We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not up to usual standard!”
Review of Cinnamon Tree

Cinnamon Tree
Ranked #8 of 35 Restaurants in Coalville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $34
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“not up to usual standard!”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Visited here for a family birthday. Put in cold and lifeless side restaurant. After having starters, main courses were served before the final person had put down the cutlery. One of our party was given king prawns by mistake, what if they had been allergic to seafood?
Drinks very expensive and coffee served is in fact 'instant'. Not very happy with the experience saying that we had spent over £150 for a meal that was decidely second rate. Will not be visiting again, too many mistakes made.
Also car park is not suitable, very rough.
Have to walk through crowd of smokers when using entrance door.
Standards have definately dropped since first visit.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dshek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    37
    29
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Market Bosworth, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“As Good As The Last Time.”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Went with my wife, daughters & sons in law, the restaurant was very busy as usual but that did not stop the superb service we received.
The quality of the food was again exceptional Mili Juli superb.
As ever will be back again soon.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rogermcac15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Meh! First visit.... Wouldn't rush back.”
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

Heard much about this place from several quarters so did go with certain expectations.
Service was almost "instantaneous" for order taking, before we'd even perused the menu. Not great start to the proceedings, and so politely sent away.
Menu: varied selection of dishes, many of which not on your average menu, in our recent experience, so a plus! 4 starters and 4 mains ordered.... Then the wait began.
We waited a good 45+ mins for our starters which then proved, in my case, to be very disappointing. Prawn puree: Greasy, chewy puree, not very hot and lacking in prawns.
We then waited a further 20/30 mins for our mains which all seemed to be reheated by the waiter on campstoves by our table. A little odd!?! Not all the orders were complete either which added a further delay.
To be honest, by this time, the desire to eat had somewhat diminished and 2 of our party left at least 2/3's of their dishes. Also, none of my dishes seemed particularly hot temperature wise despite the added re- heat. Taste wise, definitely had better elsewhere.
Have scored poor rather than average due to the waiting around and the lack of both heat and flavour in the food

Honestly, I know several people who have eaten here regularly and thoroughly enjoy it, but I have to say that I won't be in a rush to go back.

Helpful?
2 Thank HarleyButton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Distinctly average”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

The restaurant itself was beautifully decorated, we were shown to our table and had plenty of time to peruse the menu.
The starters: Quite disappointed with the presentation of the Cinnamon tree special, average size portions and nothing to shout about. The Tikka pakora's that i had ordered were only luke warm and the batter wasnt cooked all the way through giving them a wet consistency, overall, not impressed at this point....
The main: Whilst i found it very weird that the waiters warmed up the dish on a camping stove at the side of the table worried me slightly, however my main was beautiful, plenty of chicken and a good portion, my husbands dish was equally nice, the main definately made up for the starter. The service wasnt great but you couldnt really complain, the only thing that miffed me slightly was the speed at which they bought the machine over for us to pay, and they incorrectly priced one of the dishes but this was quickly rectified and apologised for.
Overall: Not bad, but i wouldnt rush back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dtc1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Consistantly Good”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

I am a regular at this Indian Restaurant. The standard of food and service is consistently good, but it can get very busy at times (a sign of its success), so book in advance.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TrevorFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cinnamon Tree also viewed

Coalville, Leicestershire
 
Coalville, Leicestershire
Coalville, Leicestershire
 

Been to Cinnamon Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing