We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable position, nice and big room and very friendly owners”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Agriturismo Cascina Rocca
Lugano, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Comfortable position, nice and big room and very friendly owners”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I found this place online with an Exellent vote, this time really helped me to choose the Hotel/Agriturismo on Tripadvisor. I am not the first time there so I knew where the place is. It is very good situated a 150 Meters away from the street. The place is very nice and very simple but there is not missing anything. Good and warmly service, nice breakfast, very good wine, you have the possibility to taste the wine there. Plenty of parking. Price and Quality is suitable. I will go back there. Maybe the only little negative thing was, we had the room beside the breakfast room and in the morning was a little noisy but not much a problem for us.

Room Tip: Position - Quality and Price, Breakfast and Wine testing are exellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Satisfiedlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    15
    12
    3
    3
See reviews for
7
21
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
the netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

Cascina Rocca is a relatively standard agriturismo in the vicinity of la Morra & Barolo. Because of its location you will be able to explore the Barolo region efficiently and you will have no shortage of wine tastings in the vicinity of the B&B.

In terms of quality the rooms are good, although a little bit outdated. Breakfast is very good and all food offered is fresh and tasty. There is quite a selection of cheeses, cured meats, jams and there's even some pastry so you will not have to start your day hungry.

The owners make wine as well and they offer tastings at their own place. The dolcetto and langhe they make are reviewed very well in the Italian wine guides and are very good value for money. The Barolo classified wines are reviewed with little lesser remarks, but that doesn't mean they're not tasty. I'd recommend you to taste them together with other wines from the region to compare the value for money.

All in all I've stayed here three times now and I can recommend it to anyone looking for a good place to stay.

Room Tip: They have rooms with double beds and also appartment style rooms so make sure you check with them be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tkdchamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC area
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Cascina Rocca in the Barolo region. We chose a room with a small kitchenette, which allowed us to taste and buy great wines and local produce during the day and cook dinner to eat and drink on the terrace in the evening, leaving the car keys by the bedside. (The stove’s two burners were adequate for making pasta and a simple sauce, and while the cabinets were decently stocked, I confess we borrowed wine glasses and a sharp knife from the nearby breakfast kitchen). Midweek in late June was a lovely time, and we had the balcony pretty much to ourselves. The generous breakfast (cereals, yogurt, bread, local cheeses, jams, cakes, coffee, and eggs made to order…) is also served on the terrace, weather permitting, which looks across farms and up to the various hilltop towns of the region. The room was spacious and comfortable and featured a proper double/queen bed (not two singles with a gap). The shower is a bit small (typical) but at least had shelves for toiletries (atypical in the rest of our trip). Evenings were cool, so air conditioning wasn’t needed, but a fan might be a nice addition for later in summer. Our room faced the road, but it is far enough away and calm enough at night that the noise wasn’t a bother, and I’m a light sleeper. You are staying in the country, so bugs and farm smells occasionally waft through, but nothing that interfered with our enjoyment of the site – or the bouquet of their excellent wines, particularly the spicy Barbera d’Alba and the Barolo Villera Riserva. We enjoyed the relative seclusion of our time, but they are well set up for larger groups and families, with plenty of room to play. They have a playful son themselves (currently 6); I can see his rambunctiousness being either endearing or vexing, depending on your disposition. Overall, it was a great experience and great value, staying on a family farm with some classy amenities.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peripateticPhD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2011

Found this place online and after doing a lot of research, we booked a mini-apartment for five nights. When we arrived, it was NOT at all as pictured. The common areas were not well-maintained and generally run down. The mini-apartment was a basic double room (much smaller than represented on the webpage) with a two-burner cooktop and tiny fridge. The balcony was shared with the room next door and overlooked a main, heavily-traveled road. Furnishings were worn, the bed looked tired and droopy and, again, not even close to what was advertised. This was not the idyllic vineyard setting we were led to believe it was. Although we wanted to be in the area, we found this accommodation unacceptable and found something farther away. In hindsight, we should have been suspicious based on the price of the room (65 Euro per night) which is quite cheap for La Morra.

Room Tip: Stay farther away from La Morra and Barolo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chester-franky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these La Morra hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Morra
1.2 mi away
Corte Gondina Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Agriturismo Erbaluna
Agriturismo Erbaluna
#4 of 20 in La Morra
45 reviews
1.5 mi away
Palas Cerequio
Palas Cerequio
#3 of 21 in La Morra
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Red Wine Camere
Red Wine Camere
#9 of 21 in La Morra
60 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Green Guesthouse Affittacamere
0.5 mi away
Arborina Relais
Arborina Relais
#2 of 20 in La Morra
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Cascina Rocca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Cascina Rocca

Property: Agriturismo Cascina Rocca
Address: Frazione Annunziata | Strada provinciale Alba-Barolo, 12064, La Morra, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Cuneo > La Morra
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 Specialty Lodging in La Morra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Agriturismo Cascina Rocca 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If You Love to Walk to the Opened Air, to Contemplate the Landscape and to Learn from its Story, if You Look for Rhythms of Life plunged into the Nature, if You are an Enthusiast of the Wines and Kitchen of the LANGHE, the AGRITURISMO is the Country Resort that does for You ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Agriturismo Cascina Rocca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing