We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and staff”

Broadlawns Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Broadlawns Guest House
Ranked #2 of 3 Coalville B&B and Inns
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great location and staff”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We wish we had found this place before, having been the Emporium many times and had unreliable taxi services, this is close enough to walk. Big room perfectly functional and warm, had a nice shower in the morning. Wish we had tried the food! Looking forward to going again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fitti85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    5
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
14
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Only stayed one night, but this was good value. The room was clean & functional, although a bit "tired". Being an Autumn night, it did get quite cold, so the option of being able to use the heating would have been appreciated. The breakfast was freshly cooked & was good. As we arrived late & left early we had no chance to exolore the area.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RodK45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

i stayed at the Broadlawns B&B three times this year, once in feb for 3 days once in june for 2 days and twice last week & one thing i noticed Every night was the heating wasnt on? although its warm during the day its been cold during the night and there is only one factor that its not been on and thats greed! ive spoke about it to the staff and it still didnt get put on? ive spoken to the owner and again it wasnt put on? i spoke to some other contractors who had been staying and they stated the same the rooms are really cold during the night and they had been using the place for months a couple of days a week and have never seen it on unless it was snowing? there really is no other excuse for it? i will point out the Good and bad points here:

GOOD POINTS-
Location is central and minutes away from town centre or 10 mins walking
right next to one of the best Chinese takeaways ive ever used "Yummy House" Dont miss it!
Free parking and plenty of it!
the most powerful shower ive ever had! and ive been staying in B&B's/hotels for decades!
friendly staff! the girls on a Wednesday are fantastic & always smiling really lovely people!
Dining/Breakfast area tidy and well presented


BAD POINTS-
It all kinda dries up from there tbh!
The breakfast whilst is really nice i think 1 small Sausage and a tiny portion of beans is really stingy! i mean whats it cost for a pack of sausages? but the food is very tasty and its freshly made as you order it as well as the bacon been the best ive ever tasted omg!
Room cleanliness was pretty dire! i walked in from my work and took my shoes off and thought id stood on a drawing pin when in fact it was a previous customers toe nail YUCK!
the rooms are not cleaned no where near as good as they should be! my room had not only had a very shady cleaning but the shower base was full of scum and ive noticed its been an issue with other guests has the hygiene there
the rooms have been left to the elements and are well in need of someone who knows DIY to spend some time in them
TOWELS! omg how tiny?? even the bath towels aint much bigger then a hand towel! i also noticed that UNLESS i placed them on the floor they would not be replaced! just hung on the radiators what are never on so the first night i stayed there i was pretty annoyed they was still wet from the shower in the morning!
Dogs barking! the owner has some lovely dogs but the garden is impractically next to the rooms and the dogs kept barking & was ignored by the owner so they just barked and barked! not very professional really
The main house is looking REALLY tired! paint has been pealing for years bare wood is showing and the bins are right next to the entrance instead of concealing them with a wooden fence around them they are visible to guests about to eat which isnt really a nice thing as there is other rubbish thrown around them again attention to detail!
Room doors! i was in room 9 and whoever was in room 10 had issues when opening and closing the main door as it had been dislodged and not been corrected therefore taking some shoving to close and in tern needed a good slam not very good when its almost midnight and your up for work at 5am
BROADBAND! dear me! where do i start! in the 3/4 times i had stayed here i never got more then 2 bars on the wifi! and it kept dropping signal! again the router is in the main house which is 40/50 foot away instead of paying a couple of hundred pounds out and installing an external signal booster the owner chooses to keep his money for more important things rather then spending a little on sorting the place out? THESE ARE BASICS!

Its got potential but due to greed it gets just 2/5 stars! its a really busy place all week and weekend so its not as if its not turning a profit and for the basics to be ignored is quite ignorant! the owner was telling me how he goes on fishing trip holidays several times a year and i couldnt help thinking WHY he doesnt spend more on the place as its a really nice place just a real shame...IF you goto the B&B dont miss the chinese take away the little lady who serves you is such a lovely woman! i ate their food more then 10 times and not once had any issue what so ever! its really tasty fast service good value and you get plenty! and its only 45 seconds from the B&B

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mr w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed here in a twin room for a few days on a business trip. £40/Night with breakfast. Rooms are in a courtyard adjacent to main building. Price included a fresh full cooked breakfast each day and was good value for money. No bar or evening meals but the town centre was not far for a small range of restaurants and pubs (inc Wetherspoons). Staff were friendly and rooms were clean and airy. A good value B&B if in the area. Rooms were quiet as set back from main road. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Fantastic bed and breakfast, would willingly go back again. Excellent location for our visit, which was for donington races.parking brilliant. Really quiet, nothings too much trouble. Excellent poached eggs each morning.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whites52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

A warm welcome, a quiet room and good breakfast more than made up for slightly shabby decor that lacked any personality. Tea & coffee, but no hot chocolate or biscuits :( Tissues but no alarm clock and only a bedside table on one side of the double bed. However, all the essentials were there and it was good value and more than adequate for the odd night.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed here a few times while working in the area. Good b&b and very affordable. Own separate entrance, clean and welcoming. Quiet at night and always had good nights sleep. A good choice of breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lolalegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coalville
0.4 mi away
Hermitage Park Hotel
Hermitage Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Coalville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
1.9 mi away
Charnwood Arms
Charnwood Arms
#2 of 2 in Coalville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
4.1 mi away
Premier Inn Ashby De La Zouch Hotel
Premier Inn Ashby De La Zouch Ho...
#1 of 2 in Ashby de la Zouch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
The Link Hotel
The Link Hotel
#2 of 12 in Loughborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
5.6 mi away
Fieldhead Hotel
Fieldhead Hotel
#20 of 40 in Leicester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ravenstone Guest House
Ravenstone Guest House
#3 of 3 in Coalville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broadlawns Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadlawns Guest House

Property: Broadlawns Guest House
Address: 98 London Road, Coalville LE67 3JD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Coalville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Coalville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Broadlawns Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing