We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special romantic "hideaway".”
Review of Hotel L'isola

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel L'isola
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Santa Marinella
Reviewed May 22, 2012

We spent one night only ( wished it were more) at Santa Marinella with Francesco and staff. They made us feel like family. It was clean, comfortable, a beautiful location, and homey! Hope we can return again some day to visit our Italian friends we made in just 24 hrs. This was a great FIND!

Room Tip: Room 103 had a great view. It isn't a restaurant but the breakfast was wonderful. All of the sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dee1265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 178 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2012

We stayed at Hotel in Aug 2011 prior to going on fantastic cruise. The hotel is only 5-10 mins from Santa Marinella train station so we decided to walk but we got lost so took us 30 mins as it was not signposted.
Hotel is in a small square which is nice, reception is very small area, but staff helpful. The disappointed for me was our bedroom was not in the reception part of the hotel you had to walk outside the reception and along the road a bit where we were met with a flight of steeps stairs. The room was small facing the square, it had no air conditioning just a fan - not good as I had read on their webpage that hotel had air conditioning. I believe air con is only in reception area.. The room was adequate although small. We did manage to visit the beach which was pleasant and have a lovely pizza meal in a restaurant not far from the hotel on the marina front.
Although we enjoyed our one night stay I would not have be able to stay two nights without air con as it gets so hot in the summer. Maybe it would have been better if we had a room that faced the sea.
However, with only 15-20mins from the Port where the cruise liners leave it is well positioned to get to the cruise early the next day.

Room Tip: Asked for a room facing sea to get cool breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

We were driving at night, looking for a hotel to sleep. We´d been to some hotels on the way, but they were all expensive for just a sleep on a monday night.
Arriving at this hotel, the owner, Francesco, very sympathetic, and made everything to help.
The room was another pleasent surprise. Large, clean, with a view to the sea.
The waves breaking against the rocks is a perfect sound to sleep.
Very good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with "vista al mare"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nsarquis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

We arrived late and wondered where on earth we were going. Then it was one pleasant surprise after another. A warm welcome. Free parking outside. A large clean room with balcony and a fabulous view of the coast. Pretty breakfast room ( with fresh squeaze- it -yourself orange juice and great coffee) overlooking the sea. A good little restaurant next door. A delightful hotel not far from Rome either ...what a great find!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fromexperience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

We stayed here the night before getting on a cruise out of Civitavecchia. It had been recommended by fellow cruiser who had used the rail to get to the port. We had a car, easily found the hotel with parking, one advantage of a small town. Our room faced the ocean, we enjoyed the small balcony & the fresh air. Rooms were clean and comfortable, great value. Breakfast was included, coffees made to order as well as fresh baked pastries, fruit & yogurts.Great stop over pre or post cruise. Close to the beach, restaurants and shops. Great small town feel from hotel staff & area merchants.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhodogal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2011

My husband and I stayed at this hotel in October, it was our first stop in Italy and it was definitely a positive one. The staff helped with our luggage and recommended several good restaurants. They made accomodations to store our luggage while we traveled to Florence and back for a cruise scheduled later in the week. The next morning we were surprised at the views right outside our room window. Breakfast was wonderful and when I asked about internet service in the small town, so we could send email to our daughters in the states, they did not hesitate to offer their office computer. We would definitely stay here again, but longer than just 1 night next time.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2011

We stayed at Hotel I’sola for two days before heading to Tuscany for a month; it was a great way to avoid the hectic traffic in Rome. The hotel deserves all of the great reviews that it gets on TA. Even though we arrived late at night, Francesco greeted us warmly, helped with our luggage and even arranged for the small restaurant next door to serve us a delicious meal. Our room was large, the bed comfy and the view was “molto bella”. We had a small balcony that overlooked palm trees lining the shore of the Tyrrhenian Sea. The breeze through the windows was cool and refreshing.
The hotel served us a tasty breakfast of pastries, meats, cheeses, fruit, cereal and lattes. We enjoyed conversing with our hostess Anna, and she was patient while I practiced my Italian with her. I learned that she and I share the same birthdate. Her daughter Natali was also very hospitable and friendly. We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to stay outside Rome. The staff is excellent !

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the balcony and view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kubina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Marinella
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa delle Palme
Hotel Villa delle Palme
#1 of 13 in Santa Marinella
91 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villino Gregoraci Relais
Villino Gregoraci Relais
#6 of 13 in Santa Marinella
51 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Il Gabbiano
Hotel Il Gabbiano
#3 of 13 in Santa Marinella
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Portofina
Hotel Portofina
#7 of 13 in Santa Marinella
150 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel San Giorgio
Hotel San Giorgio
#1 of 10 in Civitavecchia
766 reviews
5 mi away
Tenuta dell'Argento Resort
Tenuta dell'Argento Resort
#4 of 10 in Civitavecchia
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'isola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'isola

Address: Piazza Trieste 6, 00058, Santa Marinella, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Santa Marinella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Santa Marinella
Price Range: $79 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel L'isola 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely hotel in the centre of town with sea view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel L'isola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel l Isola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing