We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute hell hole !!!!”
Review of Charnwood Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Charnwood Arms
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Coalville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An absolute hell hole !!!!”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I hated every minute of my stay at this rat infested hell hole the food must have been cooked on the engine of the burnt out car in the kids play area. The waitresses are rude arrogant pigs who are too busy troweling their make up on.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank foodloverofcoalville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    46
    33
    23
    17
See reviews for
22
48
7
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kingswinford, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We had the only executive room and i cannot fault the space, a seperate lounge area with Big TV and a large bathroom. The room could do with decorating though and there is a fire escape door in the bedroom which had a broken lock and chain, as this was open to the stairway for public access to other rooms it was a bit of a worry. Other than that the bed was very hard to sleep on and so the mattress definately needs uprading.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Stayed here with my other half for two nights when visiting family. Only £15 a night each so £60 for two nights for both of us. The room was clean, lovely double bed, Tv with easy to use freeview. You're in your own little private 'chalet' which i thought was great as you can drive right up to your room. The bathroom was very clean, included a bath and shower. We didnt have breakfast included so I can't say what the food is like, although in march 2011 I went for a meal in the resturant and it was lovely,cheap pub food. The only down side was a cleaner/maid tried to enter the room before we had checked out (an hour early) she apologised through the door and we laughed as my other half wasn't 'decent' at the time (good job we had the chain across the door) all in all not a bad place. Will stay again when visiting family for sure!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lily D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I had this hotel booked for me by work so had no choice in this one, but if i had had a choice i would have walked out on the first night.
1. Room was not i feel prepared for a new guest felt dirty and unwelcoming.
2. the toilet seat was broken and heavily stained( I'll say no more). Seat was repaired an attempt was made to clean it be my request to replace it fell on deaf ears.
3. mattress smelt stale and felt old and saggy.
4. Breakfast on the first morning was simple choice full English or nothing as there was no breakfast bar laid out as there was the rest of my 5 night stay. Manageress was UNHELPFUL to say the least. Asked for toast any it was like i had asked her to make the bread, toast it, butter it and then lay it on the table.
5. Evening meals were not to bad, but as with the morning the staff don't seem to care about the customer with little or no manners from the staff.
6. The main road along side the hotel is used as a racetrack by the local fast and furious copycats leading to most nights having to listen to the roar of exhausts while trying to work in my room.
Overall this was a poor hotel and i have cancelled a further visit for another hotel.....

Room Tip: Look elsewhere i am afraid.........
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nik1966_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Coalville hotels

Hythe, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Charnwood Arms meets all criteria for an affordable and comfortable place to stay on the edge of the beautiful Charnwood Forest.
Very comfortable rooms and friendly efficient staff make this a must for all who travel to this part of the country.
Good food in the busy restaurant at great prices makes a stay a memorable experience

Room Tip: Choose a room through the archway for a quite place to rest your head.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

Staff need to acknowledge customers and actually care about their work. Food was ok and cheap, no check back. Coffee should Have been great as its costa but it was to strong and really bitter No friendly hello or good bye. Bar man was more interested in polishing his bar display than taking my money.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank CUNextTuesdai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

This was a venue I was forced to stay at as it was part of a family wedding event but I was actually pleasantly surprised with the whole experience.

This is a motel/hotel with a large venue space which was home for the wedding reception that I was attending with my extended family. There is a bar and restaurant which offer good value prices and choice. All the serving staff were friendly, helpful and courteous to me and the other guests.

The sleeping accommodation was neat, clean and comfortable with a good TV for downtime and a very decent shower. Breakfast is paid for as an extra cost but their is extensive choice and overall it is good value. My only small criticism (as I like my fresh coffee) is there is only instant coffee included in the price of breakfast. Fresh Costa coffee is over £2 extra to the price of breakfast but a simple filter coffee would actually be better than instant and I'm sure not much more to include.

Overall though, I would stay here again if I had to visit the area!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a single storey room at the rear of the hotel as this will be the best for a quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard_Gough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coalville
2.2 mi away
Hermitage Park Hotel
Hermitage Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Coalville
117 reviews
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Leicester Markfield
4.0 mi away
Fieldhead Hotel
Fieldhead Hotel
#22 of 40 in Leicester
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Bosworth Hall Hotel & Spa
Bosworth Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Market Bosworth
4,224 reviews
8.9 mi away
Best Western Appleby Park Hotel
Best Western Appleby Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Appleby Magna
477 reviews
8.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charnwood Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charnwood Arms

Property: Charnwood Arms
Address: Beveridge Lane, Coalville LE67 1TB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Coalville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Coalville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Charnwood Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Charnwood Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing