We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tired decor, great staff, very average food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castelmola Pizzeria

Castelmola Pizzeria
Ranked #26 of 137 Restaurants in Leichhardt
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Tired decor, great staff, very average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

A great disappointment. The food was genuine Italian but not as good as I cook at home. The waiters were extremely nice and helpful but that did not compensate for the extremely crowded table space - they had to hand dishes to us over the heads of other patrons. It also needs a good clean and tidy. From where I was sitting I could see cupboard stacked high with junk and the jars and decorations on the ledge next to me we encrusted with dust. Because they packed in so many people you could not talk to the people on your table without shouting. We just gave up on conversation and went to my place for coffee.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SusanM63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    21
    10
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level Contributor
146 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Pizza Just Like the Romans Make”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

Be prepared for a menu which tempts your every palate, from chicken veal and rissotto to steak, seafood and pizza - I went for a simple Naploitana pizza with salad. The crust was thin and tasty and the anchovies salty, just as I like them.

Service was uberquick and friendly - the staff know their stuff!!

I had no room for dessert nor an entree so a repeat visit is a must. The rooms are large and not too noisy, but of you like authentic Italian and not an modern Australian - makeover version then try this place. To top it all off, parking is easy as there are no metres in this part of Leichhardt.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hotroxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Excellent Food & Friendly Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

This is one of our favorite and most regularly visited Italian restaurant in the suburb of Leichhardt where you can actually get great Italian food such as pizzas, pasta, fish and meat dishes. It offers very reasonably priced dishes as well as a good selection of wines. The food is always very fresh as this place is busy and frequent by lots of regulars. The friendly & efficient owners/operators/staff are always there to make sure you are happy with the food and most of the time at the end of each meals, we get free offers of their refreshing Lemoncello liqueurs as sweeteners. It is also a great place for group gatherings and office parties as they have a private room for that purpose.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank aquatechint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great authentic Italian restaurant with great service !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012 via mobile

We celebrated a family birthday here with a group of 35 people - it was a great place for a group, generous servings, friendly and efficient staff, a private room and byo.

Dishes for entree included salt and pepper squid, prawns in nepolitana sauce, garlic pizzas and creamy mushrooms. All was hot fresh and tasty.

3 different pastas were the main - cabonara tortellini, a seafood tomato penne and ro
We also had 2 pizzas - one with salami the other with vegetables, including beautiful eggplant.
The food is all very traditional Italian - great flavour and ingredients.

The staff were great, nothing was too much bother - kids running around, kids meals, people moving spots etc. They are polite and obliging, despite having another larger group in the next room. We had a lovely time with the only problem being too much food !

Helpful?
1 Thank Hillbilly-Ruby-Lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“great Pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2011

Very good pizza for both eat in and takeaway.Good selection and good prices!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank salib g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castelmola Pizzeria also viewed

 
Leichhardt, Sydney
 

Been to Castelmola Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing