Italia e offre paesaggi mozzafiato, storia e cultura, infatti il regista F.F. Coppola la scelse per girare le scene de Il Padrino.. Il Resort Borgo San Rocco è un albergo diffuso e si integra perfettamente nel contesto medioevale di Savoca: forse per le vecchie abitazioni dei pescatori ristrutturate e trasformate in accoglienti camere d'Hotel o per il relax, la privacy, il buon cibo o per l'accoglienza speciale per i suoi ospiti. Suite, Junior Suite, Superior e camere familiari insieme alla bellissima piscina completano la sensazione di una magica atmosfera.Vittorio e Francesco e tutto lo staff vi aspettano per bere un ottimo bicchiere di vino siciliano e degustare le freschissime tentazioni del nostro Chef Francesco Tosto nella nostra terrazza dei pensieri... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Borgo San Rocco Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borgo San Rocco Resort Savoca, Sicily, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing