We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very yummy and affordable”
Review of Cafe Jolly

Cafe Jolly
Ranked #6 of 141 Restaurants in Leichhardt
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“very yummy and affordable”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We have been to Jolly many times and it is not because of perfect and prime location on Norton Street but for its consistency in its service. Its Veal Bomb, pasta and other Italian dishes are yum. It is a small place but comfortable thanks to the friendly service. Jolly's owners and waiter are all lovely, friendly and hard-working people apparently. Love it! I like smiling, genuine local businesses and this thriving is one of them.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Deniz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    36
    4
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Cafe Jolly... Not so jolly :(”
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

We tried this place as it seemed lively and was quite busy. Our entree arrived in reasonable time & was quite nice but that's when it all went downhill...We then waited, and waited, and waited... Tables who arrived after us started to get their mains ad we looked hopefully at the staff... After 30mins we were hurriedly told "yours are coming". 15mins later we asked again, only to be told there was a "mistake in the kitchen" and our meals were on their way. We then saw two other tables receive their mains before ours finally arrived.

After waiting an hour after entrees we were over it but hungry... The salmon wasn't bad, the pesto mash was bland and the whole thing was plonked in a soupy yellow cream sauce - gross. My other half had a spaghetti marinara that had mussels that weren't properly bearded.

There was one lovely waiter who bought over complementary bread (would've been more appreciated when they realized our mains had gone missing) but it was too little too late.

Very disappointing, will not return or recommend!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MissKT76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Great food at great prices. Only a few waiters on at any time and they're usually running around like mad but always manage to get to you.
Love coming here for a good meal although not the most Italian tasting.... nonetheless very nice

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank chloenrexy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best place I have eaten ever better then cafe Sydney !”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

My husband and I ate in this cafe in norton st at least twice a week for 3 years! We lived in Leichhardt where the reputation for Italian cuisine famous all over Sydney.
Annie the owner who is the heart of the business always made us feel welcome and no matter how busy the are ( which is all the time) she would find a table for us even if it was a fold up one brought from the kitchen to the edge of the footpath! Kenny waited on us hand and foot always making us laugh with his sarcastic humor and his lovely warm smile.
But it wasn't just the friendly service we were there for it was for the fabulous Italian cuisine cooked fresh by Annie's husband and there was nothing on the menu we don't try or favourites being the veal bomb, rossitto pollo and the filliet steak ( the sauce was the best) not to mention the seafood choices which seemed to be a very popular dish amongst the other patrons.
Most reasently I sent a friend into them as we are no living in the UK and I am currently pregnant on my second girl with an almighty craving for rossitto pollo and I was kindly face booked the recipe with sarcastic notes!!!
We will never forget Jolly and the people there and we thank them for the most enjoyable meals ever x

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Aoifemaberwhyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
218 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“consistently great food”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We've been going to this little cafe on Norton st for years now and it has always been good.
The people are friendly.
The prices are really reasonable.
The food is just yummmm.
I'm actually wondering if by writing this review, I'm reducing my chances of just popping in without a booking, hmmm

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MissT603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Jolly also viewed

 
Leichhardt, Sydney
 

Been to Cafe Jolly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing