We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Stay”
Review of The Colonel's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Colonel's Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Prescott B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Lovely, very clean accommodations. Jane is warm, welcoming and eager to ensure you have an enjoyable experience at her Inn. I appreciated how welcomed my 1 year old son was. We stayed in May 2013 and look forward to a return visit to this beautiful home with these gracious hosts.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nature1_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
There are newer reviews for The Colonel's Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 69 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2012

We found this gem at our Canadian Thanksgiving 2011. This year, but later in the month, we opted to stay again to meet the same friends. We had the Colonel's Room on the second floor of the main house and we appreciated the earlier departure arrangements made for us to have breakfast. Regrettably, we only had one night there this time, but it is always memorable. I could not rate the pool or fitness facilities as October is a bit chilly for the pool and fitness was not high on the agenda. Wifi is available and the pool table is in excellent shape ! :)

Room Tip: Depending on your needs, there is something to fit. Check the online room descriptions and then cal...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johanna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I highly recommend the Colonel's Inn - Geoff and Jane were so pleasant to deal with and very accommodating to my last minute needs! My entire family stayed at the Colonel's Inn for 2 nights and everyone was thrilled with the picturesque grounds, beautifully decorated rooms, friendly nature of the staff and last but not least - the pool! Thank you very much Geoff and Jane for making our wedding weekend a very special one!

Joanne and Nick

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMR416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Really echo Mike L's review....was on this bike trip with 6 cyclists. Geoff went above and beyond for our entire stay. His pride in his B&B is clear for all to see.

I hope to return at some point with my wife. This was one of the best B&B experiences I have had, definitely better than many hotels I've stayed in over the past few years...Thanks Geoff!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisC155019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Our group of 6 cyclists rode from Kingston to Prescott. Never having stayed at a Bed and Breakfast before I didn't know what to expect. We were greeted at the door by the owner Geoff, who from the minute we arrived went over and above to make us feel welcome including providing us a secure location to store our bikes. The house is 174 years old and is just stunning to look at. We had the whole top floor plus one other room on the second floor. Upon arriving, Geoff offered to wash and dry all of our riding clothes which was a huge help. Geoff recommended a good restaurant to us for dinner and surprised us by calling the restaurant ahead of time to ensure a table was waiting when we arrived. After a great night's sleep we awoke to an amazing breakfast complete with what has to be the best fruit salad I have ever had! To top it all off, while we were eating breakfast, Geoff called on our behalf to verify whether the border crossing we were planning to use allowed bikes to cross the bridge. It turns out they didn't and we were saved an extra 15 km of riding.

All in all a magnificent stay. I recommend the Colonel's Inn without hesitation. I may now only want to stay at Bed and Breakfasts.

Room Tip: Ask for the King room on the upper floor. It is huge.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Beautiful old home well done with many antiques Our rooms were very comfortable and breakfast was very well done The main thing we liked about this place was the hosts. They have character and are so interesting. Jane will do anything to make your stay top notch. The town is very pleasant with some good pubs, historical sites, and fabulous setting on the Seaway. Billiard room, pool and huge front porch are all added surprises and made our stay even more wonderful.
Its not the pricey Victorian stuffed shirt 5 star B&B but the character of the place the hosts and the value make it 5 stars in our opinion, we would love to go back indeed.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Auxano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We are 8 couples that travel every year and stay for 3 nights during the Canada Day Holiday long weekend. The men golf every morning and the ladies tour or shop. This home is ideal for such groups; has all the amenities including a heated pool. It is located close to the highway, one block from the St. Lawrence River and has several restaurants that can provide take out so you can have your dinners in and don't have to worry about drinking and driving. Great golf courses within 5 to 30 minutes drive; we played the Prescott Golf & C.C., Smugglers Glen (great course) and Upper Canada. Towns like Brockville, Merrickville are a short distance away for sightseeing and dining. The owners Jane & Geoff are very helpful and will ensure you have a great stay. Please note that not all the rooms have a/c and some require sharing of bathrooms.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hamatyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prescott
3.5 mi away
Quality Inn Gran-View
Quality Inn Gran-View
#1 of 5 in Ogdensburg
132 reviews
12.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 6 in Brockville
266 reviews
12.0 mi away
The Noble Suites Experiences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brockville
1.6 mi away
Dewar's Inn on the River
10.3 mi away
Super 8 Brockville
Super 8 Brockville
#4 of 6 in Brockville
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Colonel's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colonel's Inn

Address: 408 East Street, Prescott, Ontario K0E 1T0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Prescott
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Prescott
Price Range: $82 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Colonel's Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 1838 Stone Manor and 1909 Carriage House is a step back in time - to the beginning of settlement in Canada. The rooms are nicely appointed with many antiques throughout. Comfortable and close to lovely walks on The St. Lawrence River and Fort Wellington is on the corner. We have simple rooms with shared bathrooms, lovely small self contained suites with fireplaces (gas) and private opulent Loft Suite with whirlpool bath & fireplace. We have a 3 bedroom apartment on the 3rd floor which is mostly used by large families with budget in mind - sleeps 6-8. Full cooked breakfast, games room with billiard table and a lovely swimming pool round out a terrific place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Colonel's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Colonel's Inn Prescott, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing