We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“country retreat with a lot of art”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
L'Atelier di Pierflavio Gallina
Ranked #11 of 20 La Morra B&B and Inns
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“country retreat with a lot of art”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

A very cozy place near La Morra village, in the heart of the Barolo area. The hosts are very friendly and offer pleasant rooms, good breakfast and share their vast knowledge of the area.
Given that Mr. Gallina is an artist, his works are omnipresent throughout the building. A fine place to relax between wine tasting and excellent food that is abundantly available in the neighbourhood.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    24
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
43
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

A little way out of town and we had to ring for directions. Perfect setting in the countryside though. We were greeted by Guiliana our host and shown up to our room. Spacious with a stone tiled floor and good size bathroom. Armed with maps and restaurant suggestions we headed back into town to look about. You are given a gate key so there is no problem coming and going at will.
Breakfast is served downstairs in the main house. A delicious array of salami, local cheese, cereal, fresh fruit, bread, jams/honey and cakes accompanied by good coffee. Our second morning brought little omelettes made with primroses (I think) cut from the garden. Delicious.
We are here in April and unfortunately it is not the best of weather but there is a terrace to sit on and enjoy the surrounding countryside.
This is an artists home and his work graces the walls. Ask to see the L'Atelier (studio). Pierflavio Gallina is a renowned artist and his work is amazing.
We loved this B&B and did not want to leave. Such a gem and the atmosphere is superb with antique doors and wardrobes. Ideally situated to explore the surrounding towns. Definitely one of our favourites.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geniegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnee, Kansas
Level Contributor
149 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Situated just outside the little town of La Morro, Italy is a lovely, large home that looks like a farmhouse. The rooms are charming and new with large baths. So very quiet and restful with a friendly hostess and an artist husband. There is a really elegant pizza place in town with excellent local beer. Slept great with the windows open to the sounds of country! Next morning, the breakfast was the kind you take pictures of! Eggs to order and the offer of cappuccino. As we left we drove through vineyards with a wall of mountains (the Alps) snow covered in the distance.
A wonderful memory!

Room Tip: There are only 3 or 4 rooms and all are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladybug512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We spent 3 nights, as a base to visit the area. The accomodation is very confortable, very clean. Excellent bed and shower. The place has lots of character with beautiful views of the vineyards. The land lady is very very helpful. Breakfast was good and served with care. Alltogether very pleasant.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank osolemio10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
91 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

This was the second time we stayed in La Morra (we have family nearby). The last time we stayed in the town (see review - Fior di Farine), this time we opted for something in the countryside. The rooms at Pierflavio's are very good and well appointed - basically they are very recently renovated and well appointed in the local "rustic" style. The hosts are very friendly. Breakfast is good. Overall the house has a very good feel to it. The workshop of the owner, who is an artist, is really nice. His art is displayed all over the property and if you ask him, he'd surely be happy to show you his collection and works in progress. This made it also quite interesting for us. It is a 5 minute drive into La Morra (straight up the hill, so not so walkable). We'd stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SODA F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

What struck me the most about the place is its great location and the very friendly service. Every recommendation the hosts gave us was spot on! The rooms are clean and I can see only minor drawbacks, such as the fact that the room we had did not have a nice view (and in fact most rooms are like that I think). The main strengftyh is location, as you can drive pretty much anywhere in the Langhe region from here.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pmjd1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
109 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

We stayed at L'Atelier for a weekend towards the end of June 2011. It's located about 1km west of La Morra's center. It was a good base for exploring the Barolo region as all other villages. The Atelier was located in a very quiet location. Our room was comfortable and spacious. The owners were very courteous and professional. Mrs. Gallina was in charge of the Atelier's administration. She paid lots of attention to detail, making sure we enjoyed our stay. Mr. Gallina is an artist and his works are displayed throught the Atelier.

Two minor things worth pointing out are that there is no ac / fan nor mini-fridge in the room. But neither presented a problem as the rooms stayed relatively cool throughout.

Oh and I guess it's needless to say but you need a car to fully appreciate the region.

Overall we really liked it and will return for sure.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quasar33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Morra
1.0 mi away
Corte Gondina Boutique Hotel
4.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Beccaris
Hotel Villa Beccaris
#1 of 3 in Monforte d'Alba
255 reviews
1.0 mi away
Villa Katerina
Villa Katerina
#6 of 20 in La Morra
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Tra Monti e Vigne
Tra Monti e Vigne
#9 of 20 in La Morra
40 reviews
1.1 mi away
UVE Rooms & Wine Bar
UVE Rooms & Wine Bar
#1 of 20 in La Morra
149 reviews
1.9 mi away
Palas Cerequio
Palas Cerequio
#2 of 20 in La Morra
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Atelier di Pierflavio Gallina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Atelier di Pierflavio Gallina

Property: L'Atelier di Pierflavio Gallina
Address: Borgata Mascarelli n. 11, 12064, La Morra, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Cuneo > La Morra
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in La Morra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pierflavio Gallina's L'Atelier is an elegant country residence in the heart of the Langhe region, situated in a quiet and panoramic position surrounded by vineyards and castles. It's an oasis of peace and serenity, where the perfumes, sounds and colours of nature make your stay particularly relaxing. The owners, Pierflavio and Giuliana Gallina, along with their little Alessandra, welcome you with discretion and courtesy, giving you all the necessary information to help you have a pleasurable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your L'Atelier di Pierflavio Gallina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing