We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful rooms high above Langhe valley”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rocche Costamagna Art Suites
Ranked #2 of 22 La Morra B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 21, 2010

We stayed at the Art Suites (no. 4) for two nights at the beginning of the season, and had a wonderful time. Our room really was 5 *; spotless and with a nice and modern bathroom, lots of towels and suitably a small minibar fridge full of wine. In addition room no. 4 had two balconies and one terrace!! Unfortunately it was a bit cold when we visited, but I can imagine how nice it must be when it starts getting warmer.

The only negative, and this is the same for almost all hotels in Italy, was that the bed was a bit hard. Not really bad, but not very comfortable either. And also, the road leading up to La Morra was situated just beneath the hotel and room nr. 4. However, this is not a very busy road and was no problem for us.

The rooms are all located on the top floor of the in-town winery Rocche Costamagna, but are accessed through a separate door from the street. Thus, the rooms feel more like small in-town apartments than rooms at a vineyard. On the other hand this means that you have easy access to the restaurants and shops of La Morra. We had a look at the room no. 1 - 3 as well, and all were very nice. Room no. 4 have an incredible view, and is a bit bigger than the others, but all were nicely decorated and had a terrace.


The service was generally very good, but would probably have been even better if Francesca had been there (she was on holiday). We have heard she is fantastic:) The breakfast was served at a coffeeshop close by and was very simple (light bread, marmelade, coffee, squash and water), but was ok. During the summer, it would probably be nicer to have breakfast at your own terrace, but this is currently not an option. However, the rooms do have a kettle for boiling water, tea-bags etc.

La Morra itself is situated high above Langhe valley, which on one hand means that you have an incredible view, but on the other hand means that you can't be afraid of up-hills if you plan to hike or bike. However, it is not very far to other small towns like Barolo or Santa Maria (6 and 3 km). This area really is the area to visit in the Piedmont region!!

We would definately recommend the Art Suites for a relaxing holiday and will definately visit again ourselves, probably in combination with Villa Beccaris in Monforte d'Alba which also has a pool.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
26  Thank Tipfromme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 146 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2009

My inclination (as surely must be the case with anyone staying in this lovely, small hotel) is not to write this review, simply because I know, from experience, how love of place can destroy. Already the town of Barolo is changing; but, for now, La Morra, is much the same as it must have been in the 1800s, when the award winning winery, Rocche Costamagna, first started selling fine wine.

That means few museums (although Milan and Torino are less than a two hour drive; and, Grinzane Cavour is very close), no shopping malls (the Serravalle Designer Outlets are an easy day trip), and, no bar scene (enotecas are everywhere). The white sand beaches of Finale Ligure and the Olympic skiing venues of Cesana San Sicario are also less than two hours away.

But, if you play the children's game "La Morra" to decide where to visit, you should cheat to stay with the quiet beauty of the Langhe. There is great food (Arcigola, the forerunner of the Slow Food movement was founded there); and, chances are, most of you will be going for unparallelled wine: Barolo, of course, but also, Barbaresco, Barbera, Nebbiolo, Arneis, and so forth.

The (aptly named) Art Suites at Rocche Costamagna are within minutes of the A33 Autostrada, yet totally isolated from its noise. The rooms are tastefully decorated and recently constructed. A typical Italian breakfast (espresso and a pastry) is included with the room at a pasticceria a few doors up the street. The suites are very private and quiet. This is a small hotel, not a B&B with shared facilities.

The inimitable Francesca is the general manager, concierge, and tour guide--the nicest and most caring you will ever meet. Francesca will not only give you the best tour of a winery imaginable, she will also suggest other tours, make restaurant reservations...even carry your luggage. She does all of this with a smile, using faultless English spoken with the voice of a poet. The owner, Alessandro, will share his knowledge (which is unmatched) of the local wines; and, perhaps, he will offer you a glass of his prized Barolo. (He is too generous. I declined; and, instead, shared the bottle of Arneis that he had opened for a négociant.)

Here it is: We have never stayed anywhere that we loved more. The Fairmont in Monte Carlo, the Hilton Diagonal Mar in Barcelona, the Eden in Rome, the Westin in Venice, the Schloss Fuschl outside Salzburg-- sure those hotels are great, but they have no soul compared with the Art Suites. They do not have a wine library, housed under the vaulted brick ceiling of an ancient stable. They have neither a wine tasting room, nor a large terrace, sitting high above the vineyards of Castiglione Falletto, Serralunga d'Alba, and Barolo. Their rooms are a bit more plush, their showers a bit larger, their parking more convenient; however, the Art Suites do not drop from five stars to four, even in comparison with the finest hotels. They are not cleaner; nor, do they have superior service (Francesca, Alessandro and their efficient maids, after all, take care of only four suites).

Most importantly, Alessandro and Francesca will create a place for you in their hearts. They are genuinely pleased that you are staying with them. And, in return, a little piece of my heart will always remain with them, there among the vines in the hills of the Langhe.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
28  Thank rgcarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2008

We stayed for a week in the Art Suites - a modest name for an absolutely stunning property. The suites are located in/above an award-winning winery. Be sure to schedule a tasting while you're there.

The rooms are modern, large and lovely. The best is #4 with a huge deck overlooking the countryside. They are also quite reasonable for what you get.

The best part of the visit, though, is the staff. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. They provided suggestions on daily itineraries, places to visit and to eat and made our reservations for us. Their recommendations were consistently excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
23  Thank SFFog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Tutte stanze con terrazzo e vista sulle Langhe, Stanza N°4 superiore
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mnicolo1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
artsuites, Responsabile reception at Rocche Costamagna Art Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Luiz Otávio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
artsuites, Responsabile reception at Rocche Costamagna Art Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
artsuites, Responsabile reception at Rocche Costamagna Art Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CristinaMN68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
artsuites, Responsabile reception at Rocche Costamagna Art Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Morra
0.3 mi away
Corte Gondina Boutique Hotel
5.1 mi away
Hotel Castello di Sinio
0.1 mi away
UVE Rooms & Wine Bar
UVE Rooms & Wine Bar
#1 of 22 in La Morra
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Palas Cerequio
Palas Cerequio
#3 of 22 in La Morra
189 reviews
0 mi away
Villa Katerina
Villa Katerina
#4 of 22 in La Morra
52 reviews
0.8 mi away
Arborina Relais
Arborina Relais
#2 of 19 in La Morra
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocche Costamagna Art Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocche Costamagna Art Suites

Address: Via Vittorio Emanuele 8, 12064, La Morra, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Cuneo > La Morra
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in La Morra
Price Range: $164 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In 2006 a careful renovation of the old farmhouse adjoining the Rocche Costamagna winery has created four guest rooms each of which is an "Art Suite" where the design, decorations, lighting and furnishings are inspired by a passion for art and a deep love for our regional culture. Each "Art Suite" is enhanced by beautiful paintings and other works of art, as well as antique furniture - and every room leads out to a large terrace overlooking the magnificent scenery of the Langhe hills, in which is located the area of the noble Barolo wine. The building also houses "Libri da gustare" – a theme library with a large collection of books and magazines on local gastronomy, wines and folklore – and the Enoteca, a nice starting point for visits to the winery Rocche Costamagna. We are always pleased to offer to our guests a tasting of our wines! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rocche Costamagna Art Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing