We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy and typical restaurant in the middle of the village”

L'Osteria del Vignaiolo
Ranked #2 of 31 Restaurants in La Morra
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed July 14, 2019 via mobile

We had a fantastic evening with friends and family at L’Osteria del Vignaiolo. Food was a bit different compared to the mainstream Italian restaurant, e.g. as starters they didn’t serve the normal Prosciutto Crudo, Carpaccio or other cold cuts. Instead the served rabbit, beef tartar with truffles etc. For main I had the lamb rack that were magnificent.

Wine was delicious, but give that the restaurant is in the heart of Barolo anything less would have been a disappointment. And the pricing of both the food and wine was very attractive.

The only experience that was below expectations was that it took quite some time to get the food (causing our kids to become both tired and impatient). It might have been that they were not really staffed to handle a full restaurant.

So to conclude, if you are in the La Morra area this is a restaurant worth visiting.

Date of visit: July 2019
1  Thank jonas_z_forslund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,298)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 1,298 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2019

We had a quick lunch before coming back home in this cosy restaurant. They have a great choice of wines and food. Homemade and simple but perfect for a light lunch after visiting La Morra village.

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JDCF19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2019

Got a last minute reservation through our amazing host Sara from G.D. Vajra! Beautiful outdoor lunch spot overlooking all the neighboring vineyards. Note that it helps to know a little bit of Italian but the staff so was gracious and helpful.

This meal felt like I was eating in a family friend's backyard, and of course it does because it actually has rooms that you can stay in upstairs. From the bread basket to the aperitivo to the post-dessert extra sweets, just amazing hospitality! There's a small but well-curated offering of wines by the glass as well as amazing wines by the bottles.

Pasta pasta pasta is the way to go here! My group ordered the pasta in tomato veal sauce to every establishment that offered it and this one was so tender and fluffy - the pasta felt like clouds. Two people from my group ordered second helpings! If we didn't have more winery appointments, we would have happily spent the afternoon there with bottles of wine and more pasta!

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bossbecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2019

The dining room and patio have a wonderful view of the countryside and the cuisine is wonderful as well. Enjoyed it so much that it merited three visits during our time in the Asti region.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank Jack G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2019

I visited here and loved it. The restaurant was beautiful, and staff were very kind. We ordered wine and a few dishes. The octopus was very soft. I liked the moderately fancy atmosphere here.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank tiffanyc0406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Osteria del Vignaiolo also viewed

La Morra, Province of Cuneo
La Morra, Province of Cuneo
 
La Morra, Province of Cuneo
 
Barolo, Province of Cuneo
La Morra, Province of Cuneo
 

Been to L'Osteria del Vignaiolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing