We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Hostile Hostel is the place to be”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grateful Souls Hostel
Reviewed January 22, 2014

For us, the Hostile Hostel was, hands down, our best hostel experience ever. Seriously, how could you ask for a better spot? It is a gorgeous house, clean, spacious, affordable and run by the two coolest and nicest girls. It is right on the beach so the waves, the sand and the most beautiful sunsets are just a few steps away. Again, how could you ask for better? We had made a reservation for only one night and ended up staying there for two weeks because we just couldn't imagine ourselves anywhere else. We simply loved it. Try it and see for yourself! You'll love it too.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cormierca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 50 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2014

If you're traveling western Puerto Rico, Hostile Hostel is the way to go. Tucked in a quaint town away from gringo-mania, the vibe here is a home away from home. Costs a bit more, but I couldn't find a better value for my money considering proximity to a secluded beach and run of a huge house -- not exactly cramped, which is a welcome break from the usual tight hostel quarters.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joe w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

The location is awesome. The view is amazing. Sarah snd Laura make an amazing waffle mix and hook you up with places to go and rentals. Close to the market, bars and plenty of day trips. The one thing about Puerto Rico is that u have to have a car and their place is a close drive to plenty of beaches to lay out or surf. Would go back again and recommend to family and friends

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peimanl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Sara and Laura run an excellent hostel in Aguada. It's a spacious place with 2 kitchens, wrap around balcony, large living room, and there are plenty of bathrooms/showers. It was also very clean. It is maybe 15 steps to the beach from the back patio. We were greeted with ice cold beers upon arrival and the hospitality did not stop there. Sara and Laura booked us surfing lessons, told us where to go to eat/drink/hike/surf, and how to get there. My friends and I stayed for 5 nights and my only regret is that we stayed somewhere else the first 2 days of our trip.
We had a car rental which was quite helpful as well since it's about a 10 minute drive to crash boat beach in aguadilla to the north and a 10 minute drive to the rincon beaches in the other direction. If you didn't have a car, there are plenty of restaurants that are a 15 minute walk away and the beach at the hostile has great sand and isn't rocky.
Definitely going to recommend this place to friends and family.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

I originally booked a night at this hostel but I ended up staying here until I left Puerto Rico! This is the ultimate dream hostel that I have been dreaming of - right on the beach(almost like a private beach), affordable, wonderful hosts, good vibe, clean/big house (like a mansion) and paaarties. Also there are four lively dogs in the house who sometimes like to join guests for surfing and swimming :) This is the place where you can totally chillax and enjoy all the beach and the sunshine around you. It's a bit away from the touristy resort area but accessible to all the bars and spots by car.

Hosts Laura and Sara (California girls!) are the friendliest people you will ever meet, who did a great job to make the house comfortable and fun for all the guests. Thank you so much for all of you hospitality and made my vacation unforgettable.

If you plan to go to Puerto Rico, please put this hostel on your itinerary, especially if you are traveling solo or with friends.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jypark0407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

I had such relaxing, good times at Hostile Hostel. After a long trip, there is nothing better than a complimentary beer, the ocean, good people, and a comfortable bed! As all the previous reviewers noted, Hostile Hostel stands out for the welcoming community Laura and Sarah work to create on a nightly basis. The accommodations are excellent, the price is right, and Laura and Sarah's recommendations for things to do around Aguada are spot-on. Very, very highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gadelsberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

I've been to Lauras place some days ago and really enjoyed the time there. They got some funny dogs to play with, comfortable beds to sleep in and hammocks right at the beach to relax in. The place is a bit apart from the crowded places, so it's a really quiet place. The downside is that you should have a car to get there and to get around, but in PR you will need a car anyway.

Sara and Laura were really nice and took us even out for dinner or to go to some local bar, where we had a perfect time! I hope to get back there in some months :)

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaxVogt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aguada hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Colombus
Hotel Colombus
#1 of 2 in Aguada
138 reviews
0 mi away
Villa Marsana
Villa Marsana
#6 of 8 in Aguada
5 reviews
1.4 mi away
Surfers House
Surfers House
#5 of 8 in Aguada
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Carmilet Guest House
Carmilet Guest House
#3 of 8 in Aguada
1 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Grateful Souls Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grateful Souls Hostel

Address: 659 Bo Carrizal, Aguada 00602-2322, Puerto Rico (Formerly The Hostile Hostel near Rincon)
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Aguada
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Aguada
Price Range: $49 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Grateful Souls Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the best location on the west coast for surf, yoga, and relaxation. Nestled in between Rincon and Aguadilla, Grateful souls peaceful location is perfect for exploring the best waves and nightlife at the beach, but just a short drive to bio bays, waterfalls and other natural attractions. The free waffle bar and wifi are a big hit. As well as the house's many activities that include movie nights under the stars, private chefs creating beautiful puerto rican meals, and weekly beach cleanups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Grateful Souls Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing