We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality at it's best!!!!”
Review of Hotel Colombus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Colombus
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aguada
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Three friends and I missed our flight back to NY and our Cab driver Dario suggested we stay at the Hotel Colombus. He said the prices were better and it is right on the beach. I was thinking, what the heck, at least it's somewhere until tomorrow. Boy, I did not expect to find a place where everything was perfect. The rooms are beautiful and the food is really good. But Freddie is the best! His hospitality is 5 star and he treats his guests like family. I am returning to PR in June and will spend much more than a night at Hotel Colombus. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Stay in the room overlooking the water. Not only is it beautiful and clean, but the sleep you get l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MsSidnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (138)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 138 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2013

Talk about personable experience! We stayed at the Hotel Colombus for a few days and had a great experience. The restaurant food was good, breakfast was delicious, bar drinks were great and the location, on the water is fantastic.

The most distinguishing, however, was Freddy, the most friendly, helpful, and giving hotel owner. It was a pleasure chatting with him, as he is just a good, accommodating person. Each guest at the hotel had equally fantastic experiences with him, as he just aims to please.

Our apartment-style room was incredibly spacious and had a wall of window, literally, over the water. The sound of the waves was incredibly peaceful.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VeronikaSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a week and had a very good stay. When we unexpectedly showed up 8 hours earlier than our reservation called for, we were immediately shown a nice room with no fuss or bother. The customer service was excellent and the ocean facing rooms are literally right on the ocean!

There are however a few caveats (though they are pretty minor). Coming from America, you expect the front desk to be staffed 24/7. This was not the case and I would not imagine that it is the case for your average hotel in Puerto Rico. The only other thing is that the pillows and mattress were subpar, but again this is probably the case with any hotel in this area that is in this price range.

Overall a very good stay and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a hotel with an ocean view in the Aguada area.

Room Tip: To get the full experience, pay the extra money for the ocean facing rooms ... the ocean is literall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tobias W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Hotel Colombus is not a Marriott or a high end resort by any stretch of the imagination. However, it never for one moment has claimed that it was. It's website tells you that you'll get a room with a/c, tvDish network, and the most beautiful sunset. And that's 100% accurate. From there, I saw one of the most serene and calming sunsets ever.

This hotel is local owned, off the beaten path, comfortable, laid back, not in the heart of the touristy area, and situated in quaint Aguada without having to deal with the overtaken touristy Rincon. We initially wanted to stay in Rincon but we booked too late and everything was sold out. So we found this, just 15-20 minutes from Rincon.

Even though the hotel seems a little old and could really use a remodel, it still felt quaint and cozy. My issues with the hotel were few, but honestly, didn't make a difference since we were there for one night. The sink was leaking and it just appeared to be an old room. But honestly, I didn't care. I was in Aguada, Puerto Rico at an adorable hotel in December where it was 82 degrees out, the nicest people in the world, and you wake up the beautiful blue ocean. How could I complain?

The balconies were shared balconies which was kind of cool. We grabbed drinks and just hung out there at night after returning from dinner. There was another couple outside as well and they were friendly but kept to themselves. But you could easily meet other people out there for the travelers that look for that.

Also, the owner made fresh coffee for us in the morning. The other tourists I saw there were American and French.

In regards to the location, you can walk to some of the restaurants and bar - they aren't too far away.

To address the ridiculous comment from the lady/review below about there being a bug in the hallway, um, she failed to mention the hallway to the rooms was OUTdoors. So naturally, there would be a bug here or there, although we never saw one during our stay.

Overall, this hotel is an excellent choice if you truly want Puerto Rico, not something overly Americanized, off the beaten path, the most incredible ocean smell in the morning, the sound of the beach as you drift asleep, and a sunset you find on post cards all in a humble setting.

Room Tip: Definitely get ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DCChiq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

This place has some marvelous views of the ocean. I would have given it 5 stars the only thing I found with a flaw was it was far far away from San Juan it takes about 3 to four hours in Puerto Rico traffic!! But the views from the room were well worth it. We got the ocean view suite and loved it. Thank you sooo much Freddie :-)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

If you want a quiet, relaxing and enjoyable experience, either with friends or family, this is the place I would recommend. Has the beach just behind it, it's a quiet place (although, of course there are options for entertainment in the place and near it), the rooms are beautiful with very nice furniture and facilities. The ocean view apartments are so neat, clean and beautiful, one just wants to stay there and live for a while. And the food at their restaurant is just amazing, very delicious and at reasonable prices with a good variety. The service, I must say, was delightful. Very nice people who will give you your space but also very available for any need. I enjoyed every second of being there and would definitively invite other friends and family to go. Stay on the look for the starry sky at the terrace, the beautiful beach views and the smell of freedom that comes from the sea.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

I came to Puerto Rico after 20 years and I couldn't believe how much has changed, this place is beautiful, can't get any better ocean views, and attention from the owners is amazing, great customer service!!!!! The food is amazing and adfordable. It's a family owned hotel expect to experience the island at its best, this place is no Ritz but is has everything you need!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DGH115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aguada
5.2 mi away
Casa Verde Hotel
Casa Verde Hotel
#3 of 7 in Rincon
208 reviews
5.8 mi away
Rincon of the Seas Grand Caribbean Hotel
5.9 mi away
Villa Cofresi Hotel
Villa Cofresi Hotel
#1 of 7 in Rincon
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#2 of 4 in Mayaguez
135 reviews
28.8 mi away
Combate Beach Resort
Combate Beach Resort
#1 of 8 in Cabo Rojo
701 reviews
14.7 mi away
Royal Isabela
Royal Isabela
#1 of 6 in Isabela
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colombus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colombus

Address: Carr# 441 KM. 1.5 Bo. Carrizales, Aguada 00602, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Aguada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aguada
Price Range: $94 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Colombus 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly remodel beautiful 10 rooms 13 suites with air conditioner,Free wifi, Digital TV, hot water and the most spectacular view to the Atlantic Ocean. Enjoy the most beautiful sunset, where you cannot get any closer to Paradise! We have one if not the most complete bar in the area, private balconies from ocean view rooms, and a rear balcony to sit and relax enjoying your favorite drinks. We also offer entertainment on weekends. international Fine Dinning Restaurant. with ocean view just 20 feet from the water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Colombus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing